Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2011, 04:41 PM   #1
karldark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 90
iTrader: 0
karldark is on a distinguished road
Default Negating a synchro summon + monster reborn

If i negate the synchro summon of a monster can my opponent or me for that matter Monster Reborn it or was it not summoned properly the first time around.
karldark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 04:42 PM   #2
Thebanlistsuxx
Registered User
 
Thebanlistsuxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,872
iTrader: 0
Thebanlistsuxx is on a distinguished road
Default

it cannot be summoned by Monster Reborn.
Thebanlistsuxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 04:43 PM   #3
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Key_ is on a distinguished road
Default

Nomi / Special Summon-Only monsters cannot be revived if it wasn't summoned properly in the first place
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 04:45 PM   #4
Sobia6464
Vision Unsurpassed
 
Sobia6464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: There Behind You Deck: Fortune Ladies
Age: 21
Posts: 5,315
iTrader: 28 (97%)
Sobia6464 is on a distinguished road
Default

http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Nomi

For Nomi monsters.

However, for synchro monsters, the only reason that they can not be special summoned from the grave is because it wasn't properly synchro summoned.
__________________
Sobia6464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 04:48 PM   #5
karldark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 90
iTrader: 0
karldark is on a distinguished road
Default

thanks again guys
karldark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 05:17 PM   #6
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Key_ is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sobia6464 View Post
http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Nomi

However, for synchro monsters, the only reason that they can not be special summoned from the grave is because it wasn't properly synchro summoned.
Synchro monsters are Special Summon-only by default
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 05:27 PM   #7
xSHiNOx
DMG ♥
 
xSHiNOx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,197
iTrader: 0
xSHiNOx is on a distinguished road
Default

another thing to add just for kicks. if you want to negate a monster's summon and the opponent does so via a monster effect or magic/trap, you must negate the monster's effect or the magic/trap. so if they Monster Reborn, you must negate Monster Reborn. not when the monster gets summoned.
__________________
xSHiNOx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 05:32 PM   #8
Sobia6464
Vision Unsurpassed
 
Sobia6464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: There Behind You Deck: Fortune Ladies
Age: 21
Posts: 5,315
iTrader: 28 (97%)
Sobia6464 is on a distinguished road
Default

Starlight road is a loop hole in that theory. Since it does indeed special summon a Stardust Dragon. Sycnhro monsters are different then Nomi monsters, but definatly similar.

It's like having a card that specifically special summons Dark Armed Dragon. If that were the case, it wouldn't be completely nomi would it? I doubt a card like that would make sense considering DAD's text. Nowhere on a synchro monster does it say "this monster can only be special summoned by..." It just has the requirements to properly Synchro Summon it. There are other ways to summon certain Synchros, but since it wasn't summoned correctly, it can not be special summoned back from the grave.
__________________
Sobia6464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 05:40 PM   #9
DonPiantissimo
Pojo Veteran
 
DonPiantissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 810
iTrader: 0
DonPiantissimo is on a distinguished road
Default

It doesn't matter if it's not on the text. Unless the monster says otherwise (like a text making it nomi), just like Fusion Monsters, extra deck monsters such as Synchro monsters are special summon-only monsters and cannot be special summoned from the graveyard/rfg if they weren't properly synchro summoned before.


EDIT: Sorry if I'm saying the same thing you are saying here, I can't completely understand what point you are trying to make or what are you arguing exactly, blame it on being quite late here...

Last edited by DonPiantissimo : 02-21-2011 at 05:52 PM.
DonPiantissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 05:50 PM   #10
xSHiNOx
DMG ♥
 
xSHiNOx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,197
iTrader: 0
xSHiNOx is on a distinguished road
Default

you can negate Starlight Road whether or not the opponent will summon stardust. it has the ability to do so. there are other cards that have the ability to special summon a monster if one chooses to do so that can be negated. Infernity Launcher used to be able to get negated but they ruled it that you can't
__________________
xSHiNOx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 05:59 PM   #11
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Key_ is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sobia6464 View Post
Starlight road is a loop hole in that theory. Since it does indeed special summon a Stardust Dragon. Sycnhro monsters are different then Nomi monsters, but definatly similar.

It's like having a card that specifically special summons Dark Armed Dragon. If that were the case, it wouldn't be completely nomi would it? I doubt a card like that would make sense considering DAD's text. Nowhere on a synchro monster does it say "this monster can only be special summoned by..." It just has the requirements to properly Synchro Summon it. There are other ways to summon certain Synchros, but since it wasn't summoned correctly, it can not be special summoned back from the grave.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ness' Ruling Blog
Synchro Monsters are Special Summon-only monsters by default as well, but there are also some Nomi Synchro Monsters, such as Trident Dragion. Let's take a look at a few
Starlight Road should be an exception since it's the only card in the game so far that does such a thing
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 06:03 PM   #12
DonPiantissimo
Pojo Veteran
 
DonPiantissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 810
iTrader: 0
DonPiantissimo is on a distinguished road
Default

Synchro Change, Vayu etc.
It's not an exception really, the card states that you can special summon synchro monsters from the extra deck so you do, same way you do with Metamorphosis and Fusions, Ritual Foregone and Rituals.
They should be categorized in the same way Rituals and Fusions do in regards to the special summon-only issues. At this point, after having looked through some things (as much as I could at this point at night) I am not anymore sure whether we call them special summon-only or are they a category of their own, or whether fusions and rituals are similar (I mean them being a category of their own ofc).

Last edited by DonPiantissimo : 02-21-2011 at 06:05 PM.
DonPiantissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 07:11 PM   #13
Sobia6464
Vision Unsurpassed
 
Sobia6464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: There Behind You Deck: Fortune Ladies
Age: 21
Posts: 5,315
iTrader: 28 (97%)
Sobia6464 is on a distinguished road
Default

I think they are not Nomi or Semi-Nomi monsters. They are in a class of their own, so to speak. This is my outlook on it anyway.
__________________
Sobia6464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 07:23 PM   #14
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 29
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
perzeus is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sobia6464 View Post
It's like having a card that specifically special summons Dark Armed Dragon. If that were the case, it wouldn't be completely nomi would it? I doubt a card like that would make sense considering DAD's text...
Rainbow Gravity

And yes, Rainbow Dragon is still a Nomi monster, an exception does not change that.

In fact, Temple of the Kings can summon any monster ignoring summon conditions, going by your logic then no monster is Nomi.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sobia6464 View Post
I think they are not Nomi or Semi-Nomi monsters. They are in a class of their own, so to speak. This is my outlook on it anyway.
They're Special Summon-Only monsters.

There exists no such thing as a semi-nomi.
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978

Last edited by perzeus : 02-21-2011 at 07:25 PM.
perzeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 07:58 PM   #15
RagingArkie
LV1 KDE Judge
 
RagingArkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 750
iTrader: 0
RagingArkie is on a distinguished road
Default

Nomi = Cannot be special summoned except by how it tells you to
Semi-Nomi = Can be special summoned after you do it the right way the first time

How you tell the difference is..
Nomi = "Cannot be special summoned EXCEPT"
Semi = "Can ONLY be special summoned by"

All synchros are Semi-Nomi. If you special summon "Stardust Dragon" with Starlight Road, you may use its effect but it won't come back.

Mmkay you guys get it?

Last edited by RagingArkie : 02-21-2011 at 08:05 PM.
RagingArkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 08:11 PM   #16
D1Case
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,633
iTrader: 0
D1Case is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RagingArkie View Post
Nomi = Cannot be special summoned except by how it tells you to
Special Summon Only= Can be special summoned after you do it the right way the first time

How you tell the difference is..
Nomi = "Cannot be special summoned EXCEPT"
Special Summon Only = "Can ONLY be special summoned by"

All synchros are Special Summon Only. If you special summon "Stardust Dragon" with Starlight Road, you may use its effect but it won't come back.

Mmkay you guys get it?
Fixed. Hope you get it.
D1Case is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:23 AM   #17
chaos_rules
Registered User
 
chaos_rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 91
iTrader: 0
chaos_rules is on a distinguished road
Default

one question, if I summon a Stardust Dragon, and my opponent uses a Torrential Tribute, and i negate the summon, and when in the end phase i summon the stardust and gets destroyed and negated(solemn, warning) can i special summon my stardust with call, reborn, etc?

pd: sorry for my bad english.
chaos_rules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:28 AM   #18
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,907
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos_rules View Post
one question, if I summon a Stardust Dragon, and my opponent uses a Torrential Tribute, and i negate the summon, and when in the end phase i summon the stardust and gets destroyed and negated(solemn, warning) can i special summon my stardust with call, reborn, etc?

pd: sorry for my bad english.
You can't negate a Summon caused by an activating effect, ever. "Solemn Judgment" cannot be used here at all, and "Solemn Warning" would negate the activation of the effect, not the Summon.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793

Last edited by Redshift : 04-06-2011 at 08:30 AM.
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 09:57 AM   #19
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

If the activation of Stardust Dragon is negate (solemn warning), you can still revive Stardust Dragon; the summon was never negated.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 04:15 PM   #20
chaos_rules
Registered User
 
chaos_rules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Spain
Posts: 91
iTrader: 0
chaos_rules is on a distinguished road
Default

thanks!!!!!!, one of my friends is a liar xd
chaos_rules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 04:37 PM   #21
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

Everyone lies.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.