Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2011, 07:09 PM   #1
calculatinginsect00
Bangin' Your Mom
 
calculatinginsect00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lafollette,TN
Posts: 1,948
iTrader: 0
calculatinginsect00 is on a distinguished road
Default Forbidden Lance Vs. Creature Swap

forbidden lance vs. Creature Swap

if i use Creature Swap can i select a monster that is chosen by forbidden lance? if so does its control switch?
__________________


Seven Regional Tops and Counting
calculatinginsect00 is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 07:13 PM   #2
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Key_ is on a distinguished road
Default

You can only give your opponent a monster that was not affected by Forbidden Lance. If there are none, Creature Swap resolves without an effect
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 07:17 PM   #3
calculatinginsect00
Bangin' Your Mom
 
calculatinginsect00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lafollette,TN
Posts: 1,948
iTrader: 0
calculatinginsect00 is on a distinguished road
Default

ok thanks.

even if you chain lance it doesnt work right?
__________________


Seven Regional Tops and Counting
calculatinginsect00 is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 07:33 PM   #4
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Key_ is on a distinguished road
Default

Creature Swap will never end up being one sided
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 08:08 PM   #5
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,726
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Official Ruling
If "Guardian Kay'est" and another monster are selected for "Creature Swap"'s effect, "Creature Swap"'s effect is negated because switching is impossible.
Thought you ought to know...
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 08:13 PM   #6
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Key_ is on a distinguished road
Default

I can't believe they use the word "Negate".
And it's a ruling quote, so changing it would be pointless ........
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 08:16 PM   #7
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,726
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is on a distinguished road
Default

Yea, they goofed on that. But I was trying to show that a monster unaffected by Spell Cards should still be eligible for selection. As far as I can see from the rulings, the only time you can't pick a monster is if it can't switch control (like "Blindly Loyal Goblin").
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Old 02-23-2011, 10:39 PM   #8
IKnowAllAboutScrap
Currently Banned from Trading
 
IKnowAllAboutScrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: melbourne, florida
Posts: 1,126
iTrader: -1 (0%)
IKnowAllAboutScrap is on a distinguished road
Default

scrap shark makes Creature Swap one sided, just saying, thats about the only thing its good for
IKnowAllAboutScrap is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 12:41 AM   #9
TonberryDoink
Pojo Veteran
 
TonberryDoink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: England
Posts: 5,227
iTrader: 125 (100%)
TonberryDoink is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
Yea, they goofed on that. But I was trying to show that a monster unaffected by Spell Cards should still be eligible for selection. As far as I can see from the rulings, the only time you can't pick a monster is if it can't switch control (like "Blindly Loyal Goblin").
That...

There is a precedent for that. Guardian Kay'est can be selected for Creature Swap, but it would cause Creature Swap to "resolve without effect" or "fizzle".

Same goes for Horus lv6. You can select it for Creature Swap, but doing so will effectively nullify the effect of Creature Swap. However, you cannot select Horus lv4, as it cannot switch sides at all.

So, I reckon chaining Forbidden Lance to Creature Swap (then selecting the targetted monster) would cause Creature Swap to fail.

What it would NOT do is cause Creature Swap to resolve in one direction only. That never happens: Creature Swap either resolves with two monsters or not at all.

Using Scrap Shark looks like a one-sided Creature Swap, but (technically) it isn't. This is because Scrap Shark is not destroyed until after Swap resolves, so both monsters do actually change sides.
TonberryDoink is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 07:55 AM   #10
IKnowAllAboutScrap
Currently Banned from Trading
 
IKnowAllAboutScrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: melbourne, florida
Posts: 1,126
iTrader: -1 (0%)
IKnowAllAboutScrap is on a distinguished road
Default

i kno scrap shark dies after it switches, thats why its one sided, ur opponent doesnt get a monster, lol, how els would it be one sided
IKnowAllAboutScrap is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 09:12 AM   #11
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 29
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
perzeus is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IKnowAllAboutScrap View Post
i kno scrap shark dies after it switches, thats why its one sided, ur opponent doesnt get a monster, lol, how els would it be one sided
Except if the opponent chains a card, any card, therefore screwing you since Shark dies before Swap resolves.
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 09:26 AM   #12
sharul
Stun Muffin
 
sharul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 908
iTrader: 5 (100%)
sharul is on a distinguished road
Default

What about Creature Swap on Spirit Reaper?
__________________
“You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else.”
- Albert Einstein
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelegendarycory View Post
Sharul is my hero.
sharul is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 09:28 AM   #13
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,787
iTrader: 114 (100%)
SCtheOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharul View Post
What about it?
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline  
Old 02-24-2011, 09:29 AM   #14
HyawehHoshikawa
Siesta Madokaist
 
HyawehHoshikawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Church of Madoka
Posts: 2,179
iTrader: 0
HyawehHoshikawa is on a distinguished road
Default

creature swap doesn't target.
__________________
The real reason world doesn't end on 21-dec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madoka
Lol Mayan.
HyawehHoshikawa is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 07:30 PM   #15
forteshinko
Registered User
 
forteshinko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 288
iTrader: 0
forteshinko is on a distinguished road
Default

Is there a good reason for Scrap Shark being destroyed after Creature Swap resolves, other than the fact that there's a written ruling about it?

Without the ruling I'd assume that it would be destroyed on the activation of Creature Swap, because it's a continuous effect.
forteshinko is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 07:33 PM   #16
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Key_ is on a distinguished road
Default

Scrap Shark works similarly to Spirit Reaper, which destroys itself after the card resolves.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 07:34 PM   #17
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

because its continuous effect doesn't apply until it is actually affected. and this doesn't happen until the affecting effect resolves. how do you know if it is going to be affected until the effect resolves, especially for effects that do not target? ...simple, really.

technically, even though it appears so and the end result is the same, i wouldn't say it works like Spirit Reaper. reaper needs to be targeted and since you cannot apply most continuous effects during the activation and resolution of another effect, reaper must wait.

...just a thought
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.

Last edited by illusionX : 02-26-2011 at 07:38 PM.
illusionX is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 07:54 PM   #18
DonPiantissimo
Pojo Veteran
 
DonPiantissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 810
iTrader: 0
DonPiantissimo is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by illusionX View Post
because its continuous effect doesn't apply until it is actually affected. and this doesn't happen until the affecting effect resolves. how do you know if it is going to be affected until the effect resolves, especially for effects that do not target? ...simple, really.

technically, even though it appears so and the end result is the same, i wouldn't say it works like Spirit Reaper. reaper needs to be targeted and since you cannot apply most continuous effects during the activation and resolution of another effect, reaper must wait.

...just a thought
Actually, Scrap Shark doesn't need to be affected, only for something to activated.

Well, I've always wondered why the continuous effect of Machina Fortress applies before the resolution of the targetting effect while Spirit Reaper's applies after, since they have similar conditions. I'd guess it can be accounted to wording, right? Or just Konami wanting cards to work in a certain way?
DonPiantissimo is offline  
Old 02-26-2011, 08:05 PM   #19
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

Oh, for some reason i was thinking it destroyed itself after it was affected by a card. Never mind. So, then it would work exactly like Spirit Reaper. But my point about why Spirit Reaper waits is still valid.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline  
Old 09-13-2011, 09:51 PM   #20
peten123
Learning the Ropes
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
iTrader: 1 (100%)
peten123 is on a distinguished road
Default Mind control vs forbidden lance?

If i Mind Control a monster then Forbidden Lance that same monster when it is on my side of the field, does it still return to the other side of the field and can it attack?
peten123 is offline  
Old 09-13-2011, 09:57 PM   #21
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
SkullBuster is on a distinguished road
Default

Lance does not erase conditions generated by Spells/Traps that already affecting a Monster.

And next time, create your own thread.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline  
Old 09-13-2011, 09:59 PM   #22
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Key_ is on a distinguished road
Default

http://i.qkme.me/2ra9.jpg
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.