Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh Newbie Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2010, 10:35 AM   #1
GRIMLOCK
Ace of Dark World
 
GRIMLOCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DARK WORLD
Posts: 777
iTrader: 0
Default Double Sleeves??

Hi Just like to ask regarding sanctioned tournaments in the US,

1st time joining them, are we allowed to double sleeve our cards,

like the 1st inner sleeves are the one's with design, can we use those holo sleeves with cool designs?? or they only allow PLAIN colored sleeves without design??

while the outer sleeve is a thick transparent card protector/sleeve just like those ultra pros??

Up to how many sleeves can we put on a yugioh card, saw a video online where a player in Japan, just placed 5 sleeves on his card, all transparent except one

Any help would be great to start off my dueling Career, Thanks!!

Last edited by GRIMLOCK : 10-07-2010 at 11:13 AM.
GRIMLOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 10:45 AM   #2
Hoix
Registered User
 
Hoix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 86
iTrader: 0
Default

No, you're not allowed to.
Hoix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 11:06 AM   #3
GRIMLOCK
Ace of Dark World
 
GRIMLOCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DARK WORLD
Posts: 777
iTrader: 0
Default

Why is that?

I been browsing the official Guideline here,
http://www.yugioh-card.com/en/gamepl...%2007Jul10.pdf

and nothing was mentioned regarding the number of sleeves....

additional question regarding this part?

Sleeves with highly reflective backs are not allowed.

are Konami Sleeves from Japan allowed , since they do have those holo backgrounds like Yubel, stardust and every other cover card,

Thanks!
GRIMLOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 11:08 AM   #4
DominicanPapi
Dragon Lover
 
DominicanPapi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Jersey
Age: 25
Posts: 2,149
iTrader: 26 (100%)
Default

It not allow cause it might be an advantage or as we call it cheating.

The only thing you can double sleeve is your synchros that it.
DominicanPapi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 11:15 AM   #5
GRIMLOCK
Ace of Dark World
 
GRIMLOCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DARK WORLD
Posts: 777
iTrader: 0
Default

Interesting....so double sleeving the main and side deck is considered cheating??

I just don't get the logic behind it? Care to explain further?

since if all of the transaparent 2nd sleeves I use are unmarked and follows the complete guidelines in the pdf file,

how can that be cheating considering every card looks the same??

does the rule hold true regardless if it's a small or big tournament??

Thanks!

Last edited by GRIMLOCK : 10-07-2010 at 11:26 AM.
GRIMLOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 12:02 PM   #6
Rekuso
Bakuso
 
Rekuso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 5,388
iTrader: 56 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DARKWORLDEXPERT View Post
I just don't get the logic behind it? Care to explain further?

since if all of the transaparent 2nd sleeves I use are unmarked and follows the complete guidelines in the pdf file,

how can that be cheating considering every card looks the same??

does the rule hold true regardless if it's a small or big tournament??

Thanks!
Because the deck is bigger with 2 sleeves per card. If you have 35 cards, it might possibly look like you have 40 cards (just an example).

It doesn't matter if the sleeves you use for double-sleeving are marked/unmarked, it makes the deck seems bigger than normal, and Judges will most likely have to check the deck if its 40+; but that wastes time, so Konami decided to not allow double-sleeving (excluding the Extra Deck at times).

I'm not so sure about the Extra Deck, I think some judges don't mind, but some do, so you definitely gotta ask if you want to DS your Extra Deck.

Just double-sleeve your Extra Deck if you really want to try it out.

It's true for any official Konami affiliated tournament.
For your local store, I don't know. You gotta ask the owner if he allows it or not.
__________________
3x Nurse Reficule the Fallen One
FOR SALE


http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread...2#post29622672

Last edited by Rekuso : 10-07-2010 at 12:04 PM.
Rekuso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 11:36 PM   #7
GRIMLOCK
Ace of Dark World
 
GRIMLOCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DARK WORLD
Posts: 777
iTrader: 0
Default

I see thanks for the explanation,

kinda bad for the cards with it only having single sleeves.....

looks like I need to adjust a little since im used to using double sleeves
GRIMLOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 08:06 AM   #8
sharul
Stun Muffin
 
sharul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 908
iTrader: 5 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DARKWORLDEXPERT View Post
I see thanks for the explanation,

kinda bad for the cards with it only having single sleeves.....

looks like I need to adjust a little since im used to using double sleeves
That wastes money, and just find some the Appropriate size
__________________
“You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else.”
- Albert Einstein
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelegendarycory View Post
Sharul is my hero.
sharul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 08:14 AM   #9
GRIMLOCK
Ace of Dark World
 
GRIMLOCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DARK WORLD
Posts: 777
iTrader: 0
Default

You mean double sleeving??

I would willingly spend money to protect my cards with an extra sleeves, heck it will only cost you around 2-5 dollars for that extra protection,

but since it's a konami rule, sadly I need to comply
GRIMLOCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.