Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2010, 09:02 AM   #1
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default Battle Fader vs Skill Drain (RQ V29.00)

Counting threads is fun!!
TWENTY-NINE Random Question Threads! Ha-ha-ha-ha-ha! *thunder*

OKAY!

I decided to post here since people in these parts reply fast.
For those who are not familiar of Battle Fader:
http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Battle_Fader

If you use its effect with an active Skill Drain on the Field, would there still be a Battle Phase?

I already have a stand, just wanted some second opinion, or if there are Japanese Wiki rulings on it (I keep forgetting where they're found), you can post so here.

I think the application of the "end the Battle Phase" and the Summon are done simultaneously, so there's nothing more for Skill Drain to negate on Fader when it touches the Field.

What do you guys think?
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:47 AM   #2
Anton
Metallica!!!
 
Anton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The Great White North (aka Canada)
Age: 21
Posts: 3,088
iTrader: 18 (95%)
Default

I think it wouldnt end the Battle Phase. It is in two seperate sentences, and since it states "If you SS rthis card..." It would seam to me that it wouldnt get said effect.
__________________
Anton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:48 AM   #3
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

What two separate sentences exactly? >_>

The only sentences there are:

1) When an opponent's monster declares a direct attack, you can Special Summon this card from your hand and end the Battle Phase.

2) If you Special Summon this card with this effect, this card is removed from play when it is removed from the field.

learn2readmoar?

The Japanese text also agrees with the separation of those sentences.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.

Last edited by SkullBuster : 01-11-2010 at 09:50 AM.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 10:02 AM   #4
Anton
Metallica!!!
 
Anton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: The Great White North (aka Canada)
Age: 21
Posts: 3,088
iTrader: 18 (95%)
Default

sorry, im tired. I read the first sentence as two parts. it would end the battle phase then. my bad.
__________________
Anton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 10:20 AM   #5
Elliot Gale
8Dude
 
Elliot Gale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The MGA with an Attitude
Age: 24
Posts: 22,152
iTrader: 53 (100%)
Default

It says "special summon AND...", so unless there's some odd BKSS, Skill Drain shouldn't touch it in regards to ending the Battle Phase.

What I'm concerned with is whether the second sentence is a floating condition or an effect that can be negated.
__________________
On a quest.
Elliot Gale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 10:23 AM   #6
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

I think it's a condition like Plague's and not an effect like DMoC's.

So now I'll just prolly wait for Japanese Wiki pages to support or refute these.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 11:02 AM   #7
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,831
iTrader: 0
Default

From the Official OCG FAQ:

Quote:
The effect of "Battle Fader" which Special Summons it and the effect which ends the Battle Phase are resolved as the same effect. The effect activates in the hand, so the effects of "Skill Drain" and "Light-Imprisoning Mirror" will not negate the effect even though "Battle Fader" is Special Summoned, so the effect which ends the Battle Phase will still be applied.
You could say its similar to Goku En's damage.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 11:18 AM   #8
Elliot Gale
8Dude
 
Elliot Gale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The MGA with an Attitude
Age: 24
Posts: 22,152
iTrader: 53 (100%)
Default

Light-Imprisoning Mirror. Pro typo.
__________________
On a quest.
Elliot Gale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 11:26 AM   #9
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,831
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elliot Gale View Post
Light-Imprisoning Mirror. Pro typo.
Lol. At least it's correct.

Well, yes, the official ruling actually reads "Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror", of course (or "the mirror which sucks darkness" >_>!).
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.