Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2011, 10:55 PM   #1
Treykura
Pojo Veteran
 
Treykura's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Age: 28
Posts: 1,241
iTrader: 7 (100%)
Question Field Spell Vs. MST

If I have a field spell and my opponent tries to play a field spell and I MST it does my field spell stay?

One of my friends claims that it would because the field spell gets destroyed before its successfully activated?
__________________

H/W: http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=904558
Quote:
Originally Posted by EpsilonKage View Post
It doesn't blow up the field, make your opponent discard their entire hand and remove every card in your opponent's Graveyard from play.

Of course it isn't playable.
Treykura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 10:58 PM   #2
Elliot Gale
8Dude
 
Elliot Gale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The MGA with an Attitude
Age: 24
Posts: 22,209
iTrader: 53 (100%)
Default

An opposing field spell must resolve before the current one is destroyed by game mechanics. MST would prevent this from properly occurring since field spells need to remain face-up for their effects to apply.
__________________
On a quest.
Elliot Gale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 11:15 PM   #3
KtSpAz
Zombie Specialist
 
KtSpAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,100
iTrader: 18 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elliot Gale View Post
An opposing field spell must resolve before the current one is destroyed by game mechanics. MST would prevent this from properly occurring since field spells need to remain face-up for their effects to apply.
So essentially, MST would stop your field spell from getting destroyed.
__________________
DEBRIS ZOMBIES!!!

My Brand New Trade List!


Quote:
Originally Posted by iLiekChaos View Post
Yu-Jo FTK.

Play Yu-Jo Friendship.
Put your hand in your pants.
Reveal Unity.
Your opponent scoops.
KtSpAz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 01:42 AM   #4
Dewlorin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 481
iTrader: 0
Default

Yes, that is correct.
Dewlorin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 07:03 AM   #5
Phypnocorn
Pojo Veteran
 
Phypnocorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Dark side of the Moon
Posts: 550
iTrader: 0
Default

i would not have thought that would happen, i thought the activation resolved first and killed the other one,then mst killed their spell.
Phypnocorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 07:43 AM   #6
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,781
iTrader: 114 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phypnocorn View Post
i would not have thought that would happen, i thought the activation resolved first and killed the other one,then mst killed their spell.
activation and resolution are two different things. An activation cannot resolve. a card's effect is resolved.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 01:29 AM   #7
Armageddomon Deus
Playr Hatin' Playr
 
Armageddomon Deus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Here, there, and sometimes everywhere
Posts: 6,125
iTrader: 8 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phypnocorn View Post
i would not have thought that would happen, i thought the activation resolved first and killed the other one,then mst killed their spell.
If you didn't chain that MST, that is what would have happened.
__________________

Completion of the Gates of Ancient World: 51/52

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monarch fans
Plz Kevin make moar monarchs 4 my monarch deck!1!!11
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinTewart
I still have a hangover from the Reign of Monarchs circa 2006-2007....
Armageddomon Deus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 06:58 PM   #8
Phypnocorn
Pojo Veteran
 
Phypnocorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Dark side of the Moon
Posts: 550
iTrader: 0
Default

sorry to bring this thread up again but if the field spell they play is Geartown, and i chain mst, does Geartown's effect activate?
__________________
Phypnocorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 06:59 PM   #9
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,155
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phypnocorn View Post
sorry to bring this thread up again but if the field spell they play is Geartown, and i chain mst, does Geartown's effect activate?
Read the rulings on "Geartown". Much easier than posting in a month-old thread, and also allowed.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 85
Redshift's Ruling Quiz 3

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified (not CPR though)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 07:03 PM   #10
Phypnocorn
Pojo Veteran
 
Phypnocorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Dark side of the Moon
Posts: 550
iTrader: 0
Default

i would think it would activate but then i read this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elliot Gale View Post
An opposing field spell must resolve before the current one is destroyed by game mechanics. MST would prevent this from properly occurring since field spells need to remain face-up for their effects to apply.
__________________
Phypnocorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 07:05 PM   #11
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,155
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phypnocorn View Post
i would think it would activate but then i read this:
Or completely ignore what I just suggested, sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruling
If "Mystical Space Typhoon" is chained to "Geartown", "Mystical Space Typhoon" resolves first and destroys "Geartown" at Chain Link 2. Then, "Geartown" resolves without effect as Chain Link 1. Since it still resolves, the destruction of "Geartown" is not the last thing to happen, so you miss the timing and cannot activate the effect of "Geartown".
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 85
Redshift's Ruling Quiz 3

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified (not CPR though)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 07:07 PM   #12
Phypnocorn
Pojo Veteran
 
Phypnocorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Dark side of the Moon
Posts: 550
iTrader: 0
Default

oh, i completely missed that you said ruling, im so sorry.
__________________
Phypnocorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.