Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2011, 06:02 PM   #1
imjtblanton
Registered User
 
imjtblanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 461
iTrader: 0
imjtblanton is on a distinguished road
Default How does Chain Strike work?

This is what the card description says:

Activate only as Chain Link 2 or higher; inflict 400 damage to your opponent times the Chain Link number of this card. You cannot activate this card if multiple cards/effects with the same name are in that Chain.

What exactly is a Chain Link and how does it work? What is the best way to use this card?
imjtblanton is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 06:35 PM   #2
lolnopound
Priest of Judgment
 
lolnopound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Realm of Light
Age: 18
Posts: 6,278
iTrader: 0
lolnopound is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imjtblanton View Post
This is what the card description says:

Activate only as Chain Link 2 or higher; inflict 400 damage to your opponent times the Chain Link number of this card. You cannot activate this card if multiple cards/effects with the same name are in that Chain.

What exactly is a Chain Link and how does it work? What is the best way to use this card?
I would suggest just Googling "Yugioh Wikia Chain" and read their article on it. If you have any other questions after that, feel free to ask.

Additional Comment:

A few key points though:

I activate a spell card. After that, you activate Magic Jammer to negate my spell card. This is a chain. In this case, Magic Jammer is Chain Link 2, because it activated second, and my spell card is chain link 1. The chain will resolve in reverse order, so Magic Jammer resolves first, which negates my spell, and my spell can't resolve, so the chain ends there. In this same scenario, if I activated a spell card, then you chained Magic Jammer, you could then chain your "Chain Strike" to the Magic Jammer, making it chain link 3. So, resolving backwards, Chain Strike is Chain Link 3, which inflicts 1200 damage to me, then your Magic Jammer negates my spell, then my spell is unable to resolve, and the chain ends.

*Note: Magic Jammer has a cost to activate it's effect, so you must discard 1 card once you activate it, you do not wait for it to resolve to discard.

Last edited by lolnopound : 08-05-2011 at 06:35 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
lolnopound is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 07:19 PM   #3
Martiachan
Kochiya Sanae.
 
Martiachan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10,000
iTrader: 0
Martiachan is on a distinguished road
Default

Since when could you chain, 'Chain Strike', to Magic Jammer, a spell speed 3.
Martiachan is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 09:41 PM   #4
magicknight94
Pojo Veteran
 
magicknight94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,671
iTrader: 0
magicknight94 is on a distinguished road
Default

No, of course.

Spell Speed 2 CANNOT chain to Spell Speed 3.
magicknight94 is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 10:02 PM   #5
lolnopound
Priest of Judgment
 
lolnopound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Realm of Light
Age: 18
Posts: 6,278
iTrader: 0
lolnopound is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martiachan View Post
Since when could you chain, 'Chain Strike', to Magic Jammer, a spell speed 3.
Ok, my mistake. I wasn't sure. Thanks for informing me.
lolnopound is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 01:04 AM   #6
DiShinShoryuken
SECRET RARE!!!!!!!
 
DiShinShoryuken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ.....Yugioh is reviving, slowly but slowy
Posts: 2,181
iTrader: -1 (0%)
DiShinShoryuken is on a distinguished road
Default

The only reason I never tried out the Chain Cards was that last line. I could not figure out how it worked:

You cannot activate this card if multiple cards/effects with the same name are in that Chain.

Does this mean that if I activate Jar of Greed, then activate Legacy of Yata Garasu, then activate Chain Burn, then activate Chain Burn, everything goes through or do the "Draw 1 Card" effects count as the effect part or do the "Chain Burn" count as the same name?

I think it is time I got my head wrapped around this puzzle to me so I can use my Miraculous Rebirth correctly IME. Thanks for all and any help.

End Phase. Your Move.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooo View Post
If you really wanted to cheat in sealed, you're going to cheat in sealed. Even if there is a judge watching you. I saw this kid steal a monopoly game from a store without getting caught. You know how big that thing is?
POJO LOGIC FLOW CHART!
-1 iTrade Story
DiShinShoryuken is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 01:07 AM   #7
m00narch
Registered User
 
m00narch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 22
Posts: 222
iTrader: 0
m00narch is on a distinguished road
Default

see later post...
__________________
Official KDE Judge

Last edited by m00narch : 08-06-2011 at 01:29 AM.
m00narch is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 01:21 AM   #8
Deadborder
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Deadborder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6,041
iTrader: 0
Deadborder is on a distinguished road
Default

Actually, the multiple effect restriction does let you use 2 of a Chain card, as long as no other cards in the Chain are the same.

This means you can do something like:
Activate Secret Barrel
Chain Just Desserts
Chain Ojama Trio
Chain Chain Strike
Chain second Chain Strike

because when the second Chain Strike is activated, there was only one of each card used in the Chain up to that point. It then resolves as follows:

Chain Link 5: Chain Strike, inflicts 2000 damage
Chain Link 4: Chain Strike, inflicts 1600 damage
Chain Link 3: Ojama Trio, summons 3 Ojama Tokens
Chain Link 2: Just Desserts, inflicts 500 for each monster your opponent controls (so at least 1500)
Chain Link 1: Secret Barrel, inflicts 200 for each card in your opponent's hand/side of the field (so at least 600)

However, you can only activate 2, and you also won't be able to activate any other Chain cards (as in Chain Strike, Accumulated Fortune. You can still Chain other S/Ts.
__________________
The Organization: It's Not Shriek

Franncode: 3969 3966 8969
Deadborder is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 01:22 AM   #9
m00narch
Registered User
 
m00narch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 22
Posts: 222
iTrader: 0
m00narch is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadborder View Post
Actually, the multiple effect restriction does let you use 2 of a Chain card, as long as no other cards in the Chain are the same.

This means you can do something like:
Activate Secret Barrel
Chain Just Desserts
Chain Ojama Trio
Chain Chain Strike
Chain second Chain Strike

because when the second Chain Strike is activated, there was only one of each card used in the Chain up to that point. It then resolves as follows:

Chain Link 5: Chain Strike, inflicts 2000 damage
Chain Link 4: Chain Strike, inflicts 1600 damage
Chain Link 3: Ojama Trio, summons 3 Ojama Tokens
Chain Link 2: Just Desserts, inflicts 500 for each monster your opponent controls (so at least 1500)
Chain Link 1: Secret Barrel, inflicts 200 for each card in your opponent's hand/side of the field (so at least 600)

However, you can only activate 2, and you also won't be able to activate any other Chain cards (as in Chain Strike, Accumulated Fortune. You can still Chain other S/Ts.
This10char
__________________
Official KDE Judge

Last edited by m00narch : 08-06-2011 at 01:29 AM.
m00narch is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 01:27 AM   #10
Deadborder
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Deadborder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6,041
iTrader: 0
Deadborder is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m00narch View Post
This is incorrect you cannot activate 2 chain strikes in 1 chain...
Take a look for yourself.

Granted, Mystical Wind Typhoon is used as an example, but it's the same principle.
__________________
The Organization: It's Not Shriek

Franncode: 3969 3966 8969
Deadborder is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 01:29 AM   #11
m00narch
Registered User
 
m00narch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 22
Posts: 222
iTrader: 0
m00narch is on a distinguished road
Default

wow dont i look a **** read it wrong....8 am for ya...
__________________
Official KDE Judge
m00narch is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 11:29 AM   #12
DiShinShoryuken
SECRET RARE!!!!!!!
 
DiShinShoryuken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tucson, AZ.....Yugioh is reviving, slowly but slowy
Posts: 2,181
iTrader: -1 (0%)
DiShinShoryuken is on a distinguished road
Default

Sooooo.... the Multiple implies towards other Chain cards that have the text


You cannot activate this card if multiple cards/effects with the same name are in that Chain.


I could activate 3 Reckless Greed along with 2 Accumulated Fortunes? OR
I could activate 2 MST along with 2 Mystical Wind Typhoons?

Thanks again

End Phase. Your Move.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooo View Post
If you really wanted to cheat in sealed, you're going to cheat in sealed. Even if there is a judge watching you. I saw this kid steal a monopoly game from a store without getting caught. You know how big that thing is?
POJO LOGIC FLOW CHART!
-1 iTrade Story
DiShinShoryuken is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 11:47 AM   #13
Deadborder
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Deadborder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6,041
iTrader: 0
Deadborder is on a distinguished road
Default

Nope, the multiple restriction is for any card. So if you want you could go, say, MST, Double Cyclone, Wind Typhoon, Wind Typhoon.

You can, however, activate a second card of the same name afterwards. Something like:

Link 1: Opponent's Ryko's effect
Link 2: Jar of Greed
Link 3: Reckless Greed
Link 4: Accumulated Fortune
Link 5: Accumulated Fortune
Link 6: Reckless Greed
__________________
The Organization: It's Not Shriek

Franncode: 3969 3966 8969
Deadborder is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.