Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2011, 09:44 PM   #1
Joenen
Endless Sorcerer
 
Joenen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Golden Land
Age: 22
Posts: 28,025
iTrader: 0
Joenen has a spectacular aura aboutJoenen has a spectacular aura aboutJoenen has a spectacular aura about
Default effect veiler V Chaos sorcerer

If I effect veiler Chaos Sorcerer, can sorcerer still attak even if I chain to its effect?
__________________


Creator of The Spellcaster Discussion Thread
/ 3DS Friend Code: 3952-7046-2869 / The YuGiOrganization (Number XVII)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Evangel
Read the OP. It Saves Lives.
Joenen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 09:50 PM   #2
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Key_ is on a distinguished road
Default

No, it's activation wasn't negated, only the effect was
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 10:02 PM   #3
Joenen
Endless Sorcerer
 
Joenen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Golden Land
Age: 22
Posts: 28,025
iTrader: 0
Joenen has a spectacular aura aboutJoenen has a spectacular aura aboutJoenen has a spectacular aura about
Default

thank you
__________________


Creator of The Spellcaster Discussion Thread
/ 3DS Friend Code: 3952-7046-2869 / The YuGiOrganization (Number XVII)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Evangel
Read the OP. It Saves Lives.
Joenen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 02:12 PM   #4
Skandranon
Have You Seen Me:P
 
Skandranon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California
Age: 29
Posts: 5,980
iTrader: 70 (100%)
Skandranon is on a distinguished road
Default

is there an official ruling somewhere to prove this? at my locals they argued that the no aatack was part of the effect not a cost especially since its written at the end of the card rather than the front sentence where costs usually go.
__________________

Quote:
Are you thinking what i'm thinking?
I'm not sure
were you thinking
Holy S#$%! Holy S#$%! A swordfish almost went through my head
If so, Yes
Arcade Star
Don of Team Dark
Skandranon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 02:17 PM   #5
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,144
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift has a spectacular aura aboutRedshift has a spectacular aura aboutRedshift has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skandranon View Post
is there an official ruling somewhere to prove this? at my locals they argued that the no aatack was part of the effect not a cost especially since its written at the end of the card rather than the front sentence where costs usually go.
No, it's not part of the effect. It's a condition. It's in the card's text. It says, "If you activate this effect, this card cannot attack during this turn." Did you activate the effect? Ok, it can't attack this turn.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 02:23 PM   #6
HyawehHoshikawa
Siesta Madokaist
 
HyawehHoshikawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Church of Madoka
Posts: 2,179
iTrader: 0
HyawehHoshikawa is on a distinguished road
Default

So Chaos may attack after activating it's effect against LaDD?
__________________
The real reason world doesn't end on 21-dec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madoka
Lol Mayan.
HyawehHoshikawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 02:25 PM   #7
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,144
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift has a spectacular aura aboutRedshift has a spectacular aura aboutRedshift has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HyawehHoshikawa View Post
So Chaos may attack after activating it's effect against LaDD?
Well that's different. "Light and Darkness Dragon" doesn't negate effects. But as for the answer, I think not but I can't find a relevant ruling..
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 02:26 PM   #8
kos.3vil
Schwarzflugel God
 
kos.3vil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 691
iTrader: 0
kos.3vil is on a distinguished road
Default

@HyawehHoshikawa

No it can't.
__________________

ボクが正義だ

A lot of people have beef with me
I don't take it as seriously as they do and I think that frustrates them
I think it's funny

Fight to Win not Top. 2nd Place is the 1st Loser.
kos.3vil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 02:43 PM   #9
HyawehHoshikawa
Siesta Madokaist
 
HyawehHoshikawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Church of Madoka
Posts: 2,179
iTrader: 0
HyawehHoshikawa is on a distinguished road
Default

well, so 3 people agreed CS can't attack after the activation of it's effect is negated...(me included)
but, then again, what about Pot of Duality->Solemn Judgment, Pot of Duality again.
__________________
The real reason world doesn't end on 21-dec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madoka
Lol Mayan.
HyawehHoshikawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 02:44 PM   #10
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Key_ is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
Well that's different. "Light and Darkness Dragon" doesn't negate effects. But as for the answer, I think not but I can't find a relevant ruling..
y u no confident ...

Remember once per turn = once per turn
once per duel = once per duel
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 02:48 PM   #11
bioober
Pojo Veteran
 
bioober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,914
iTrader: 5 (86%)
bioober is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeytheTarget View Post
y u no confident ...

Remember once per turn = once per turn
once per duel = once per duel
None of the cards listed ever said once per duel...

Additional Comment:

I'm also confused by the pot of duality one. Why can you activate another one if it was solemned, but you can't attack with Chaos Sorcerer when its effect's activation is negated. Is this another bkss or a hidden ruling I can't find?
__________________

Last edited by bioober : 04-20-2011 at 02:49 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
bioober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 03:01 PM   #12
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,144
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift has a spectacular aura aboutRedshift has a spectacular aura aboutRedshift has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeytheTarget View Post
y u no confident ...

Remember once per turn = once per turn
once per duel = once per duel
That's not the same issue though. I'm not wondering if it can try to use its effect again that turn, but rather attack. Even though I'm 99% sure it can't attack.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 03:19 PM   #13
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Key_ is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bioober View Post
None of the cards listed ever said once per duel...
Now I didn't say once per duel was stated on any of the cards listed, did I ?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 03:21 PM   #14
bioober
Pojo Veteran
 
bioober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,914
iTrader: 5 (86%)
bioober is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeytheTarget View Post
Now I didn't say once per duel was stated on any of the cards listed, did I ?
Then why did you say that in the first place?

P.S. I'm still wondering about the Pot of Duality/Chaos Sorcerer conflict after negating its activation.
__________________
bioober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 03:22 PM   #15
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Key_ is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bioober View Post
Then why did you say that in the first place?

P.S. I'm still wondering about the Pot of Duality/Chaos Sorcerer conflict after negating its activation.
So I cannot compare similar rulings together in the same thread?
(I didn't know it wasn't similar)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by chile125 View Post
lmao, this is still going on?

God gave you a perfect, concise, and well versed answer. I think we should just leave it at that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri Fox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucienWolf View Post
Let's see what the "pros" say
Ni.
Key_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 04:18 PM   #16
mikeholland
Pojo Veteran
 
mikeholland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Age: 24
Posts: 3,458
iTrader: 0
mikeholland is on a distinguished road
Default

if your opponent has a shien and the other shi en on the field and you activate 1 spell that gets negated, can you activate another? yep, since you didnt breach grandmasters condition... so by this ruling alone id go with Chaos Sorcerer being able to attack once negated by ladd. the condition wouldnt be breached (assuming it is a condition, since i still have a hard time telling the diff between effect and condition)

Last edited by mikeholland : 04-20-2011 at 04:21 PM.
mikeholland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 04:20 PM   #17
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,144
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift has a spectacular aura aboutRedshift has a spectacular aura aboutRedshift has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeholland View Post
if your opponent has a shien and a grandmaster on the field and you activate 1 spell that gets negated, can you activate another? yep, since you didnt breach grandmasters condition... so by this ruling alone id go with Chaos Sorcerer being able to attack once negated by ladd. the condition wouldnt be breached (assuming it is a condition, since i still have a hard time telling the diff between effect and condition)
Shien and Grandmaster? I think you mean Shi En and Shien.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 04:21 PM   #18
mikeholland
Pojo Veteran
 
mikeholland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Age: 24
Posts: 3,458
iTrader: 0
mikeholland is on a distinguished road
Default

yup thats what i meant i keep confusing the 2100 and 2300 or something like that
mikeholland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 06:15 PM   #19
Gorby
Butt Life.
 
Gorby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: VA
Age: 23
Posts: 1,395
iTrader: 7 (100%)
Gorby is on a distinguished road
Default

Sorry to kind of hi-jack the thread, but while you're talking about Effect Veiler: does she lose to turn-player priority?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spirit_Reaper View Post
Seriously. If you are a noob and new to playing, I doubt you would be on Pojo.
Team P.E.A.C.H.

Check out Team P.E.A.C.H. on Youtube: EarthP0w3R and CVH!

Kaijudo Trades
Gorby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 06:18 PM   #20
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogond09 View Post
Sorry to kind of hi-jack the thread, but while you're talking about Effect Veiler: does she lose to turn-player priority?
How do you mean?

It looks to me you don't understand what priority is or how it actually works. I suggest reading the sticky "Read Before Posting," specifically the section on priority.

Vague and short answer: yes and no; maybe.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 06:36 PM   #21
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 25
Posts: 36,976
iTrader: 0
ness00 has a spectacular aura aboutness00 has a spectacular aura aboutness00 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Boo:

Quote:
If you activate "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning"'s first effect, and "Skill Drain" is chained to it to negate the effect, or if "Skill Drain" was active before you activated the effect, you cannot attack with "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" that turn because the activation of the effect was not negated and the condition that is included will not be negated by "Skill Drain".
You need more doses of 2004 guys.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
Well that's different. "Light and Darkness Dragon" doesn't negate effects. But as for the answer, I think not but I can't find a relevant ruling..
Yes it can. I think the Duality extraplotation with Duality should be enough. If not, I guess there's some OCG ruling floating around or something.

Either that, or deduce the opposite scenario in the BLS ruling.
__________________
ness00 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 06:37 PM   #22
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

Skill Drain negates effects. Wasn't the question about LaDD negating activation?

Edit: never mind....relevant part of the ruling:

Quote:
...because the activation of the effect was not negated and the condition that is included will not be negated by "Skill Drain".
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.

Last edited by illusionX : 04-20-2011 at 06:40 PM.
illusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 07:00 PM   #23
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 25
Posts: 36,976
iTrader: 0
ness00 has a spectacular aura aboutness00 has a spectacular aura aboutness00 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Skill Drain negates effects. Wasn't the question about LaDD negating activation?
In case anyone is still lost, I was addressing the user who requested an official ruling. And who would have thought, that ruling solves the entire thread.
__________________
ness00 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 11:32 AM   #24
HyawehHoshikawa
Siesta Madokaist
 
HyawehHoshikawa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Church of Madoka
Posts: 2,179
iTrader: 0
HyawehHoshikawa is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
If the effect of "Chaos Sorcerer" is activated (even if the effect is negated by another effect such as "Effect Veiler" or "Light and Darkness Dragon"), "Chaos Sorcerer" will not be able to attack during the turn.[1]
Shift proves how accurate his guess is again xD
at least KJF said so...
__________________
The real reason world doesn't end on 21-dec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madoka
Lol Mayan.
HyawehHoshikawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 11:41 AM   #25
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

Hmm, i think this question needs to be presented to R&D...

...LaDD doesn't negate effects
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.