Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Single Card Discussions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-16-2011, 05:54 PM   #1
lunis
tepig is boss
 
lunis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: deep in the dark of unova fav. poke: tepig
Age: 31
Posts: 1,873
iTrader: 14 (100%)
Default vanity's emptiness

Vanity's emptiness http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Vanity's_Emptiness
Dear pojo,
I gave the flu and the meds have me feelin GOOD. For the life of me i can't think of anything this would be chummy with. Pretty much everything goes to the graveyard at some point doesn't it? Ut would stop Cyber Dragon and gorz and battle faders an stuff luke that but it wouldn't work for synchros would it? The material does go to the graveyard. Therefore boom right? Then the monster can come on out, right?
__________________



White pokemon fc.... lunis 3224 5402 6613

Current project: shiny hunting.

I'm always looking for legendaries and shinies.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
Sounds like a damaged rectal orifice, could be serious.

Good luck to those who remain.
lunis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 05:56 PM   #2
RobK990
Inquisitor
 
RobK990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Helican Subsector
Age: 24
Posts: 4,710
iTrader: 108 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lunis View Post
Vanity's emptiness
Dear pojo,
I gave the flu and the meds have me feelin GOOD. For the life of me i can't think of anything this would be chummy with. Pretty much everything goes to the graveyard at some point doesn't it? Ut would stop Cyber Dragon and gorz and battle faders an stuff luke that but it wouldn't work for synchros would it? The material does go to the graveyard. Therefore boom right? Then the monster can come on out, right?
Macro decks, but unfortunately that means NOT using D.D. Survivor and D.D. Scout Plane in the same deck, since they wouldn't be Special Summoned after leaving play. Really, it's more of a stopgap your opponent has to reach around to kill, but a far better one would be Thunder King Rai-Oh.
__________________
RobK990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 05:57 PM   #3
Stormweaver
Theoretical Vet
 
Stormweaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,879
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lunis View Post
Vanity's emptiness http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Vanity's_Emptiness
Dear pojo,
I gave the flu and the meds have me feelin GOOD. For the life of me i can't think of anything this would be chummy with. Pretty much everything goes to the graveyard at some point doesn't it? Ut would stop Cyber Dragon and gorz and battle faders an stuff luke that but it wouldn't work for synchros would it? The material does go to the graveyard. Therefore boom right? Then the monster can come on out, right?
You can't 'start' a special summon while it's face up, or activate an effect that would special summon a monster.

In the meantime, the card is instant, free summon prevention against any card that's effect would summon a monster. It's not great, but by no means is it bad.

and If even one person starts talking about combos with this card, I'll be pissed off.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATT001 View Post
Just in case someone lives under a rock and is not aware that this is pretty much always the case:

Squiddy is incorrect. Stormweaver is correct.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black-Buster-Soldier View Post
Edit: Stormweaver'd
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwang View Post
Stormweaver, that was a brilliant comeback.
You are indeed one of the master trolls of Pojo.
Stormweaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 06:01 PM   #4
lunis
tepig is boss
 
lunis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: deep in the dark of unova fav. poke: tepig
Age: 31
Posts: 1,873
iTrader: 14 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormweaver View Post
You can't 'start' a special summon while it's face up, or activate an effect that would special summon a monster.

In the meantime, the card is instant, free summon prevention against any card that's effect would summon a monster. It's not great, but by no means is it bad.

and If even one person starts talking about combos with this card, I'll be pissed off.
Hey man that clears up a lot. Thanks dude. Mods you can close this if ya want or see where it curtails off too.haha

Additional Comment:

An yea tkro is much better I concur
__________________



White pokemon fc.... lunis 3224 5402 6613

Current project: shiny hunting.

I'm always looking for legendaries and shinies.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
Sounds like a damaged rectal orifice, could be serious.

Good luck to those who remain.

Last edited by lunis : 01-16-2011 at 06:01 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
lunis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:08 PM   #5
Shiranai
Puppets Master
 
Shiranai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Far south from you
Age: 20
Posts: 1,375
iTrader: 0
Default

Imperial Custom someone?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yukichi View Post
If you're in the wrong Dark Hole, you could end up with a Tribe-Infecting Virus.

A piece of junk
Shiranai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:24 PM   #6
Kelptic183
Is Yuballin
 
Kelptic183's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: You'll never know. Deck: Yubel
Age: 22
Posts: 5,073
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiranai View Post
Imperial Custom someone?
MST Custom, send Custom to the grave, Emptiness selfdestructs, -1?
__________________
Das Extremer Traurig Drachen: A Guide to Yubel III
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrap View Post
This guy. Puts Yubel in everything, but I like it!
Anyone interested in seeing a Yubel deck in action, challenge me on Devpro EU as Kelptic183.
Kelptic183 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:38 PM   #7
RobK990
Inquisitor
 
RobK990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Helican Subsector
Age: 24
Posts: 4,710
iTrader: 108 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelptic183 View Post
MST Custom, send Custom to the grave, Emptiness selfdestructs, -1?
This, having this card and any other backrow or frontrow that would support it are an instant -1 when they so much as pop the first.
__________________
RobK990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 06:58 AM   #8
Pseudocreobroter
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Age: 27
Posts: 1,239
iTrader: 2 (100%)
Default

I'm using triple banisher in my stun build which is working very well, so I decided to tech one of these.
Together these 2 cards together are pretty sick and have won me games, but on its own will usually only stop a reborn, maybe a debris special summon or gladiator Tag. But then again that is all it needs to do as far as im concerned, anything else is just icing on the cake.
Pseudocreobroter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:53 AM   #9
Dantesinferno
Quickdraw Master
 
Dantesinferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,928
iTrader: 0
Default

Only use it as a chainable, if it lasts even longer; +1.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Jones View Post
Jesus everything you just said wanted to make me punch babies
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoZenithX View Post
The conversation went down like this:

I summon Raging Earth. I activate Scrap Lube, and chain Book of Moon on your Harpie Queen to flip her face-down.
Dantesinferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 11:41 AM   #10
Kaikanphase
Disguise... ready!
 
Kaikanphase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,598
iTrader: 0
Default

Except for MST, Trap Stun and Royal Decree I see Vanity's Emptiness + Imperial Custom combo with potential.

Your opponent can't counterattack with:
Black Rose Dragon
Gravekeeper's Spy (summoning Descendant)
XX-Saber Hyunlei
Junk Destroyer
etc

Thanks to Heavy Storm out this combo has potential.
Kaikanphase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 12:02 PM   #11
bad at this game
i guess im a vet
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Here.
Age: 22
Posts: 2,566
iTrader: 0
Default

emptiness to stop them for a turn, get rid of it next turn by playing pretty much any card.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord of the Nerds @ no one special View Post
You're REALLY bad at this game. Now go trade usernames with bad at this game.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roosh View Post
Change your name to "Good at Life" please.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alchemist View Post
You need a real Gold Star. Here:
bad at this game is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 12:10 PM   #12
wind1
Pojo Veteran
 
wind1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,758
iTrader: 0
Default

I always just treat vanity emptiness as a 1 for 1 card, if it could prevent more negation, then it's just a bonus.

Ex. Player A plays Monster Reborn, i chain vanity's emptiness.

I actually really like this card in my anti-meta deck where I main triple banisher, they are just great together especially now that oppression is at 1 and u need more cards to stop special summon.
__________________
For all the trolls on Pojo
wind1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 07:32 PM   #13
RobK990
Inquisitor
 
RobK990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Helican Subsector
Age: 24
Posts: 4,710
iTrader: 108 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dantesinferno View Post
Only use it as a chainable, if it lasts even longer; +1.
It's not "chainable," in the sense you can use it to block a Special Summon like you can with Warning or Bottomless; it's more like leading a turn off with Trap Stun than anything else (which smart players do, since Warning is faster than Stun).

Additional Comment:

Quote:
Originally Posted by wind1 View Post
I always just treat vanity emptiness as a 1 for 1 card, if it could prevent more negation, then it's just a bonus.

Ex. Player A plays Monster Reborn, i chain vanity's emptiness.

I actually really like this card in my anti-meta deck where I main triple banisher, they are just great together especially now that oppression is at 1 and u need more cards to stop special summon.
Better card is still TKRO.
__________________

Last edited by RobK990 : 01-17-2011 at 07:32 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
RobK990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 09:40 PM   #14
Dantesinferno
Quickdraw Master
 
Dantesinferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,928
iTrader: 0
Default

How is it not chainable? Summon Debris, Chain Vanity. Activate Monster Reborn, Chain Vanity. Or do you not chain against those cards?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Jones View Post
Jesus everything you just said wanted to make me punch babies
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoZenithX View Post
The conversation went down like this:

I summon Raging Earth. I activate Scrap Lube, and chain Book of Moon on your Harpie Queen to flip her face-down.
Dantesinferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:18 PM   #15
RobK990
Inquisitor
 
RobK990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Helican Subsector
Age: 24
Posts: 4,710
iTrader: 108 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dantesinferno View Post
How is it not chainable? Summon Debris, Chain Vanity. Activate Monster Reborn, Chain Vanity. Or do you not chain against those cards?
Yeah, but I chain Solemn Warning. Look, this card is either a wash in certain situations or a -1 in others, and in both circumstances there exist better options. What killed it was the adendum that MAKES it a -1, otherwise this is a pretty good card, but the fact that, if you HAVE both Vanity's Emptiness and Royal Statute or whatever card that's meant to protect it and your opponent kills the protection card with something like MST, it's a -1. In your situation, where Banisher of the Radiance is out, all your opponent has to do is kill Banisher- who sports a wimpy, un-Honestable 1600 ATK, I will add- and it's yet another -1.
__________________

Last edited by RobK990 : 01-17-2011 at 10:25 PM.
RobK990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:38 PM   #16
Dantesinferno
Quickdraw Master
 
Dantesinferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,928
iTrader: 0
Default

I am not saying that there aren't better options. You just told me that this card is not chainable.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Jones View Post
Jesus everything you just said wanted to make me punch babies
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoZenithX View Post
The conversation went down like this:

I summon Raging Earth. I activate Scrap Lube, and chain Book of Moon on your Harpie Queen to flip her face-down.
Dantesinferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:39 PM   #17
RobK990
Inquisitor
 
RobK990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Helican Subsector
Age: 24
Posts: 4,710
iTrader: 108 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dantesinferno View Post
I am not saying that there aren't better options. You just told me that this card is not chainable.
You can't use it in response to a summon, no; you can't chain this to Cyber Dragon's summon or something to that effect, for example. It's not like your can do this when your opponent's summoning a Stardust Dragon and go, whoops, Stardust dies or something.
__________________
RobK990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:48 PM   #18
Dantesinferno
Quickdraw Master
 
Dantesinferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,928
iTrader: 0
Default

I never referred to its use that way. As you can see, I stated above to use it as a Chainable. I never said to use it in response to anything.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Jones View Post
Jesus everything you just said wanted to make me punch babies
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoZenithX View Post
The conversation went down like this:

I summon Raging Earth. I activate Scrap Lube, and chain Book of Moon on your Harpie Queen to flip her face-down.
Dantesinferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:55 PM   #19
RobK990
Inquisitor
 
RobK990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Helican Subsector
Age: 24
Posts: 4,710
iTrader: 108 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dantesinferno View Post
I never referred to its use that way. As you can see, I stated above to use it as a Chainable. I never said to use it in response to anything.
Sir if I were within reach of you I would slap you. It's one in the morning, and that was just about the dumbest thing I've ever heard.

Whether you mean "chainable" or "in response to a summon," generally you mean the same thing. I can't use this to stop a Special Summon IN PROGRESS, outside an effect like Debris or Reborn. I can't stop a Special Summon so much as prevent one from happening, but in that case I've only won half the battle, because they more than likely still have the resources to stop this thing.

In short, this card is bad and should be used by no-one. /thread.
__________________

Last edited by RobK990 : 01-17-2011 at 10:59 PM.
RobK990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 11:04 PM   #20
chunwilly
Negation Maniac
 
chunwilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 717
iTrader: 5 (100%)
Default

I actually start liking the card, it is my answer for Cold Wave.
chunwilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 11:18 PM   #21
Dantesinferno
Quickdraw Master
 
Dantesinferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,928
iTrader: 0
Default

Chaining and responding in the game of Yugioh are two separate entities and I classify them as such. It is probably because of the time that you believed I meant responding to a summon. In this case, I meant chain to an effect and response as inherent summon. My apologies if I made this too difficult to understand.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Jones View Post
Jesus everything you just said wanted to make me punch babies
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoZenithX View Post
The conversation went down like this:

I summon Raging Earth. I activate Scrap Lube, and chain Book of Moon on your Harpie Queen to flip her face-down.
Dantesinferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 11:24 PM   #22
Waratteirudakara
Pojo Veteran
 
Waratteirudakara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,990
iTrader: 0
Default

A lot of times you don't even want the SS to start or it's over, like in LSS's case.

It stops frog, and Vayu plays, unless you feel like using warning on those.
Waratteirudakara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 11:27 PM   #23
RobK990
Inquisitor
 
RobK990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Helican Subsector
Age: 24
Posts: 4,710
iTrader: 108 (100%)
Default

I'm well aware of the difference and I'm glad you are too; for a second it seemed you didn't.

My issue with Vanity's Emptiness is the second effect, where it dies the first time a card hits the Grave. That might be a good combo with Banisher, but all your opponent needs to do is drop Smashing Ground on it or swing over it (and with 1600 ATK, that's not hard by any stretch of the imagination). Trust me, but for the second effect, I'd love this card and would drop Sabers like molten lead to run it. Yes, you can still stop Monster Reborn, but what then? Monster Reborn hits the grave and Emptiness breaks.

This card is not that good, especially with MST at 2 and Trap Stun/Seven Tools in every Aggro player's deck.
__________________
RobK990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 11:40 PM   #24
Waratteirudakara
Pojo Veteran
 
Waratteirudakara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,990
iTrader: 0
Default

When a card from YOUR field/deck, not either players.
Waratteirudakara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 12:50 AM   #25
chunwilly
Negation Maniac
 
chunwilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 717
iTrader: 5 (100%)
Default

Uhh, Rob, I love your comments, but please read the card before starting to comment on it...
chunwilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.