Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2010, 11:31 AM   #1
Mega
The Storm Is Here!
 
Mega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 23
Posts: 7,129
iTrader: 168 (99%)
Default Necrovalley vs Monster Reborn

Quote:
Necrovalley SDMA-EN025
All "Gravekeeper's" monsters gain 500 ATK and DEF. Cards in either player's Graveyard cannot be removed from play. Cards in either player's Graveyard cannot be affected by card effects, except for their own effects.
Can a player use Monster Reborn, targeting any monster in their own graveyard, and have it resolve normally with Necrovalley in play?

Please explain why or why not. The last line of the new Necrovalley effect has been causing issues with some of our players.

Thanks!
__________________


When prayers turn to promises, not even fate can stand in your way.
Yugioh Trades
Mega is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 11:35 AM   #2
Zkaiser
Deep Sea Savior
 
Zkaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Sunshine State
Age: 24
Posts: 626
iTrader: 0
Default

Monster Reborn will resolve without effect. Necrovalley doesn't stop anyone from activating effects it just negates them. Just like you can activate Traps under Royal Decree.

Though I am unsure because I know that you can't play Smashing Ground if your opponent's only monster is Horus Lv6. Hmm...
__________________
"When what you want to do is what you have to do, you can hear the voice of the world."


*Wish Upon Us! - "Knights of the Stars" Constellar Discussion*
Zkaiser is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 11:46 AM   #3
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zkaiser View Post
Monster Reborn will resolve without effect. Necrovalley doesn't stop anyone from activating effects it just negates them. Just like you can activate Traps under Royal Decree.
Necrovalley negating is debatable and as of right now is ruled not to negate but only place an unaffected protection on the graveyard.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zkaiser View Post
Though I am unsure because I know that you can't play Smashing Ground if your opponent's only monster is Horus Lv6. Hmm...
incorrect.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.

Last edited by illusionX : 12-05-2010 at 11:50 AM.
illusionX is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 11:51 AM   #4
Mega
The Storm Is Here!
 
Mega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 23
Posts: 7,129
iTrader: 168 (99%)
Default

But, if I Monster Reborn a monster from my graveyard while Necrovalley is on the field, that is considered affecting a card in my graveyard by my effect, yes?

If so, it is a legal play and the monster should be special summoned, correct?

EDIT: Unless, the "their own effects" is being interpreted as if a card affects itself in the graveyard, it will work. Which I can understand now, and if that's the case, Monster Reborn does not work.
__________________


When prayers turn to promises, not even fate can stand in your way.
Yugioh Trades

Last edited by Mega : 12-05-2010 at 11:59 AM.
Mega is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 11:57 AM   #5
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MeGaMaRiK View Post
But, if I Monster Reborn a monster from my graveyard while Necrovalley is on the field, that is considered affecting a card in my graveyard by my effect, yes?

If so, it is a legal play and the monster should be special summoned, correct?
How are you possibly coming to that conclusion? Monster Reborn directly affects a monster in the graveyard. Necrovalley says cards cannot be affected, except by themselves. Monster Reborn does not affect itself while it is in the graveyard.
Quote:
All "Gravekeeper's" monsters gain 500 ATK and DEF. Cards in either player's Graveyard cannot be removed from play. Cards in either player's Graveyard cannot be affected by card effects, except for their own effects.
"...except for their own effects" refers to cards, not the owner or player. The text is not ambiguous.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.

Last edited by illusionX : 12-05-2010 at 12:07 PM.
illusionX is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 12:02 PM   #6
Mega
The Storm Is Here!
 
Mega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 23
Posts: 7,129
iTrader: 168 (99%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by illusionX View Post
How are you possibly coming to that conclusion? Monster Reborn directly affects a monster in the graveyard. Necrovalley says cards cannot be affected, except by themselves. Monster Reborn does not affect itself while it is in the graveyard.
I misinterpreted the effect; my main card game isn't YGO. I edited my post right before I saw yours, seems we've come to a conclusion. Monster Reborn doesn't work.

I took it from a player standpoint instead of a card standpoint, if that's understandable.

Thanks for the help.
__________________


When prayers turn to promises, not even fate can stand in your way.
Yugioh Trades
Mega is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 01:02 PM   #7
Reapex
Eats People
 
Reapex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8,436
iTrader: 0
Default

You cannot activate it.
__________________
Hi.
Reapex is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:02 PM   #8
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

Wrong .
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:12 PM   #9
Reapex
Eats People
 
Reapex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8,436
iTrader: 0
Default

You cannot activate an effect if something prevents it from resolving correctly, unless it is mandatory.
__________________
Hi.
Reapex is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:19 PM   #10
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
Default

Playing a card that cannot resolve properly upon activation is different than being unaffected or resolving without effect.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:33 PM   #11
Reapex
Eats People
 
Reapex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8,436
iTrader: 0
Default

Can you activate The Shallow Grave then?
__________________
Hi.
Reapex is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:35 PM   #12
Valafar123
Murphy's Law
 
Valafar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 19
Posts: 29,994
iTrader: 0
Default

I am now under the understanding that most of pojo is illiterate.

I ask this question: who is typing for you?
Valafar123 is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:36 PM   #13
Key_
─═╬ Δ Đ ⊙ Я ﻪ ß ╚
 
Key_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,094
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reapex View Post
Can you activate The Shallow Grave then?
Of course you can
And if you have Mystical Space Typhoon in your hand, you can chain it and destroy Necrovalley

But either Necrovalley is face up or not, you can activate it
Key_ is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:37 PM   #14
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

Yes but it will resolve without effect.

Additional Comment:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valafar123 View Post
I am now under the understanding that most of pojo is illiterate.

I ask this question: who is typing for you?
What's this about?
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.

Last edited by SkullBuster : 12-05-2010 at 02:37 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
SkullBuster is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:39 PM   #15
DarthLuigi36
porkchopsandwiches
 
DarthLuigi36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Whittier, CA
Age: 26
Posts: 2,771
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Cards in either player's Graveyard cannot be affected by card effects, except for their own effects.
This is the first time I've seen this new text so... to clarify, it essentially negates everything that affects the graveyard (Monster Reborn, Debris Dragon, Pot of Avarice), except it will NOT negate things like Treeborn Frog, Plaguespreader Zombie, Stardust Dragon's revival effect. Right?

Am I correct to assume that Colossal Fighter will be able to summon itself, but not another Warrior-type?
__________________
DarthLuigi36 is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:40 PM   #16
Valafar123
Murphy's Law
 
Valafar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 19
Posts: 29,994
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkullBuster View Post
Yes but it will resolve without effect.

Additional Comment:



What's this about?
I always thought Necrovalley's effect was straightforward.

Quote:
Cards in either player's Graveyard cannot be affected by card effects, except for their own effects.
What's not to get? Next people will be asking for rulings on Pot of Greed.
Valafar123 is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:41 PM   #17
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthLuigi36 View Post
This is the first time I've seen this new text so... to clarify, it essentially negates everything that affects the graveyard (Monster Reborn, Debris Dragon, Pot of Avarice), except it will NOT negate things like Treeborn Frog, Plaguespreader Zombie, Stardust Dragon's revival effect. Right?

Am I correct to assume that Colossal Fighter will be able to summon itself, but not another Warrior-type?
Correct.

Important: Under the new text and interpretation, Necrovalley is not considered to negate. The cards are simply unaffected.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:42 PM   #18
Valafar123
Murphy's Law
 
Valafar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 19
Posts: 29,994
iTrader: 0
Default

Why is pojo illiterate? WHY!?
Valafar123 is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:43 PM   #19
DarthLuigi36
porkchopsandwiches
 
DarthLuigi36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Whittier, CA
Age: 26
Posts: 2,771
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valafar123 View Post
Why is pojo illiterate? WHY!?
All of Pojo is actually trolling you simultaneously.
__________________
DarthLuigi36 is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:44 PM   #20
Valafar123
Murphy's Law
 
Valafar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Age: 19
Posts: 29,994
iTrader: 0
Default

That's nothing new.
Valafar123 is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 02:47 PM   #21
The Devils Avatar
TDA
 
The Devils Avatar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nowhere dignified
Posts: 3,750
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by illusionX View Post
Important: Under the new text and interpretation, Necrovalley is not considered to negate. The cards are simply unaffected.
The support cards (that affect the Graveyard, naturally) haven't received secret errata, have they? Because if Necrovalley doesn't negate, they don't work anymore. Last I checked, we can't just go making **** up, after all. Is there precedent for this situation? What do we (well, the judges, anyway) do?
The Devils Avatar is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 03:37 PM   #22
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
Default

Don't ask me. that is just how it is being ruled.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline  
Old 12-05-2010, 05:27 PM   #23
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,839
iTrader: 0
Default

Closing this.


Valafar123, stop spamming. This forum is only for ruling questions and their answers, not for your rethorical questions about the people we are helping.
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.