Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2011, 02:08 PM   #1
Valoo208
Junior Member
 
Valoo208's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 27
iTrader: 0
Valoo208 is on a distinguished road
Default Malefics with Skill Drain

I know that if Skill Drain is face-up and you control a Malefic, like Malefic Stardust Dragon, you can't summon another from your hand because the Malefics in your hand still have the effect that only 1 can be on the field. However, since Malefic Parallel Gear doesn't have this effect, can I normal summon it with another Malefic and Skill Drain on my field?
Valoo208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 02:13 PM   #2
Seiko
Happy, Happy!
 
Seiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 21
Posts: 2,159
iTrader: 9 (85%)
Seiko is on a distinguished road
Default

Im saying no just because even thouogh you are attempting to summon the gear, ATTEMPTING to summon a malefic while you control one is not possible, either the malefic on the field must be face-down or be removed, such as tributing it, removing from the field, etc.

Monsters with restrictions or without restrictions, it still has the word malefic in it's name, therefore you cannot summon it from your hand at all.
Seiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 02:15 PM   #3
Valoo208
Junior Member
 
Valoo208's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 27
iTrader: 0
Valoo208 is on a distinguished road
Default

So even though Skill Drain is active, the Malefic on the field still stops the Parallel Gear from being summoned?
Valoo208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 02:17 PM   #4
Seiko
Happy, Happy!
 
Seiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 21
Posts: 2,159
iTrader: 9 (85%)
Seiko is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, and vice versa with your situation.

Skill Drain does not negate conditions.
Seiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 02:17 PM   #5
Demetriio
Happy 2011 XD
 
Demetriio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,496
iTrader: 0
Demetriio is on a distinguished road
Default

Its more that parallel gear stop himself from the hand

But i really dont know much about this
__________________
Quote:
nawo, ryo, futoshi y daisuke en ese orden Xd
Yeeees they have an official youtube channel Xd
Check maximum the hormone they are good!
Retired until i get bored from what im doing right now
Demetriio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 02:19 PM   #6
Valoo208
Junior Member
 
Valoo208's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 27
iTrader: 0
Valoo208 is on a distinguished road
Default

Okay, thanks. I've heard people say that it was a condition, while others said that the reason you can't special another is that the Malefics in the hand don't have their effects negated and that's why you can't summon another. I guess that's why I asked. Thanks for clearing this up.
Valoo208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 02:20 PM   #7
DonPiantissimo
Pojo Veteran
 
DonPiantissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 810
iTrader: 0
DonPiantissimo is on a distinguished road
Default

Using the search function would give many results as this has been asked many times in the last few days. They mostly say that you can summon Malefic Parallel Gear from your hand as it does not have that restriction, but we cannot be sure yet, whether the restriction is a condition or an effect, as no rulings have been released. It is most likely that you can.
DonPiantissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 02:20 PM   #8
Seiko
Happy, Happy!
 
Seiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 21
Posts: 2,159
iTrader: 9 (85%)
Seiko is on a distinguished road
Default

It's because the clause
"you can only control 1 malefic on the field" stops all the other malefics in your hand and in the grave, and also RFG from being SSed or normal into play.

Situation:
You cannot Call, D.D.R the SSable malefics if you do control a malefic on the field, this would literally destroy the meaning of the clause itself if you could target it.
Seiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 02:26 PM   #9
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

Skill Drain will negate the highlander clause on the field. Since Gear doesn't contain the highlander clause, it can be summoned.

Quote:
You can have 2 "Gravekeeper's Chiefs" on the field while "Skill Drain" is active, but if "Skill Drain" is destroyed, select 1 of the "Gravekeeper's Chiefs" and destroy it.[
And, I am pretty sure there are some OCG rulings dealing with the highlander clause floating around.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.

Last edited by illusionX : 02-27-2011 at 02:29 PM.
illusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 02:27 PM   #10
Valoo208
Junior Member
 
Valoo208's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 27
iTrader: 0
Valoo208 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by illusionX View Post
Skill Drain will negate the highlander clause on the field. Since Gear doesn't contain the highlander clause, it can be summoned.
Thank you for explaining this in a way that reminded me of a good movie.
Valoo208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 02:28 PM   #11
Debris
Sweet Sweet Cicero
 
Debris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 10,600
iTrader: 86 (100%)
Debris is on a distinguished road
Default

You could summon the parallel gear if you have another malefic on the field with Skill Drain. Not the other way around though

Additional Comment:

illusionx got it

Last edited by Debris : 02-27-2011 at 02:28 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Debris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 02:29 PM   #12
Seiko
Happy, Happy!
 
Seiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 21
Posts: 2,159
iTrader: 9 (85%)
Seiko is on a distinguished road
Default

WOW really? that totally screwed up my argument. acurse ye clauses *pirate eye*
Seiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.