Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2010, 04:32 PM   #1
lastdinosaur17
Learning the Ropes
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Age: 24
Posts: 15
iTrader: 0
lastdinosaur17 is on a distinguished road
Default Is it possible to special summon in Face-Down defense?

Hi. My friend has a Magical Exemplar and he uses it to get Old Vindictive Magician back from the graveyard to the field.

My question is, is he allowed to use Magical Exemplar's effect to special summon old vindictive in face-down defense? Is it even possible to special summon at all in Face Down defense?

Secondly, IF it is possible to special summon in face down defense, are you allowed to flip summon the same turn that you special summon something face down?

I read on Yuigoh Wiki that Special summons can be conducted in either face up attack or defense, but it wasn't specific.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
lastdinosaur17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:36 PM   #2
Minato Namikaze
Haters Gonna Hate
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,981
iTrader: 24 (96%)
Minato Namikaze is on a distinguished road
Default

you have the choice to special summon it either Face-up Attack or Face-Up Defense unless stated otherwise by the card (ex. Mystic Tomato)

Certain cards can allow you to special summon in Face-Down Defense and the only two I can think of off the top of my head are The Shallow Grave and Apprentice Magician.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by siccoro da don View Post
FTK's are stupid. If you wanna play with yourself, just masturbate.
Minato Namikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:37 PM   #3
lastdinosaur17
Learning the Ropes
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Age: 24
Posts: 15
iTrader: 0
lastdinosaur17 is on a distinguished road
Default

Oh also, are you allowed to Flip Summon more than once per turn? Say, if I have two Old Vindictive Magicians out on the field that are in face-down that I played last turn, can I flip summon BOTH of them or is it restricted to one?

Because I read that, though flip summons are not normal summons, it is a manual position change which is limited to one monster per turn.
lastdinosaur17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:40 PM   #4
Minato Namikaze
Haters Gonna Hate
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,981
iTrader: 24 (96%)
Minato Namikaze is on a distinguished road
Default

If you are capable of flipping of more then one monster on the field, then you are allowed to do so.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by siccoro da don View Post
FTK's are stupid. If you wanna play with yourself, just masturbate.
Minato Namikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:41 PM   #5
lastdinosaur17
Learning the Ropes
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Age: 24
Posts: 15
iTrader: 0
lastdinosaur17 is on a distinguished road
Default

So you ARE allowed to flip summon more than once per turn?
lastdinosaur17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:45 PM   #6
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 25
Posts: 36,959
iTrader: 0
ness00 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lastdinosaur17 View Post
So you ARE allowed to flip summon more than once per turn?
You can Flip Summon any number of monsters.

But also, you are correct in your assumption: You cannot Flip Summon the same monster more than once during the same turn, as you would be trying to modify its battle position more than once manually, which is not possible.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:47 PM   #7
lastdinosaur17
Learning the Ropes
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Age: 24
Posts: 15
iTrader: 0
lastdinosaur17 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you so much for the help. I appreciate it.
lastdinosaur17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 04:47 PM   #8
Minato Namikaze
Haters Gonna Hate
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,981
iTrader: 24 (96%)
Minato Namikaze is on a distinguished road
Default

Example)

You have two face-down monsters. You choose to flip both of these monsters face up. You flip Old Vindictive Magician face-up (your first monster.) Your opponent has no response. You choose a target with his effect and let the effect resolve. You flip summon your second monster, Gravekeeper's Spy. Your opponent has no response. You let the effect resolve and special summon another Gravekeeper's Spy to the field in face-up defense.

That is perfectly legal. But you cannot change their positions unless specified by another card effect until next turn. If one of those monsters was flipped into face-down defense position by Book of Moon, you have to wait until next turn to flip it face-up if it was still in face-down defense position.


EDIT: Beaten...
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by siccoro da don View Post
FTK's are stupid. If you wanna play with yourself, just masturbate.
Minato Namikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.