Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2010, 08:14 PM   #1
AzureKiryu
Registered User
 
AzureKiryu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Club Ibuki
Posts: 314
iTrader: 0
AzureKiryu is on a distinguished road
Default Red Dragon Archfiend Rulings

Hello good people at pojo. A issue came upon me and i must solve it. i am assured the person who it involves might stumble upon this thread (you know who you are)

First :
A) What are the statuses of RDA's two effects (EX: Trigger, continuous, etc)

second:
The issue involved this scenario
Player A: RDA KILL YOU
Player B: Okie
PLayer A: RDA EFFACT NOW
Player B: OKIE! Book of Moon FOR YOU!
Player A: What?
Player B: Now, at your end phase, Red Dragon Archfiends second effect happens. Since you used the first effect, the second effect must happen now because its a cost now. And since Red Dragon Archfiend is no longer Red Dragon Archfiend because its face down, it gets destroyed too.
Player A: O_O


so yea. Legit play?
AzureKiryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 08:20 PM   #2
The Devils Avatar
TDA
 
The Devils Avatar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Nowhere dignified
Posts: 3,750
iTrader: 0
The Devils Avatar is on a distinguished road
Default

Red Dragon Archfiend has two mandatory Trigger Effects. They're entirely separate from one another. You cannot activate Book of Moon during the Damage Step, so you cannot Chain it to the first effect, not that it would do much in that case. The second effect activates whether you attacked or not, and it doesn't have any costs, though it does require the Red Dragon Archfiend to be face-up during the End Phase. It won't destroy that same Red Dragon Archfiend no matter what happens, though, whether it didn't attack or is flipped face-down in Chain.

I hope that can answer your question. There's quite a lot wrong with what you wrote.

Last edited by The Devils Avatar : 09-30-2010 at 08:22 PM.
The Devils Avatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 08:46 PM   #3
AzureKiryu
Registered User
 
AzureKiryu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Club Ibuki
Posts: 314
iTrader: 0
AzureKiryu is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Devils Avatar View Post
Red Dragon Archfiend has two mandatory Trigger Effects. They're entirely separate from one another. You cannot activate Book of Moon during the Damage Step, so you cannot Chain it to the first effect, not that it would do much in that case. The second effect activates whether you attacked or not, and it doesn't have any costs, though it does require the Red Dragon Archfiend to be face-up during the End Phase. It won't destroy that same Red Dragon Archfiend no matter what happens, though, whether it didn't attack or is flipped face-down in Chain.

I hope that can answer your question. There's quite a lot wrong with what you wrote.
Im sorry for the lots of wrong in the question. Lol
anyways i say this cause one of my friends had this happen to him today. and the one who did the wrong was soo...hard pressed that he was right *everything i typed was the actually what he said *
so yea. thank you

Additional Comment:

last question. has there been any rulings on a scenario like this before?
Because now Person B Is soo sure of himself that we now have a wager on this xD

Last edited by AzureKiryu : 09-30-2010 at 08:46 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
AzureKiryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 09:43 PM   #4
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,805
iTrader: 114 (100%)
SCtheOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AzureKiryu View Post
Im sorry for the lots of wrong in the question. Lol
anyways i say this cause one of my friends had this happen to him today. and the one who did the wrong was soo...hard pressed that he was right *everything i typed was the actually what he said *
so yea. thank you

Additional Comment:

last question. has there been any rulings on a scenario like this before?
Because now Person B Is soo sure of himself that we now have a wager on this xD
... there cannot be rulings on common knowledge.

You CANNOT activate Book of Moon during the damage step. Period. End of story. When does RDA's first effect trigger? Obviously the damage step, specifically at the beginning of the 5th substep.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 09:45 PM   #5
AzureKiryu
Registered User
 
AzureKiryu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Club Ibuki
Posts: 314
iTrader: 0
AzureKiryu is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCtheOnly View Post
... there cannot be rulings on common knowledge.

You CANNOT activate Book of Moon during the damage step. Period. End of story. When does RDA's first effect trigger? Obviously the damage step, specifically at the beginning of the 5th substep.
Understood. The argument now lies on his second effect. He is still adamant (he is actually with me at the moment and is ....... whining about it) that if the first effect triggers, the second MUST trigger too regardless about it. His reasoning is that a judge had called that on him when his RDA was booked and was killed by its second effect. so yeah. Any help to shut this guy up and possibly getting me a tin would be awesome
AzureKiryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 09:53 PM   #6
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,805
iTrader: 114 (100%)
SCtheOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AzureKiryu View Post
Understood. The argument now lies on his second effect. He is still adamant (he is actually with me at the moment and is ....... whining about it) that if the first effect triggers, the second MUST trigger too regardless about it. His reasoning is that a judge had called that on him when his RDA was booked and was killed by its second effect. so yeah. Any help to shut this guy up and possibly getting me a tin would be awesome
Alright. Sure. Let me explain this to you.

If this card attacks a Defense Position monster your opponent controls, destroy all Defense Position monsters your opponent controls after damage calculation. During your End Phase, destroy all other monsters you control that did not declare an attack this turn.

The italicized is RDA's text. This is RDA's 2nd effect. Down below.

During your End Phase, destroy all other monsters you control that did not declare an attack this turn.

Firstly, there is no possible way that this effect can be misconstrued to have anything to do with the first effect. Regardless of what you did with RDA, as long as its face up on your field, its effect activates once during your end phase, and it destroys all OTHER monsters you control.

Secondly, there are only like 2 monsters in this game that can activate their effect while they are face down. RDA does not magically break game mechanics and activate if its face down.

Thirdly, RDA destroys all OTHER monsters. If you chain Book of Moon to RDA's effect and flip it face down, it isn't an RDA anymore. But it is still this monster.

Finally, your judge was wrong.

Any questions?
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 09:55 PM   #7
AzureKiryu
Registered User
 
AzureKiryu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Club Ibuki
Posts: 314
iTrader: 0
AzureKiryu is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCtheOnly View Post
Alright. Sure. Let me explain this to you.

If this card attacks a Defense Position monster your opponent controls, destroy all Defense Position monsters your opponent controls after damage calculation. During your End Phase, destroy all other monsters you control that did not declare an attack this turn.

The italicized is RDA's text. This is RDA's 2nd effect. Down below.

During your End Phase, destroy all other monsters you control that did not declare an attack this turn.

Firstly, there is no possible way that this effect can be misconstrued to have anything to do with the first effect. Regardless of what you did with RDA, as long as its face up on your field, its effect activates once during your end phase, and it destroys all OTHER monsters you control.

Secondly, there are only like 2 monsters in this game that can activate their effect while they are face down. RDA does not magically break game mechanics and activate if its face down.

Thirdly, RDA destroys all OTHER monsters. If you chain Book of Moon to RDA's effect and flip it face down, it isn't an RDA anymore. But it is still this monster.

Finally, your judge was wrong.

Any questions?
yes. if i do get a tin out of this, will you please bear my children?
AzureKiryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 09:59 PM   #8
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,805
iTrader: 114 (100%)
SCtheOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AzureKiryu View Post
yes. if i do get a tin out of this, will you please bear my children?
If you are an attractive female ghost to my liking and have a wholesome personality, maybe. But probably not.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 10:02 PM   #9
AzureKiryu
Registered User
 
AzureKiryu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Club Ibuki
Posts: 314
iTrader: 0
AzureKiryu is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCtheOnly View Post
If you are an attractive female ghost to my liking and have a wholesome personality, maybe. But probably not.
so in other words, ima go have a sex change then kill myself lol
AzureKiryu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2010, 10:11 PM   #10
StarScream
Metal Fur
 
StarScream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: currently movin
Posts: 2,188
iTrader: 0
StarScream is on a distinguished road
Default

LOL oh gods I think I just died laughing.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoBFCanti about Chaos Hunter View Post
Oh and 2500 atk says "Hold the **** up Stardust, check out my thighs and *******. You haven't seen these in the TCG before have you?"
StarScream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 12:33 AM   #11
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 29
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
perzeus is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AzureKiryu View Post
so in other words, ima go have a sex change then kill myself lol
Or the other way around, what if your ghost comes back as a dude again?
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 04:26 AM   #12
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,805
iTrader: 114 (100%)
SCtheOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

Perzeus is right. And you would come back as a dude if you became a ghost.

Suicide also doesn't guarantee you turning into a ghost.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.