Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2011, 08:35 PM   #1
defazio87
Pojo Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
iTrader: 0
Default Trap Stun vs Fiendish Chain

My opponent acitvates Fiendish Chain targeting my Master Hyperion and I chain Trap Stun. After this turn is finished, do the effects of Fiendish Chain reapply or because it resolved without effect, does it just sit meaninglessly on the field?
defazio87 is offline  
Old 07-16-2011, 08:38 PM   #2
magicknight94
Pojo Veteran
 
magicknight94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,516
iTrader: 0
Default

It will reapply, unless Master Hyperion is not face-up on the field before that.
magicknight94 is offline  
Old 07-16-2011, 11:57 PM   #3
DarkShadowMX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 169
iTrader: 0
Default

It will not reapply, it resolved without effect...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer of Chaos
TT to Beastcraft: Hi there I want to destroy you
Beastcraft to TT: No sorry buddy, see that token over there? He'll take the fall for me
TT to Token: Oh hi der

Conversely to

TT to Shi En: Hi der I'm destroying you
Shi En to TT: Nah my buddy Kizan can save me
Kizan to Shi En: Can't help ya I'm stuck in this tidal wave
DarkShadowMX is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 12:06 AM   #4
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Default

It will reapply.
You activate Royal Decree; your opponent pointlessly chains Trap Stun.
During the end phase, Royal Decree will become active again
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 12:10 AM   #5
DarkShadowMX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 169
iTrader: 0
Default

But Royal Decree doesn't target, while Fiendish Chain does, i'm incorrect to assume that it loses his target if negated via Trap Stun?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer of Chaos
TT to Beastcraft: Hi there I want to destroy you
Beastcraft to TT: No sorry buddy, see that token over there? He'll take the fall for me
TT to Token: Oh hi der

Conversely to

TT to Shi En: Hi der I'm destroying you
Shi En to TT: Nah my buddy Kizan can save me
Kizan to Shi En: Can't help ya I'm stuck in this tidal wave
DarkShadowMX is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 12:15 AM   #6
HyawehHoshikawa
Siesta Madokaist
 
HyawehHoshikawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Church of Madoka
Posts: 2,179
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
After "Call of the Haunted" Special Summons a monster, if "Call of the Haunted" is negated by an effect like "Royal Decree" or "Trap Stun", then the Special Summoned monster remains on the field and is not destroyed. "Call of the Haunted" also remains on the field, even though its effect is negated. If the effect of "Royal Decree" or "Trap Stun" is no longer applied, then the effect of "Call of the Haunted" is re-applied, so the Special Summoned monster would be destroyed if "Call of the Haunted" is removed from the field.[17
it will re-apply.
__________________
The real reason world doesn't end on 21-dec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madoka
Lol Mayan.
HyawehHoshikawa is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 12:17 AM   #7
DarkShadowMX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 169
iTrader: 0
Default

My bad, then. Thanks for correcting me, i was sure of the other answer, i don't know where i got that idea.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer of Chaos
TT to Beastcraft: Hi there I want to destroy you
Beastcraft to TT: No sorry buddy, see that token over there? He'll take the fall for me
TT to Token: Oh hi der

Conversely to

TT to Shi En: Hi der I'm destroying you
Shi En to TT: Nah my buddy Kizan can save me
Kizan to Shi En: Can't help ya I'm stuck in this tidal wave
DarkShadowMX is offline  
Old 09-20-2013, 12:06 AM   #8
Aago
Registered User
 
Aago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Age: 22
Posts: 127
iTrader: 0
Default

If i get this discussion and conclusion correctly you guys figured that fiendish will have an effect when turn ends?
The correct answer is, that it wont reapply because it resolved without effect.
When you chain Royal Decree or Trap Stun to the activation of Call Of The Haunted it works the same because the special summon wont resolve.
If call is on the field its different because the summon already happened. It you negate call and mst it, the summoned Monster should remain on the field. Your example does Not describe the situation the question was about.

To sum it up: fiendish wont resolve and will be a dead card remaining on the field.
Aago is online now  
Old 09-20-2013, 12:14 AM   #9
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

You don't compare a just-activated Call of the Haunted to a just-activated Fiendish Chain because they do very different things.

Fiendish Chain does not need to bring out a previously non-existent card to affect it.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.

Last edited by SkullBuster : 09-20-2013 at 12:27 AM.
SkullBuster is offline  
Old 09-22-2013, 05:22 PM   #10
RabbitUp
Team Yuyeah
 
RabbitUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Inside the box
Age: 22
Posts: 5,199
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aago View Post
To sum it up: fiendish wont resolve and will be a dead card remaining on the field.
Fiendish Chain will resolve just fine. Trap Stun doesn't prevent its resolution, it just negates its effects.

Now, at resolution, Fiendish Chain starts applying its continuous effect, the same way Skill Drain does. Both cards will reapply their effects after Trap Stun resolves completely. And even though Fiendish Chain targets 1 monster, Trap Stun doesn't mess up with the targeting mechanic, because that's not what the card says it does.
__________________
DN Username: RabbitUp
RabbitUp is offline  
Old 09-22-2013, 05:23 PM   #11
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,776
iTrader: 114 (100%)
Default

Don't Necro the threads.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline  
Old 09-22-2013, 05:37 PM   #12
benren
Registered User
 
benren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 22
Posts: 420
iTrader: 0
Default

But bringing up a 2 year old thread to give the wrong answer is so much fun
__________________
DN admin. Same name

Trust me, my picture is of a grumpy kitty in a party hat

Do you even duel, bro?
benren is offline  
Old 09-24-2013, 03:55 PM   #13
ssjEasterBunny
Pojo Veteran
 
ssjEasterBunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,661
iTrader: 0
Default

Even if the thread is old, Trap Stun is making a comeback and this question is very relevant.

Targeting occurs at activation. It is not part of Fiendish Chain's effect and is not 'undone' by Trap Stun. So when Trap Stun causes Fiendish Chain to resolve without effect, it still retains its target. Fiendish Chain remains face-up on the field, and its effect will be applied when Trap Stun is ceases to be applied.
__________________

Last edited by ssjEasterBunny : 09-24-2013 at 03:57 PM.
ssjEasterBunny is offline  
Old 09-24-2013, 07:19 PM   #14
AntiTcb
Number XVI
 
AntiTcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 20
Posts: 2,623
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ssjEasterBunny View Post
Even if the thread is old, Trap Stun is making a comeback and this question is very relevant.

Targeting occurs at activation. It is not part of Fiendish Chain's effect and is not 'undone' by Trap Stun. So when Trap Stun causes Fiendish Chain to resolve without effect, it still retains its target. Fiendish Chain remains face-up on the field, and its effect will be applied when Trap Stun is ceases to be applied.
You can't reapply an effect that never applied in the first place. Fiendish Chain remains on the field meaninglessly.
__________________
DN Name: AntiTcb (Head Administrator)
RC-1 and PC-1 certified Judge
Premier (YCS/WCQ) events judged: 4
The Organization (Number XVI)
Quote:
Originally Posted by yugi0h View Post
There are no stupid questions, there are just stupid people asking a simple question for an obvious answer.
AntiTcb is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 05:38 AM   #15
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

I'm just gonna be a ***** and leave this jwiki ruling here about Mizuchi vs initially activated Field/Continuous/Equip Spells, and how it states that their effects would re-apply immediately afterwards, and grab my popcorn, coz this seems relevant, and drag this long-ass sentence.


Quote:
Q:自分フィールド上に表側表示のこのカードが存在する時、相手がフィールド魔法、永続魔法、装備魔法を発 動した場合どうなりますか?。
A:発動したフィールド魔法、永続魔法は相手フィールド上に残り続け、装備魔法はモンスターに装備されたま まそれぞれ効果が一旦無効になり、このカードが墓地へ送られた後は通常通り効果が適用されます 。(13/09/05)
http://yugioh-wiki.net/index.php?cmd...C5%A5%C1%A1%D5
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 09:58 AM   #16
Aago
Registered User
 
Aago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Age: 22
Posts: 127
iTrader: 0
Default

I found this thread by googling and as far as I know the given answer was wrong, so I thing it's ok to bring this thread back to live. Fiendish Chain and Trap Stun are two cards that are played alot atm and many people will face this situation.

Actually the comments and discussion about how to deal whith this scenario are showing that altough this thread is old the ruling is not clear.

Ofc the comparison with an already acitvated Call Of The Haunted is crap, but I just tried to explain the difference by the already given example.
Aago is online now  
Old 09-25-2013, 09:59 AM   #17
AntiTcb
Number XVI
 
AntiTcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 20
Posts: 2,623
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkullBuster View Post
I'm just gonna be a ***** and leave this jwiki ruling here about Mizuchi vs initially activated Field/Continuous/Equip Spells, and how it states that their effects would re-apply immediately afterwards, and grab my popcorn, coz this seems relevant, and drag this long-ass sentence.



http://yugioh-wiki.net/index.php?cmd...C5%A5%C1%A1%D5
COUNTER ****-PUNCHUUUUU

Quote:
Q:《デモンズ・チェーン》をこのカードの効果で無効にした場合、《デモンズ・チェーン》は無効化されたま まになりますか?
A:《デモンズ・チェーン》は対象のモンスターを対象に取り続けながら、無意味なカードとしてフィールド上 に残ります。(13/09/18)
http://yugioh-wiki.net/index.php?cmd...D8%A5%C4%A5%AB
__________________
DN Name: AntiTcb (Head Administrator)
RC-1 and PC-1 certified Judge
Premier (YCS/WCQ) events judged: 4
The Organization (Number XVI)
Quote:
Originally Posted by yugi0h View Post
There are no stupid questions, there are just stupid people asking a simple question for an obvious answer.
AntiTcb is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 10:16 AM   #18
NeoZenithX
:B
 
NeoZenithX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California, USA
Posts: 9,118
iTrader: 43 (100%)
Default

Where's Redshift and Ness?
__________________

Trade List | eBay Sales
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thane Korth'azz View Post
i'll send you a concealed dollar in the mail with the cards
going to rub my balls on it first
NeoZenithX is online now  
Old 09-25-2013, 10:26 AM   #19
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 44,228
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

What do you want?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AntiTcb View Post
If these rulings are both true, it can be inferred that the outcome depends on the Continuous card having an effect that resolves when the card itself does, vs. a card like..."Mountain" or something.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 68

RC-1 & PC-1 Certified, Konami Judge Program Member (judged 5 YCS events, 1 WCQ)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 10:28 AM   #20
AntiTcb
Number XVI
 
AntiTcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 20
Posts: 2,623
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
What do you want?



If these rulings are both true, it can be inferred that the outcome depends on the Continuous card having an effect that resolves when the card itself does, vs. a card like..."Mountain" or something.
Well, the Mizuchi one is rather vague. A plausibility.
__________________
DN Name: AntiTcb (Head Administrator)
RC-1 and PC-1 certified Judge
Premier (YCS/WCQ) events judged: 4
The Organization (Number XVI)
Quote:
Originally Posted by yugi0h View Post
There are no stupid questions, there are just stupid people asking a simple question for an obvious answer.
AntiTcb is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 10:34 AM   #21
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 44,228
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AntiTcb View Post
Well, the Mizuchi one is rather vague. A plausibility.
Yes, but for it to make any sense at all, it would have to be talking about cards with more passive effects. "Fiendish Chain"'s effect depends entirely on the monster it targeted when it was activated, and it has no 'default' effects just for being face-up. The card has to resolve when it's initially activated for it to have any effects at all.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 68

RC-1 & PC-1 Certified, Konami Judge Program Member (judged 5 YCS events, 1 WCQ)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 10:36 AM   #22
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

Mountain seems the perfect random example to get the point across, too.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 10:45 AM   #23
kinhcan1002
Ruling Addiction
 
kinhcan1002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ho Chi Minh City, VN
Age: 20
Posts: 1,187
iTrader: 0
Default

So the conclusion is Fiendish Chain won't reapply if its effect is negated at the first place by Trap Stun, right?

And some cards like Skill Drain/Vanity's Emptiness will reapply since they don't depend on the monster? Similar with Fire Formation - Tensen?
__________________
It's not right but it's OK...
kinhcan1002 is online now  
Old 09-25-2013, 10:52 AM   #24
Maxx "G"
Russian Spy
 
Maxx "G"'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 調整中
Posts: 515
iTrader: 0
Default

I don't understand why it wouldn't re-apply as it was my understanding (I mean "understanding", Japanese links ._.) that SkullBuster provided a ruling saying otherwise, and that AntiTcb provided a ruling dealing with Bujingi Turtle whose effect is ...permanent. What did I get wrong then?
Maxx "G" is offline  
Old 09-25-2013, 11:25 AM   #25
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,718
iTrader: 0
Default

Wth.

Mizuchi and Bujingi Turtle are not Trap Stun.

Stahp.
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.