Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2011, 01:23 AM   #1
brr8760
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 288
iTrader: 3 (100%)
Default Lyla vs. Effect Veiler

Simple question, but couldn't find ANY answer on google:

If I attempt to activate Lyla's effect, and they Veiler, do I still switch to defense? I don't think so, since switching positions is not a cost.

Also, as with other LS, do I mill during the end phase?

Thanks!
__________________

25 out of 400 duelists - SJC Seattle 2008
37 out of 673 duelists (last of the x2's) - SJC Orlando 2009
Undefeated (8-0) at Madison Regionals - 2009
Top 8 Chicago Regionals - 11/21/09
Undefeated (8-0) at Madison Regionals - 1/16/2010
Then they killed LS and I've been sucking ever since...
brr8760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 01:35 AM   #2
magicknight94
Pojo Veteran
 
magicknight94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,608
iTrader: 0
Default

1) No, it stay in Attack Position.

2) Not sure, somebody please teach me how card effect "wear-off" in End Phase please.
magicknight94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 01:43 AM   #3
forteshinko
Registered User
 
forteshinko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 288
iTrader: 0
Default

Lyla's effect is negated, so it doesn't switch to defense >_>

Quote:
For the End Phase thing, 2 things need to happen, "Effect Veiler"'s effect wearing off and Lyla's effect activating.
As turn player, you can choose to activate Lyla's effect with priority (it would be negated). After that, Veiler's effect would wear off.
If you decide to pass priority, then your opponent can use their priority to make Veiler's effect wear off, or pass priority back.
If they make Veiler's effect wear off, then when you activate Lyla's effect, it would not be negated.
If they pass priority back, you have to activate Lyla's effect, which would be negated.
EDIT: I said that earlier, but I think I might have learned that wrong, because yugioh-wiki.net says that turn player's "Lightsworn" monster's effect will activate first, then the effect of non-turn player's "Effect Veiler" will wear off.

Last edited by forteshinko : 07-20-2011 at 01:49 AM.
forteshinko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 01:45 AM   #4
darkwolf777
Registered User
 
darkwolf777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 173
iTrader: 0
Default

During the End Phase (and Standby and End Step of Battle Phase portions), effects resolve in the order the players choose to resolve them in.

Turn player has any an all right to resolve any effects they control first.

They can pass priority at any time to let an opponent activate/resolve one of their effects.

If both players pass priority, the turn player must activate a card or resolve one of their effects, if they have any.

After both players have finished resolving their effects and both pass priority, the game changes to the next phase


Now, through all of that, the turn player has a right to activate Lyla's (or any LS monster's) milling effect first. Of course, it is still negated by Veiler, so if you choose to do so, it will be negated now.

If you pass priority, your opponent can choose to resolve Veiler first, and remove the negation effect on your LS monster. Then you could activate the effect to mill while its not negated.

If both players pass priority, you'd have no choice but to activate the LS monster's mill effect, which will be negated.
darkwolf777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 02:01 AM   #5
brr8760
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 288
iTrader: 3 (100%)
Default

In other words, the LS monster won't mill, unless you want to trick the other player into "resolving Veiler first" after you pass priority.
__________________

25 out of 400 duelists - SJC Seattle 2008
37 out of 673 duelists (last of the x2's) - SJC Orlando 2009
Undefeated (8-0) at Madison Regionals - 2009
Top 8 Chicago Regionals - 11/21/09
Undefeated (8-0) at Madison Regionals - 1/16/2010
Then they killed LS and I've been sucking ever since...
brr8760 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 02:04 AM   #6
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Default

There's no definite answer, it all depends on how the players are going to act.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 02:40 AM   #7
regeki404
Pojo Veteran
 
regeki404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: a-town
Age: 28
Posts: 2,158
iTrader: 21 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brr8760 View Post
In other words, the LS monster won't mill, unless you want to trick the other player into "resolving Veiler first" after you pass priority.
yup..... ....
__________________
We are aspiring game designers, follow us on twitter @ALTEKGAMING
regeki404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 09:53 AM   #8
Spoofy29
Registered User
 
Spoofy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 144
iTrader: 2 (100%)
Default

Lyla Stays in attack because to go to defense, her effect has to resolve.
The effect to mill relies solely on if your opponent chooses to let you or not.
Spoofy29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 10:29 AM   #9
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,136
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

If you want the mill to be negated, that's your choice.

If you want the mill to go through, that's your opponent's choice.

That's a terrible answer to give during a tournament, but it's the easiest way to explain it.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 85
Redshift's Ruling Quiz 3

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified (not CPR though)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.