Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2011, 07:18 AM   #1
OneManShow
Pojo Veteran
 
OneManShow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sweden
Age: 24
Posts: 1,898
iTrader: 0
Default Mist Valley Falcon vs Effect Veiler

Scenario:

Player A controls one face up Mist Valley Falcon and one Face up Big Bang Shot equipped to the opponent's face up Brionac.

Player B controls nothing but the brionac.

Player A announces that he wish to enter Battle phase.
Player B responds by activating Effect Veiler targeting Mist Valley Falcon.

Player A enters battle phase, can he still bounce Big Bang Shot in order to attack?
OneManShow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 07:27 AM   #2
magicknight94
Pojo Veteran
 
magicknight94's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,629
iTrader: 0
Default

No, Mist Valley Falcon's effect set a cost for its attack. If effect is negated, cost for attack disappear.
magicknight94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 09:40 AM   #3
DimensionalAprentice
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lee's Summit, Missouri
Age: 26
Posts: 974
iTrader: 8 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicknight94 View Post
No, Mist Valley Falcon's effect set a cost for its attack. If effect is negated, cost for attack disappear.
But can't stardust still pay the cost for its effect when its under Effect Veiler?
__________________
02/23/08 1st Place St. Louis, Missouri Regionals
08/02/08 2nd Place Des Moines, Iowa Regionals
01/24/09 8th Place Lenexa, Kansas Regionals
04/17/10 5th Place Omaha, Nebraska Regionals
05/29/10 8th Place Lenexa, Kansas 1k Cash Tournament
11/20/11 3rd Place YCS Kansas City
DimensionalAprentice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 09:47 AM   #4
Corpse
Boo.
 
Corpse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brazil
Age: 27
Posts: 3,815
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DimensionalAprentice View Post
But can't stardust still pay the cost for its effect when its under Effect Veiler?
Costs to attack are not paid if the monster's effect is negated, it's not the same as paying the cost to activate an effect.
Corpse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 09:51 AM   #5
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,781
iTrader: 114 (100%)
Default

Corpse??? You live???
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 10:11 AM   #6
Corpse
Boo.
 
Corpse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Brazil
Age: 27
Posts: 3,815
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCtheOnly View Post
Corpse??? You live???
Of course not, when are Corpses ever alive?
Corpse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 10:37 AM   #7
catking5
Who ya gonna call?
 
catking5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,013
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DimensionalAprentice View Post
But can't stardust still pay the cost for its effect when its under Effect Veiler?
Falcon has a continuos effect that would be negated by Effect Veiler. The effect creates the "cost".
__________________
Magic Stats:
Nothing Important Yet (Below Average on MTGO)

Note: I only play MTGO and Cockatrice. Saves money and I can play more often.
catking5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.