Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2011, 01:45 PM   #1
0098
Rawr.
 
0098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,119
iTrader: 172 (96%)
0098 is on a distinguished road
Default Legendary Six Samurai - Shi En | | | | Rulings and Clarifications

1) How does this ruling found on wiki work? I have a facedown shi en. Will it flip face up for damage calculation, then i can activate its effect?
Quote:
If this card is attacked while face-down and would be destroyed by the battle, you can destroy another face-up "Six Samurai" monster you control instead.
2) Shi En's negating effect:
GB player activates Book of Moon targeting Shi En
LSS players activates Shi En's effect to negate
GB player responds with War Chariot

Can he respond with Chariot to destroy Shi En?

3) In question 2, lets say the LSS player also has a Kizan out. Can Shi En save himself from chariot and redirect the destruction to Kizan?

4) If Shi En's "my buddy as a shield" effect is continuos, can this effect be negated by the below?
a. chariot
b. divine warning
c. effect veiler

5) Scenario:
Player A has Scrap Dragon out
Player B has Shi En and Kizan out
Player A attacks Shi En

Player B would take 300 damage but can destroy Kizan instead correct?
__________________
- - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - -
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - TRADES LIST - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bring me Super SPIRIT REAPERS Trading.

Who wants to trade me Super REAPERS
0098 is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 01:49 PM   #2
D1Case
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,633
iTrader: 0
D1Case is on a distinguished road
Default

1) Yes. Its effect is applied at the end of the damage step, when it is face up.

2) Yes. That is how War chariot works.

3) Yes.

4) It is continuous, so it cannot be negated by chariot, wrath or veiler.

5) Yes.
D1Case is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 01:52 PM   #3
0098
Rawr.
 
0098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,119
iTrader: 172 (96%)
0098 is on a distinguished road
Default

In regards to question three.
So Shi En can pretty much save itself from anything (after it has successfully been summoned) so long as he has another Six Sam monster on the field to use in place of his own destruction?
__________________
- - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - -
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - TRADES LIST - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bring me Super SPIRIT REAPERS Trading.

Who wants to trade me Super REAPERS
0098 is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 01:54 PM   #4
D1Case
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,633
iTrader: 0
D1Case is on a distinguished road
Default

Sort of Yes,
as long as the other samurai isnt also slated for destruction (Lightning Vortex, torrential, Mirror Force, Icarus Attack....)
D1Case is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 01:54 PM   #5
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

1. it is actually applied (my buddy effect) as soon as the Shi En is considered destroyed by battle.

5. Veiler can negate the effect. Veiler cannot be chained to it since the 'my buddy' effect is a continuous effect applied during the resolution (double wammy).
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.

Last edited by illusionX : 03-27-2011 at 01:56 PM.
illusionX is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 01:55 PM   #6
0098
Rawr.
 
0098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,119
iTrader: 172 (96%)
0098 is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes that one i figured. Are there any six sam rulings off the top of your head that most people dont know?

Need to freshen up on them
__________________
- - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - -
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - TRADES LIST - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bring me Super SPIRIT REAPERS Trading.

Who wants to trade me Super REAPERS
0098 is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 01:58 PM   #7
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0098 View Post
In regards to question three.
So Shi En can pretty much save itself from anything (after it has successfully been summoned) so long as he has another Six Sam monster on the field to use in place of his own destruction?
Quote:
Originally Posted by D1Case View Post
Sort of Yes,
as long as the other samurai isnt also slated for destruction
(Lightning Vortex, torrential, Mirror Force, Icarus Attack....)
...and Shi En is also being destroyed (Caius owns )
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.

Last edited by illusionX : 03-27-2011 at 02:08 PM.
illusionX is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 02:00 PM   #8
0098
Rawr.
 
0098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,119
iTrader: 172 (96%)
0098 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by illusionX View Post
1. it is actually applied (my buddy effect) as soon as the Shi En is considered destroyed by battle.

5. Veiler can negate the effect. Veiler cannot be chained to it since the 'my buddy' effect is a continuous effect applied during the resolution (double wammy).
In regards to 1. My Shi En will stay in defense position and my Kizan can be destroyed instead?

Additional Comment:

Quote:
Originally Posted by illusionX View Post
...and it is also being destroyed (caius )
Clarify please. Not sure why caius is in there lol
__________________
- - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - -
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - TRADES LIST - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bring me Super SPIRIT REAPERS Trading.

Who wants to trade me Super REAPERS

Last edited by 0098 : 03-27-2011 at 02:00 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
0098 is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 02:06 PM   #9
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

1. yes. Shi En will apply its effect at the time it is destroyed by battle. Whatever buddy you choose (Kizan) will remain on the field until "End of the Damage Step."

just an example of something Shi En cannot protect itself form.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 02:06 PM   #10
D1Case
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,633
iTrader: 0
D1Case is on a distinguished road
Default

Since Caius doesnt destroy, Shien cant be saved.
D1Case is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 02:09 PM   #11
0098
Rawr.
 
0098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,119
iTrader: 172 (96%)
0098 is on a distinguished road
Default

Oh, i know that about the cauis thing.
However, if kagemusha is also out, i can redirect the target to him correct?

Shi En + Kagemusha is a nice way to protect Shi En from most of the cards out there i suppose
__________________
- - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - -
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - TRADES LIST - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bring me Super SPIRIT REAPERS Trading.

Who wants to trade me Super REAPERS
0098 is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 02:12 PM   #12
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

You could, yes.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 08:02 PM   #13
0098
Rawr.
 
0098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,119
iTrader: 172 (96%)
0098 is on a distinguished road
Default

Perfect. Thank you sir. Ill be back if i come across some more questions

Additional Comment:

Back with another question:
I activate double edge sword technique and special both kageki and kagemusha. My opponent books Kagemusha.

At the end phase what occurs?
Who gets destroyed and how much damage do i take?
__________________
- - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - -
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - TRADES LIST - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bring me Super SPIRIT REAPERS Trading.

Who wants to trade me Super REAPERS

Last edited by 0098 : 03-27-2011 at 08:02 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
0098 is offline  
Old 03-27-2011, 08:05 PM   #14
No One Special
Feel the Burn
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,689
iTrader: 0
No One Special is on a distinguished road
Default

Kageki blows up and you take damage equal to Kageki's attack at the time.
__________________
Welcome to Yu-Gi-Oh! Please enjoy the Shaddolls.
No One Special is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 12:20 AM   #15
0098
Rawr.
 
0098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,119
iTrader: 172 (96%)
0098 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thats what i thought. Thanks

Additional Comment:

Dragunity Legionnaire vs Magatama

I have a field of Kizan and facedown Magatama
My opponent has Legionnaire with an equipped Akyls.
He activates Legionnaire by tributing Akyls and Targeting Kizan.

1) What happens if i chain Magatama? Legionnaire will be destroyed correct?

2) Will Akyls be able to resolve and now destroy Kizan (when it was going to destroy magatama if Kizan hadn't stayed on the field)
__________________
- - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - -
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - TRADES LIST - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bring me Super SPIRIT REAPERS Trading.

Who wants to trade me Super REAPERS

Last edited by 0098 : 03-28-2011 at 12:20 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
0098 is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 12:38 AM   #16
DarwinDawkins09
Blind Watchmaker
 
DarwinDawkins09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Age: 24
Posts: 1,933
iTrader: 0
DarwinDawkins09 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0098 View Post
Thats what i thought. Thanks

Additional Comment:

Dragunity Legionnaire vs Magatama

I have a field of Kizan and facedown Magatama
My opponent has Legionnaire with an equipped Akyls.
He activates Legionnaire by tributing Akyls and Targeting Kizan.

1) What happens if i chain Magatama? Legionnaire will be destroyed correct?

2) Will Akyls be able to resolve and now destroy Kizan (when it was going to destroy magatama if Kizan hadn't stayed on the field)
There are two chains involved here. When your opponent activates the effect of Legionnaire you can chain Magatama to negate his effect and destroy him, then after that chain resolves the effect of Aklys will activate and start a new chain and he can target Kizan with its effect to destroy him.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TsengFox View Post
Darwin! My Hero!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teamtwilight View Post
Darwin knows what he's talking about, he invented people for god's sake.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CardShopKid View Post
And Darwin spoke, and the people rejoiced.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roosh View Post
You just got evolution'd.
DarwinDawkins09 is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 06:37 PM   #17
0098
Rawr.
 
0098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,119
iTrader: 172 (96%)
0098 is on a distinguished road
Default

Got it, thanks for the clarification sir

Additional Comment:

Shi En with Kagemusha out on the field.

Shi En already used up his negation ability and enters battle phase.
Shi En declares an attack and I respond with Dimensional Prison.

Can Kagemusha change the target to himself and have kagemusha be removed instead of shi en?

Quote:
This card targets 1 attacking monster.
__________________
- - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - -
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - TRADES LIST - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bring me Super SPIRIT REAPERS Trading.

Who wants to trade me Super REAPERS

Last edited by 0098 : 03-28-2011 at 06:37 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
0098 is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 06:41 PM   #18
HyawehHoshikawa
Siesta Madokaist
 
HyawehHoshikawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Church of Madoka
Posts: 2,179
iTrader: 0
HyawehHoshikawa is on a distinguished road
Default

no kagemusha isn't an attacking monster(that time) so it can't activate it's effect to redirect the target.
__________________
The real reason world doesn't end on 21-dec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madoka
Lol Mayan.
HyawehHoshikawa is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 07:34 PM   #19
D1Case
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,633
iTrader: 0
D1Case is on a distinguished road
Default

Corrected below.

Last edited by D1Case : 03-28-2011 at 07:41 PM.
D1Case is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 07:37 PM   #20
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

Hya is correct. In order to switch targets, you must have another legal target (an attacking monster).

*goes to dig up rulings on Shift, etc....
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 07:38 PM   #21
0098
Rawr.
 
0098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,119
iTrader: 172 (96%)
0098 is on a distinguished road
Default

So kagemusha cant cange the target?
__________________
- - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - -
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - TRADES LIST - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bring me Super SPIRIT REAPERS Trading.

Who wants to trade me Super REAPERS
0098 is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 07:41 PM   #22
D1Case
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,633
iTrader: 0
D1Case is on a distinguished road
Default

Ah, I love learning something. Subtleties.

I stand corrected.
D1Case is offline  
Old 03-28-2011, 07:48 PM   #23
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

never mind. found a more relevant ruling:

Quote:
If "Kagemusha" is an illegal target for the effect you want to switch the target of when that effect is activated, you cannot activate "Kagemusha’s" effect
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline  
Old 03-29-2011, 04:47 PM   #24
0098
Rawr.
 
0098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,119
iTrader: 172 (96%)
0098 is on a distinguished road
Default

Effect veiler vs Kagemusha

I have a field of Kagemusha, Hand, and Kizan
I activate hand Tributing Kizan and my opponent drops effect veiler targeting hand.

Can Kagemusha have the target be changed to it? My opponent's monster will still be destroyed correct?
__________________
- - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - - - - Buy My Cards - -
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - TRADES LIST - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Bring me Super SPIRIT REAPERS Trading.

Who wants to trade me Super REAPERS
0098 is offline  
Old 03-29-2011, 06:12 PM   #25
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes .
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.