Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2010, 10:07 AM   #1
Blak Avenge
Registered User
 
Blak Avenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 237
iTrader: 0
Question malefic Stardust dragon vs. Skill drain

Malefic Stardust Dragon

DARK 2500/2000
Dragon/Effect
This card cannot be normal summoned or set. This card cannot be special summoned, Except by removing one "stardust Dragon" from your extra deck. There can only be one face up "malefic" monster n the field. Field spell cards cannot be destroyed by effects. Other monsters you control cannot declare an attack. If there is no face up field spell card on the field, destroy this card.

Skill Drain
Trap/Continuous

Pay 1000 Life points. The effects of all face up effect monsters are negated.



SO<,,,............................................ ...

Scenario one: you have no field spell
can you special summon malefic , chain Skill Drain to its effect, and its not destroyed?

Scenario two:malefic is on field with field spell+skill drain

Can you summon another Malefic from your hand, due to the fact that the one on the field is negated?

scenario 3: malefic on field+field spell+skill drain+ 1 other monster

Can you attack with your other monsters?


thanks, I need these answers before i try and make a deck that wont work
__________________
its not blak average. jesus its AVENGE

top 8 US video game championship 2009
Qualified US nationals 2009
qualified us nationals 2010
Blak Avenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 10:29 AM   #2
Space Mambo #5
Retired?
 
Space Mambo #5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5,443
iTrader: 1 (67%)
Default

1. I believe its destroying of itself is a condition, not an effect. I can't guarantee it, but I think it would be destroyed.

2. No, that one's definitely a condition.

3. Yes.
Space Mambo #5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 10:31 AM   #3
Imperialdramon
Pojo Veteran
 
Imperialdramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,097
iTrader: 0
Default

Wiki says #1 and #3 are negated but we know how reliable that is.
__________________
Imperialdramon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 10:37 AM   #4
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,776
iTrader: 114 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blak Avenge View Post
Malefic Stardust Dragon

DARK 2500/2000
Dragon/Effect
This card cannot be normal summoned or set. This card cannot be special summoned, Except by removing one "stardust Dragon" from your extra deck. There can only be one face up "malefic" monster n the field. Field spell cards cannot be destroyed by effects. Other monsters you control cannot declare an attack. If there is no face up field spell card on the field, destroy this card.

Skill Drain
Trap/Continuous

Pay 1000 Life points. The effects of all face up effect monsters are negated.



SO<,,,............................................ ...

Scenario one: you have no field spell
can you special summon malefic , chain Skill Drain to its effect, and its not destroyed?

Scenario two:malefic is on field with field spell+skill drain

Can you summon another Malefic from your hand, due to the fact that the one on the field is negated?

scenario 3: malefic on field+field spell+skill drain+ 1 other monster

Can you attack with your other monsters?


thanks, I need these answers before i try and make a deck that wont work
1) Malefic's effect that destroys itself if there is no field card on the field does not start a chain. Malefic would be destroyed before you got a chance to activate Skill Drain.

2) That is a condition. The condition of the Malefic in your hand is still applied.

3) Yes you can. That effect is negated.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 12:42 PM   #5
Blak Avenge
Registered User
 
Blak Avenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 237
iTrader: 0
Default

kthanks guys
__________________
its not blak average. jesus its AVENGE

top 8 US video game championship 2009
Qualified US nationals 2009
qualified us nationals 2010
Blak Avenge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:56 PM   #6
lightswornforever
Registered User
 
lightswornforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 117
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

what if Skill Drain is active and there's no field spell then can you special summon him?
lightswornforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 04:58 PM   #7
DonPiantissimo
Pojo Veteran
 
DonPiantissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 810
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lightswornforever View Post
what if Skill Drain is active and there's no field spell then can you special summon him?
Yes, so long as there is no other malefic on the field.
You could special summon it even without Skill Drain, it would just be destroyed then.
DonPiantissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:20 AM   #8
lightswornforever
Registered User
 
lightswornforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 117
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonPiantissimo View Post
Yes, so long as there is no other malefic on the field.
You could special summon it even without Skill Drain, it would just be destroyed then.
ok but would it stay alive if Skill Drain was on the field?
lightswornforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 06:25 AM   #9
DonPiantissimo
Pojo Veteran
 
DonPiantissimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 810
iTrader: 0
Default

Yes
/10char
DonPiantissimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 07:07 AM   #10
lightswornforever
Registered User
 
lightswornforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 117
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonPiantissimo View Post
Yes
/10char
cool thanks
lightswornforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:20 AM   #11
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 44,181
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCtheOnly View Post
2) That is a condition. The condition of the Malefic in your hand is still applied.
It's not a condition. "Skill Drain" negates it. But that won't change the outcome, of course.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 68

RC-1 & PC-1 Certified, Konami Judge Program Member (judged 5 YCS events, 1 WCQ)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 09:49 PM   #12
The_Snowy_Owl
In Tarja's Embrace
 
The_Snowy_Owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Valley of Blood
Age: 28
Posts: 9,341
iTrader: 113 (98%)
Default

Even with "Skill Drain" active, only "Malefic Parallel Gear" and "Malefic Paradox Dragon" can be played, since they don't have the clause of only controling one "Malefic" monster. Because "Skill Drain" can't negate what's in your Hand.
__________________
The_Snowy_Owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 02:50 PM   #13
JHendo812
Herp Derp Scoop
 
JHendo812's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Wiz's Pro Blunt Roller
Age: 22
Posts: 10,264
iTrader: 0
Default

so how does a malfelic monster vs Skill Drain work? so i have drain up what happens? can u special one out like m cyber end?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by spottysn1per View Post
God I remember that it took like 10 people to persuade you the card was ass!
JHendo812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 03:29 PM   #14
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 44,181
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Hendo View Post
so how does a malfelic monster vs Skill Drain work? so i have drain up what happens? can u special one out like m cyber end?
You skipped right past every single post above yours, didn't you?
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 68

RC-1 & PC-1 Certified, Konami Judge Program Member (judged 5 YCS events, 1 WCQ)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 08:41 AM   #15
frankieamb
Pojo Veteran
 
frankieamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,326
iTrader: 0
Default

What happens if Skill Drain is removed while you have a Malfelic on the field?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by purity_reloaded
"My opponent had a seizure - I win, right?"
frankieamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 08:43 AM   #16
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 28
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankieamb View Post
What happens if Skill Drain is removed while you have a Malfelic on the field?
Their effects start working.

Be more specific, there was more than 1 scenario discussed here.
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978

Last edited by perzeus : 03-07-2011 at 09:18 AM.
perzeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:04 AM   #17
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 44,181
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by perzeus View Post
Their effects cease working.
I like the word 'start' over 'cease'.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 68

RC-1 & PC-1 Certified, Konami Judge Program Member (judged 5 YCS events, 1 WCQ)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:17 AM   #18
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 28
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post

I like the word 'start' over 'cease'.
Sounds good.
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:29 AM   #19
frankieamb
Pojo Veteran
 
frankieamb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,326
iTrader: 0
Default

Unlike Beast King,Who would keep the boost in attack,Would Other monsters be able to attack,and if there is no spell card would Malfeic be destroyed?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by purity_reloaded
"My opponent had a seizure - I win, right?"
frankieamb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:34 AM   #20
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,776
iTrader: 114 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankieamb View Post
Unlike Beast King,Who would keep the boost in attack,Would Other monsters be able to attack,and if there is no spell card would Malfeic be destroyed?
Read the posts in the thread carefully.

Additional Comment:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
It's not a condition. "Skill Drain" negates it. But that won't change the outcome, of course.
It was described slightly differently at the time of my post, IIRC since it is very unusual for a monster to have a continuous effect in the hand.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto

Last edited by SCtheOnly : 03-07-2011 at 09:34 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:40 AM   #21
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 44,181
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

If it were really a condition, you couldn't have two face-up no matter what unless you changed their names. But "Skill Drain" and "Book of Moon" shenanigans do allow multiple "Malefic" monsters with the highlander clause to exist on the field.

As for Continuous Effects in the hand, they are unusual but not unheard of (Fusion Material substitutes).
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 68

RC-1 & PC-1 Certified, Konami Judge Program Member (judged 5 YCS events, 1 WCQ)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:38 PM   #22
The_Snowy_Owl
In Tarja's Embrace
 
The_Snowy_Owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Valley of Blood
Age: 28
Posts: 9,341
iTrader: 113 (98%)
Default

Quick question:

I know that even with "Skill Drain" active, I can't summon a "Malefic" monster from my Hand, except for "Malefic Parallel Gear", but what about from the Graveyard? (In the case of "Malefic" monsters that are not considered "nomis")
__________________
The_Snowy_Owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 12:53 PM   #23
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
Default

The highlander clause applies in all places.
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 03:18 PM   #24
The_Snowy_Owl
In Tarja's Embrace
 
The_Snowy_Owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Valley of Blood
Age: 28
Posts: 9,341
iTrader: 113 (98%)
Default

I thought so, but need to make sure, in case it comes up. Thanks :-)
__________________
The_Snowy_Owl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.