Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2011, 11:01 AM   #1
BladesOfArtemis
NEGATE!
 
BladesOfArtemis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Queens, NY
Age: 31
Posts: 1,398
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default Fake Trap vs. SS2 negation effects.

Much like the title says, this is an interesting question that I came up with while looking through some old commons. Given the slew of spell speed 2 negation cards that have been made, this is the scenario:

Player A has a face down Mirror Force and Fake Trap
Player B Declares an attack and has say any kind of spell speed 2 negation effect (My Body as a Shield, Stardust Dragon, etc etc).
Player A activates Mirror Force.
Player B Chains their negation effect.
Player A Chains Fake Trap.

The conundrum: We know Fake Trap would prevent Mirror Force from being destroyed, however, would Mirror Force still properly resolve or will its effect still be negated? My initial answer would be no since Fake Trap only prevents the trap from being destroyed and states nothing about the effect.

Following that, Second Scenario but with Imperial Custom

Player A has a set Gravity Bind and an already active Imperial Custom
Player B has a quick effect that negates activations (I.E. Herald of Purple Light, etc)
Player A activates Gravity Bind

Is player B allowed to attempt to negate its activation with Herald or since Gravity Bind is now a face-up card on the field, Imperial Custom protects it from any such effects? My initial thought would be no since there is the condition on the field for Player A that his/her continuous traps cannot be destroyed by effects. Thoughts?
__________________

Yu-Gi-Oh Judge since 2004

Visit my youtube channel for silly duels along with serious ones with my friends and my Counter Fairy builds at: http://www.youtube.com/user/thebladesofartemis
New Duel Videos from Dueling Network are up!
BladesOfArtemis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 11:11 AM   #2
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,834
iTrader: 0
Default

1) The OCG agrees with your logic.

2) I remember a ruling (most likely OCG) that explained that if you negate the activation of a Continuous Trap Card, Imperial Custom won't protect it, as it's not considered to be face-up.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 03:17 PM   #3
No One Special
Good Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,594
iTrader: 0
Default

If the activation of a Continuous Spell Card or Continuous Trap Card is negated without destroying it (as per LaDD), it's sent to the Graveyard by game mechanics.
__________________
RIP Dragon Rulers, you won't be missed.
No One Special is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 03:24 PM   #4
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,041
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

However, before "Herald of Purple Light"'s effect resolves and activation of "Gravity Bind" is negated, it's still considered on the field, right?

For example, say my opponent's "Legendary Six Samurai - Shi En" attacks my "Stardust Dragon", and I use "Dimensional Prison". If Shi En chains to it, can I chain the effect of my "Stardust Dragon"?
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 85
Redshift's Ruling Quiz 3

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified (not CPR though)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 03:31 PM   #5
No One Special
Good Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,594
iTrader: 0
Default

Judgment of Anubis is capable of negating My Body as a Shield, which negates activations and destroys the card involved, so I would believe so.
__________________
RIP Dragon Rulers, you won't be missed.
No One Special is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 03:36 PM   #6
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,834
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
However, before "Herald of Purple Light"'s effect resolves and activation of "Gravity Bind" is negated, it's still considered on the field, right?

For example, say my opponent's "Legendary Six Samurai - Shi En" attacks my "Stardust Dragon", and I use "Dimensional Prison". If Shi En chains to it, can I chain the effect of my "Stardust Dragon"?
Sure.

The thing is, Customs would need to apply its effect once Solemn negates the activation of Bind, and by that time, it's considered not to be on the Field anymore.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.