Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2010, 11:57 AM   #1
goose098
Pojo Veteran
 
goose098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 516
iTrader: 0
Default RDMD vs DAD

can you call Priority upon its summoning? if so why can't you call priority of DAD?
goose098 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:00 PM   #2
TopTierTakeDown
Registered User
 
TopTierTakeDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 26
Posts: 383
iTrader: 0
Default

You don't call Priority. Upon it's successful summon, you can activate Ignition or Spell Speed 2 Effects.
__________________
Why did I bother? Fail censor.
TopTierTakeDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:06 PM   #3
goose098
Pojo Veteran
 
goose098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 516
iTrader: 0
Default

if its bottomless trap holed, can I call Priority and activate RDMD's effect?
goose098 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:16 PM   #4
TopTierTakeDown
Registered User
 
TopTierTakeDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 26
Posts: 383
iTrader: 0
Default

Oops, I didn't see your title. What's RDMD?
__________________
Why did I bother? Fail censor.
TopTierTakeDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:17 PM   #5
goose098
Pojo Veteran
 
goose098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 516
iTrader: 0
Default

Red eyes darkness Metal Dragon. once per turn you can special summon a dragon from your hand or graveyard.
goose098 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:18 PM   #6
Vecrid
Einherjar
 
Vecrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,471
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goose098 View Post
can you call Priority upon its summoning? if so why can't you call priority of DAD?
you can call priority on dad, you can just only do so once to destroy one card
__________________
Founder of "R.B.O. Incorporated"
Co-Founder of "Team Colossal"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iacobus View Post
Odin may be the father of the Aesir, but you, sir, are the pilot and master of the Aesir.
Vecrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:20 PM   #7
goose098
Pojo Veteran
 
goose098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 516
iTrader: 0
Default

cause my friends said they can't do it for DAD so I can't do it for RDMD cause they both say once per turn. i was like wtfff
goose098 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:20 PM   #8
TopTierTakeDown
Registered User
 
TopTierTakeDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 26
Posts: 383
iTrader: 0
Default

Alrite. You don't call Priority, you just have the ability to activate an Ignition Effect or Spell Speed 2 Effect upon a successful summon.

Player X Summon RDMD, activate his effect
Player Y respond to the summon with BoTH
__________________
Why did I bother? Fail censor.
TopTierTakeDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:29 PM   #9
TopTierTakeDown
Registered User
 
TopTierTakeDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 26
Posts: 383
iTrader: 0
Default

Anyway for the post. I see the intentions.

You can't Special Summon Dark Armed Dragon through Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon. The text on Dark Armed Dragon is the only way you can Special Summon him, "This card cannot be Special Summoned except by,,". This is reference for monsters listed as Nomi and cannot be Special Summoned any other way.
__________________
Why did I bother? Fail censor.

Last edited by TopTierTakeDown : 11-30-2010 at 02:14 PM.
TopTierTakeDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:32 PM   #10
Vecrid
Einherjar
 
Vecrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,471
iTrader: 0
Default

people want to be correct and state "you dont call priority, you just have it" we all know that, but you can choose to pass on it and choose not to by "calling" priority as in, stating that you are not passing on it...

and there are certain cards that cannot call priority, or can without effect resolution, like Zombie Master

and some that have effects that resolve differently depending on where they resolved, like super ancient deepsea king coelicanth

Additional Comment:

Quote:
Originally Posted by TopTierTakeDown View Post
Anyway for the post. I see the intentions.

You can't Special Summon Dark Armed Dragon through Red-Eyes Darkness Metal Dragon. The text on Dark Armed Dragon is the only way you can Special Summon him, "This card cannot be Special Summoned except by,,". This is reference for monsters listed as Nomi and cannot be Special Summoned any other way.

Note, that this is different for effects resolving f your are responding to a Summon that used a Chain.

Player X activates Monster Reborn, designates Exiled Force
Player X and Y have nothing further
Resolve.
Chain Link 1 Exiled Force is Special Summoned

Here, you can't use a Ignition Effect here and can only respond to the summon at this time. When both players pass on activating any Spell Speed 2 effect at this point, Priority is now on Player X and can activate Exiled Force's effect.
how he had worded the question implied that you could call priority on rdmd eff and not on dads effect
__________________
Founder of "R.B.O. Incorporated"
Co-Founder of "Team Colossal"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iacobus View Post
Odin may be the father of the Aesir, but you, sir, are the pilot and master of the Aesir.

Last edited by Vecrid : 11-29-2010 at 12:32 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Vecrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:54 PM   #11
TopTierTakeDown
Registered User
 
TopTierTakeDown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Age: 26
Posts: 383
iTrader: 0
Default

I answered his question as general as I could, that way he wouldn't post RDMD vs Sirocho and ask the same question.
__________________
Why did I bother? Fail censor.
TopTierTakeDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 01:23 PM   #12
Valafar123
Pojo Veteran
 
Valafar123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 29,767
iTrader: 0
Default

DAD is better. Tele-DAD anybody. I've never heard of Tele-REDMD.

I'm in a quote =D
Valafar123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 01:26 PM   #13
DonPiantissimo
Pojo Veteran
 
DonPiantissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 810
iTrader: 0
Default

1) in case this is what you meant DAD is of course NOT a once per turn effect.
2) You maintain priority on both the summons of REDMD and DAD to activate an ignition effect, those being summoning a monster for REDMD and destroying a card for DAD.
3) As TopTierTakeDown mentioned DAD cannot be special summoned by REDMD being a nomi monster, but even if he could, or if you summon a monster with an ignition effect through the effect of REDMD you have upon summon priority to activate an ignition effect. Same with the Monster Reborn example, where you do maintain priority to activate a spell speed 2 or higher effect or an ignition effect, since a monster is summoned. In case of disagreement I believe that much is backed enough by the Summoner Monk summoning Rescue Cat 'ruling'.
4) your friends seem to be a bad ruling source, don't trust them on the matter. ever.

Last edited by DonPiantissimo : 11-29-2010 at 01:28 PM.
DonPiantissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 03:56 PM   #14
Skeletor
Master of Evil!
 
Skeletor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Snake Mountain, Eternia
Age: 28
Posts: 8,929
iTrader: 0
Default

Its REDMD not RDMD.
Skeletor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 04:08 PM   #15
strikemasterice
Pojo Veteran
 
strikemasterice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada (sorry!)
Posts: 5,698
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goose098 View Post
can you call Priority upon its summoning? if so why can't you call priority of DAD?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vecrid View Post
you can call priority on dad, you can just only do so once to destroy one card
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vecrid View Post
people want to be correct and state "you dont call priority, you just have it" we all know that, but you can choose to pass on it and choose not to by "calling" priority as in, stating that you are not passing on it...

and there are certain cards that cannot call priority, or can without effect resolution, like Zombie Master

and some that have effects that resolve differently depending on where they resolved, like super ancient deepsea king coelicanth
Being correct in ever aspect is what responders (should) aim for here.
One doesn't ever call priority. Let alone monsters being able to call priority. You either have it or you don't.
Saying one can call it implies you can and must do something to get it. That is incorrect. You either have it or you don't. And whether you have it or not is determined by the game: Who is turn player and/or who controls the last eff on a Chain Link?
Priority isn't some magic tool that only appears when dealing with summons and you must grab that tool. It is a fundamental aspect of the game that exists nearly all the time in a duel.
For cards like Zombie Master, it's not a matter that they can/cannot call priority. It's just that for their eff to resolve properly, they must be face-up on the field when resolving the eff. It is perfectly fine for me to use/retain priority upon my Zombie Master's successful summon by activating Zombie Master or another monster's Ignition Eff or Spelll Speed 2+ eff. Whether it will resolve or not is irrelevant.

Last edited by strikemasterice : 11-29-2010 at 04:11 PM.
strikemasterice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 04:17 PM   #16
Demetriio
Happy 2011 XD
 
Demetriio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,496
iTrader: 0
Default

simplifying what strikemasterice said:

Priority is something that is always in play

it doesnt appear at the moment you need it


______________
I know that he already stated that but people that comes in here is to lazy to read that =/
__________________
Quote:
nawo, ryo, futoshi y daisuke en ese orden Xd
Yeeees they have an official youtube channel Xd
Check maximum the hormone they are good!
Retired until i get bored from what im doing right now
Demetriio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 04:23 PM   #17
goose098
Pojo Veteran
 
goose098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 516
iTrader: 0
Default

ya clearly Dark Armed can't be summoned with Red Eyes, but can you activate both of their effects if they are bottomlessed? and how many times would you be able to use Dark Armed's ability? and why can't it be done with Zombie Master?
goose098 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 04:27 PM   #18
Demetriio
Happy 2011 XD
 
Demetriio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,496
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goose098 View Post
ya clearly Dark Armed can't be summoned with Red Eyes, but can you activate both of their effects if they are bottomlessed? and how many times would you be able to use Dark Armed's ability? and why can't it be done with Zombie Master?
you can activate the effect of Dark Armed Dragon/redmd at the time you summon one of them and then your opponent can chain bottomless

You cannot chain a ignition effect to a trap card or to another ignition effect(this respond to dad question)

And for Zombie Master it has a ruling saying that he needs to be face up in the field at the resolution of his effect
for the resolution you need the activation obviously
Quote:
If you activate "Zombie Master" effect, and an effect is chained that removes "Zombie Master" from the field or flips it face-down, the effect disappears and you cannot Special Summon the targeted monster
__________________
Quote:
nawo, ryo, futoshi y daisuke en ese orden Xd
Yeeees they have an official youtube channel Xd
Check maximum the hormone they are good!
Retired until i get bored from what im doing right now

Last edited by Demetriio : 11-29-2010 at 04:55 PM.
Demetriio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 04:49 PM   #19
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 44,210
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goose098 View Post
ya clearly Dark Armed can't be summoned with Red Eyes, but can you activate both of their effects if they are bottomlessed? and how many times would you be able to use Dark Armed's ability? and why can't it be done with Zombie Master?
You can still activate "Zombie Master"'s effect before they use "Bottomless Trap Hole".
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 68

RC-1 & PC-1 Certified, Konami Judge Program Member (judged 5 YCS events, 1 WCQ)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 04:51 PM   #20
Fett
Pojo Veteran
 
Fett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,405
iTrader: 7 (89%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
You can still activate "Zombie Master"'s effect before they use "Bottomless Trap Hole".
It just won't do anything except lose you a card.
__________________
Fett's Trade Thread: http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=886590
Fett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 05:00 PM   #21
goose098
Pojo Veteran
 
goose098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 516
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
You can still activate "Zombie Master"'s effect before they use "Bottomless Trap Hole".
how does your dragon format work out?
goose098 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 05:23 PM   #22
DonPiantissimo
Pojo Veteran
 
DonPiantissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 810
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goose098 View Post
ya clearly Dark Armed can't be summoned with Red Eyes, but can you activate both of their effects if they are bottomlessed? and how many times would you be able to use Dark Armed's ability? and why can't it be done with Zombie Master?
Okay, because it looks like you are asking how many times you can use DAD's effect before he is bth'd I'll clear this out. When you summon DAD you have priority to activate his effect, remove a dark and find 1 target for destruction. Then the opponent can activate bth. You cannot activate DAD's effect to destroy more than one cards before he is destroyed by Bottomless Trap Hole.

So the simple answer would be you can only destroy one card before you lose him to bottomless.
(Tried to simplify since he didn't seem to fully understand ignition effects)
DonPiantissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 06:18 PM   #23
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 44,210
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goose098 View Post
how does your dragon format work out?
My Dragon Deck? Kinda random to ask... Works lovely.

And yes, Fett, I'm aware.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 68

RC-1 & PC-1 Certified, Konami Judge Program Member (judged 5 YCS events, 1 WCQ)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 11:11 PM   #24
goose098
Pojo Veteran
 
goose098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 516
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
My Dragon Deck? Kinda random to ask... Works lovely.

And yes, Fett, I'm aware.
because everyone tells me 2 Prime Material Dragons are too much. i say helll no!
goose098 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.