Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2011, 05:05 PM   #1
Maharishineo
The Yu-Gi-Cast!
 
Maharishineo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,328
iTrader: 0
Default Maxx "C"

I want to get to the bottom of this. So it does not work versus inherent SS, correct? What constitutes an inherent SS? Are Grandmaster and Kizan inherent SS or is this card massively overhyped in terms of its effectiveness verus Sams? How about a card like Faultroll? And I know there's also some damage step discrepancy, to say it would not work if you attacked into a Gravekeeper's Spy. What about a Fulhelmknight or Shura effect?

Thanks rulings gurus!
Maharishineo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:12 PM   #2
DragonXDoom
Magic Misuser
 
DragonXDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,595
iTrader: 0
Default

It does work for inherent Special Summon, though you have to activate the effect of "Maxx "C"" before the inherent Special Summon takes place to draw the card. You can chain the effect of Maxx "C" to an effect that would Special Summon a monster, like Monster Reborn, and you will draw a card when that monster is Special Summoned.

An inherent Special Summon is a way included in a monsters effect as a seperate way to summon it that doesn't start a chain. For example, Judgment Dragon, Chaos Sorcerer, Dark Armed Dragon, Cyber Dragon, Machina Fortress and The Tricky all can be Inherently Special Summoned.

In general:
  1. If the Summon must happen in response to something, then it's usually a Trigger Effect. (Ex: "Gorz")
  2. If the monster can Special Summon itself ONLY from the Graveyard, then it's usually an Ignition Effect (Ex: "Plaguespreader Zombie")
  3. If the monster's text specifies that the effect activates, then it's usually an Ignition Effect (Ex: "Ally Genex Birdman")
  4. If the monster can be Special Summoned outside of the Main Phase, then it's usually a Trigger or Ignition Effect (Ex: "Treeborn Frog")
  5. If the effect doesn't fall into any of the above categories, then it's usually an inherent Special Summon.
Hope that helped!
DragonXDoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:14 PM   #3
Sobia6464
Vision Unsurpassed
 
Sobia6464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: There Behind You Deck: Fortune Ladies
Age: 20
Posts: 5,315
iTrader: 28 (97%)
Default

An Inherent SS is as follows:
Quote:
An inherent Special Summon is something like the text of "Cyber Dragon". It's a built-in way of Summoning the monster. With it, you (the player) are considered to be performing the Summon, not some effect; it's like how when you Normal Summon or Flip Summon the monster, you (the player) are Summoning the monster, not some effect.
--Deus Ex Machina
__________________
Sobia6464 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:27 PM   #4
Maharishineo
The Yu-Gi-Cast!
 
Maharishineo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,328
iTrader: 0
Default

Interesting... so as long as you chain to the Kageki's effect then you get one, plus one more for the synchro and any GMs and Kizan's they summon after all. Sounds like it's worth the hype for Samurai and Plant decks, then. Although it never sounded like a great card for Gravekeepers or Blackwings. And Sabers, you'd have to drop it BEFORE the dropping of Faultroll then, right? That hurts, since they could opt not to play him after you've played Maxx. What about the part of my question regarding FHK and Shura?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maharishineo View Post
And I know there's also some damage step discrepancy, to say it would not work if you attacked into a Gravekeeper's Spy. What about a Fulhelmknight or Shura effect?
Thanks again guys.
Maharishineo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:29 PM   #5
DragonXDoom
Magic Misuser
 
DragonXDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,595
iTrader: 0
Default

You could not activate it as a chain to Shura or Fulhelmknight. But, if you had activated it previously, you would draw.
DragonXDoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:31 PM   #6
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,476
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonXDoom View Post
You could not activate it as a chain to Shura or Fulhelmknight. But, if you had activated it previously, you would draw.
I think "Skull Meister" has taught us never to assume that a TCG exclusive will obey standard Damage Step rules. Although you're probably right...
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 86
Redshift's Ruling Quiz 3

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified (not CPR though)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 05:40 PM   #7
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,884
iTrader: 0
Default

Maxx "C" doesn't even negate stuff. It has no grounds to activate its effect during the Damage Step.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 06:14 PM   #8
Maharishineo
The Yu-Gi-Cast!
 
Maharishineo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,328
iTrader: 0
Default

I didn't even necessarily mean activating it during... but rather it being able to activate the draw effect during the battle phase. So it can activate in response to a FHK, Shura or Emmers SS as long as it was activated previously, instead of in response to (which appears to be illegal). Thanks!
Maharishineo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 06:20 PM   #9
Nomad_Skies
Feathered Valiant
 
Nomad_Skies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Canadian West Format: Format? I have no format. I am a Renegade, lost in the net.
Age: 26
Posts: 6,794
iTrader: 0
Default

As long as you're not trying to activate Maxx C during the Damage Step, I don't see why you'd have a problem drawing during the Damage Step if summons occur there after the fact.

I mean, I can't imagine new chains being started for these draws (not like this would matter anyways), and since this is an exclusive, I doubt we'll get any rulings to begin with, let alone ones that go against common sense.
__________________
~ Stay true to your nomad skies...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ojama16 View Post
Welcome to Pojo.com Forums. Please leave all morals, common sense, and the knowledge of a search button at the door.
Nomad_Skies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 06:43 PM   #10
Jingrock
NTR Emperor
 
Jingrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manila
Posts: 2,733
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ness00 View Post
Maxx "C" doesn't even negate stuff. It has no grounds to activate its effect during the Damage Step.
I've heard talk of Skullmesiter's effect should not work in the damage step. Any reason why they'd say this?

It negates an effect no?

Last edited by Jingrock : 01-24-2011 at 06:50 PM.
Jingrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 06:52 PM   #11
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,884
iTrader: 0
Default

It's a really long story which is still unclear, but so far it's safer to assume that the official ruling still stands and it can be activated during the Damage Step.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:45 PM   #12
hbk1925
Pojo Veteran
 
hbk1925's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando
Age: 24
Posts: 3,149
iTrader: 6 (100%)
Default

So I can easily drop this when I'm tagging out my GB's.

I'd drop the C when I'm just about to drop my tag ins or after though? would the order make a difference?
__________________
My Yu-Gi-Oh! Youtube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/OrangeSamuraiD
hbk1925 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:51 PM   #13
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,884
iTrader: 0
Default

Uh...yes.

If you activate it in a chain to the Gladiator Beast's effect (when it's shuffled in the Deck) or earlier than that, you will draw a Card.

If you activate it once the new Gladiator Beast is Summoned, the Special Summon has already happened, so you won't draw a Card.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 12:59 PM   #14
DonPiantissimo
Pojo Veteran
 
DonPiantissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 810
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hbk1925 View Post
So I can easily drop this when I'm tagging out my GB's.

I'd drop the C when I'm just about to drop my tag ins or after though? would the order make a difference?
Just remember that you draw a card each time your opponent special summons.
I'm saying this because the way you put it, it seems as if you'd chain the card to your own GB tag effect.
DonPiantissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 01:56 PM   #15
DariusInDef
Registered User
 
DariusInDef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 20
Posts: 371
iTrader: 0
Default

So you can chain Maxx C to the declaration of an attack?
__________________

Sig credit to Mr.XtotheZ

3 Regional Top 8's
Nationals Invite 2010
Nationals Invite 2011
Top 1000 July 2010 - September 2010
DN: Nathan G
DariusInDef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 01:59 PM   #16
DonPiantissimo
Pojo Veteran
 
DonPiantissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 810
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DariusInDef View Post
So you can chain Maxx C to the declaration of an attack?
I think it would be "respond" in that case, but yeah, it's a quick effect so there shouldn't be a problem there. At any time you would activate a regular spell speed 2 card, like Book of Moon for example.
DonPiantissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 02:01 PM   #17
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,476
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DariusInDef View Post
So you can chain Maxx C to the declaration of an attack?
Attacks don't have Spell Speed, so you can't chain anything to them, ever. You can respond to an attack with the effect of "Maxx C", of course. It's clearly a Quick Effect.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 86
Redshift's Ruling Quiz 3

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified (not CPR though)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.