Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2010, 04:35 AM   #1
risingSUN
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,310
iTrader: 24 (100%)
Default Can an Exodia victory be declared on your opponents turn?

Just wondering
risingSUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 04:45 AM   #2
Ridders
Go to bed.
 
Ridders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Wales
Posts: 13,789
iTrader: 22 (100%)
Default

If you use an effect to draw and get all 5 pieces in your hand (example - Reckless Greed) then yes, you declare it immediately.
__________________

Ridders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:42 PM   #3
Harleequin
D.D. Deity
 
Harleequin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Green Hill Zone
Age: 21
Posts: 555
iTrader: 0
Default

Yes you can. Exodia's Head is a quick play monster card, which allows it to be used on their turn, and its special effect just makes you have to declare it, meaning you could use it whenever. I usually let them pretend they can do something for a bit just to mess with them, then go, oh btw I win

Additional Comment:

Continuous effect that activates from the hand*

Last edited by Harleequin : 03-03-2010 at 12:42 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Harleequin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:46 PM   #4
Ridders
Go to bed.
 
Ridders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Wales
Posts: 13,789
iTrader: 22 (100%)
Default

Exodia has no effect.

What it does have is a Win Condition.
__________________

Ridders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:47 PM   #5
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,636
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaelocolypse View Post
Yes you can. Exodia's Head is a quick play monster card, which allows it to be used on their turn, and its special effect just makes you have to declare it, meaning you could use it whenever. I usually let them pretend they can do something for a bit just to mess with them, then go, oh btw I win
That's a lovely, illegal move. You must declare victory as soon you have the 5 pieces in your hand and whatever other effect finishes resolving.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 02:49 PM   #6
The_Silent
HKTK
 
The_Silent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Recycle Bin
Posts: 540
iTrader: 0
Default

win conditions are spell speed 4. You claim victory even if a chain is being conducted. Also, holding a victory condition card, knowing you have that condition met and not declaring it is an illegal move and can end in a game loss if you have a stiff judge. Though what throws me off is if, somehow, both players met the condition at once(such as an unrealistic example being a morphing jar flip leading both players to draw all 5 pieces of exodia). I'm assuming turn player wins do to priority.
__________________
I miss ArcticPenguin; Rinny got me posting here in the first place.

Last edited by The_Silent : 03-03-2010 at 02:51 PM.
The_Silent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 02:55 PM   #7
Ridders
Go to bed.
 
Ridders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Wales
Posts: 13,789
iTrader: 22 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Silent View Post
win conditions are spell speed 4.
Spell Speed 4 doesn't exist.

Quote:
You claim victory even if a chain is being conducted.
This be true, when a win condition is met, even in the middle of a chain. That's it, and the chain doesn't get to end.

But it can't do so in the middle of a card effect, have to resolve it fully then check if a win condition is still met.


Quote:
Though what throws me off is if, somehow, both players met the condition at once(such as an unrealistic example being a morphing jar flip leading both players to draw all 5 pieces of exodia). I'm assuming turn player wins do to priority.
Priority deals with effects.

If both players fulfil a win condition at the same time (Such as both drawing into the last piece of Exodia) then it'll count as a draw.
__________________

Ridders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 03:03 PM   #8
The_Silent
HKTK
 
The_Silent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Recycle Bin
Posts: 540
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicker Ridders View Post
Spell Speed 4 doesn't exist.

Exactly, but I cannot think of another way to put it

This be true, when a win condition is met, even in the middle of a chain. That's it, and the chain doesn't get to end.

But it can't do so in the middle of a card effect, have to resolve it fully then check if a win condition is still met.

oh, didn't know that. *the more you know banner flies overhead*




Priority deals with effects.

If both players fulfil a win condition at the same time (Such as both drawing into the last piece of Exodia) then it'll count as a draw.
ok, glad that troubling Q' is finally out of my head

reply in bold. 10 char cream filling.
__________________
I miss ArcticPenguin; Rinny got me posting here in the first place.
The_Silent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 03:14 PM   #9
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,636
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Silent View Post
Exactly, but I cannot think of another way to put it
It's a win condition. Spell Speed involves chains. It can't be negated by anything, or stopped by "Prohibition" declaring "Exodia the Forbidden One", or chained to, etc.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 06:18 PM   #10
NowBounce
Registered User
 
NowBounce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 120
iTrader: 0
Default

Is it possible to divine wrath/war chariot exodias effect?
NowBounce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 06:19 PM   #11
strikemasterice
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,701
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NowBounce View Post
Is it possible to divine wrath/war chariot exodias effect?
It is not possible to Divine Wrath/Chariot something that is not an effect.
The text on Exodia is a win condition.
strikemasterice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 06:37 PM   #12
HomeTutorReborn
The Hitman Vet
 
HomeTutorReborn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Vongola Base
Posts: 1,220
iTrader: 22 (100%)
Default

yes having exodia in your hand is a win condition
__________________
Trades:
YGO:http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=930630

Naruto (Quiting)
http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread...1#post19136211



Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatKidThere View Post
I'm like Yugi. I keep my deck in my pocket all the time. Unsleeved.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackwing888 View Post
i have a Mokey Mokey tattoo
HomeTutorReborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.