Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2011, 12:27 AM   #1
KingAlector
Registered User
 
KingAlector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 261
iTrader: 4 (83%)
KingAlector is on a distinguished road
Default Solemn Warning vs. Gravekeeper's Recruiter

I summon Recruiter opponent responds with solemn warning, do I search for Recruiter or not since its summon was negated thus i wouldnt control it as it sent to the graveyard? Thanks.
__________________


Le Blog of Mine
KingAlector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 12:29 AM   #2
gateguardian44
Mr. Saki
 
gateguardian44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Age: 26
Posts: 13,491
iTrader: 82 (100%)
gateguardian44 is on a distinguished road
Default

Since the summon was negated, it never hit the field and therefore will NOT get the effect...
__________________

David Tuan Bui
'07-'14 Nats Qualifier
7 Regional tops, 1 UD Day top, 1 YCS Day 2 (34th), 1 WCQ Day 2 & 2-time Yu-gi-oh Day Champion
RC-2 & PC-1
gateguardian44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 12:43 AM   #3
masterkoitsu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 156
iTrader: 0
masterkoitsu is on a distinguished road
Default

Technically, it's being negated by Solemn Warning meaning it never hit the field, so you won't get any effect. However, if an effect like "Solemn Warning" or "Royal Oppression" negates the the Synchro Summon of "Voltic Bicorn" or "Lightning Tricorn" or "Scrap Dragon" and destroys it, then you can activate the monster's effect.
masterkoitsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 03:41 AM   #4
Buckethead
...Aerodynamic...
 
Buckethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,932
iTrader: 4 (75%)
Buckethead is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by masterkoitsu View Post
Technically, it's being negated by Solemn Warning meaning it never hit the field, so you won't get any effect. However, if an effect like "Solemn Warning" or "Royal Oppression" negates the the Synchro Summon of "Voltic Bicorn" or "Lightning Tricorn" or "Scrap Dragon" and destroys it, then you can activate the monster's effect.
But this is because those cards only need be "destroyed" by your opponent. Gravekeeper's Recruiter states that you must have control of it in order to gain it's effect. If it's Summon is negated, you never "controlled" it.
__________________
------------------------



Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger.

Dragunity Powaa(Vet)
The Fabled (Vet)

Buckethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 10:40 AM   #5
Player_1
Guess my Web Browser
 
Player_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Age: 27
Posts: 2,449
iTrader: 63 (97%)
Player_1 is on a distinguished road
Default

How about Flip summoning Gravekeeper's Recruiter or Sangan. Solemn Warning negates the summon but the searcher was on the field at the time the flip summon was attempted.
__________________
H/W list is here: http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1084955
Player_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 10:51 AM   #6
Jingrock
NTR Emperor
 
Jingrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manila
Posts: 2,733
iTrader: 0
Jingrock is on a distinguished road
Default

There's a sort of limbo that monsters go through when they're flip summoned.

They will still not get the effect if the monster had to be sent from the field to the graveyard because they never hit the field.
Jingrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 10:52 AM   #7
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

As stated already, the monster is in a state of limbo as the summon is being attempted (flip, normal, any). if the summon is negated, the monster never made it back to the field.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 11:33 AM   #8
KtSpAz
Zombie Specialist
 
KtSpAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,100
iTrader: 18 (100%)
KtSpAz is on a distinguished road
Default

Just saying this would apply to all types of recruiters correct?
__________________
DEBRIS ZOMBIES!!!

My Brand New Trade List!


Quote:
Originally Posted by iLiekChaos View Post
Yu-Jo FTK.

Play Yu-Jo Friendship.
Put your hand in your pants.
Reveal Unity.
Your opponent scoops.
KtSpAz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 11:36 AM   #9
kazikuro
♥ Pojo Newbie ♥
 
kazikuro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Home.
Posts: 2,010
iTrader: 0
kazikuro is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KtSpAz View Post
Just saying this would apply to all types of recruiters correct?
If a monster needs to be sent from the field to the Graveyard or be under someone's control, then yes. If something just needs to be destroyed (i.e. Grandmaster of the Six Samurai) then the effect will still activate.
__________________

Thanks Cooper+Vault for the smexy Sig and Avatar! Click banner for Youtube Channel



X-Saber Deck


The Official X-Saber Slogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazymonkey291 View Post
saber hole that ****
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heart View Post
X-Sabers are next LS.
Emmersblade and JD are bros.
Fulhelmknight and Lumina are married.
Ryko and Airbellum are beasts.
Boggart goes to the gym with Garoth.
kazikuro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 11:51 AM   #10
KtSpAz
Zombie Specialist
 
KtSpAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,100
iTrader: 18 (100%)
KtSpAz is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kazikuro View Post
If a monster needs to be sent from the field to the Graveyard or be under someone's control, then yes. If something just needs to be destroyed (i.e. Grandmaster of the Six Samurai) then the effect will still activate.
Ah thanks for clearing that up
__________________
DEBRIS ZOMBIES!!!

My Brand New Trade List!


Quote:
Originally Posted by iLiekChaos View Post
Yu-Jo FTK.

Play Yu-Jo Friendship.
Put your hand in your pants.
Reveal Unity.
Your opponent scoops.
KtSpAz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 12:13 PM   #11
ccayco
Pojo Veteran
 
ccayco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,651
iTrader: 1 (100%)
ccayco is on a distinguished road
Default

Since it says "you control", if the opponent Mind Controls Recruiter and Sychros with it, you don't get the search, right?
ccayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 12:15 PM   #12
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

correct .
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.