Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2009, 09:53 PM   #1
TC X0 Lt 0X
The TC Storywriter
 
TC X0 Lt 0X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California
Posts: 1,738
iTrader: 0
TC X0 Lt 0X is on a distinguished road
Default Blackrose Dragon vs Bottomless Trap Hole and Book of Moon vs Gyazarus

I had this argument the other day with a player at my locals.
He played Bottomless Trap Hole against my Blackrose Dragon when I Nuked it. He said that it stopped the effect. I am pretty certain that it does not but I would prefer to confirm it.
Also, I attempted to BoM his Gyazarus on it's summon, and he said that BoM would not stop it's effect because it goes off before it's on the field. Or something. This I did not argue against as much because I don't know GLADS well or any of there rulings, but this does not sound right to me at all.
Please and Thank You.
__________________
Level 1 Certified Judge

Decks
Junk and Debris
Tragedy Ladies Wetland Frogs

A Player's Guide to Fortune Ladies



"Never beg. You earn. By Winning.
Or else you won't get anything..."
TC X0 Lt 0X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 09:59 PM   #2
JOHN three16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 189
iTrader: 0
JOHN three16 is on a distinguished road
Default

If u used priority with BRD the effect goes off and bottomless will fissle n be destroyed. Similar situation with gysarus if u use priority gysarus will choose up to two cards to be destroyed even if booked.
JOHN three16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 10:00 PM   #3
Vice
People's Person
 
Vice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago
Age: 26
Posts: 4,684
iTrader: 4 (100%)
Vice is on a distinguished road
Default

Niether book of moon or Bottomless trap hole negate effects and very few monster need to remain face up on the field for there effect to go thru.

Your opponent cheated you. BOM a Gyzarus is almost exactly the same as BTH on Black rose.
Vice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 10:03 PM   #4
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 29
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
perzeus is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TC X0 Lt 0X View Post
I had this argument the other day with a player at my locals.
He played Bottomless Trap Hole against my Blackrose Dragon when I Nuked it. He said that it stopped the effect. I am pretty certain that it does not but I would prefer to confirm it.
Also, I attempted to BoM his Gyazarus on it's summon, and he said that BoM would not stop it's effect because it goes off before it's on the field. Or something. This I did not argue against as much because I don't know GLADS well or any of there rulings, but this does not sound right to me at all.
Please and Thank You.
1.- BTH will not stop Black Rose, the monster doesn't need to remain on the field for the effect to resolve succesfully.

2.- Gyzarus activates after the summon is succesful, that means after it arrives on the field, however Book of Moon will not stop Gyzarus's effect, just like with BRD the monster doesn't has to remain on the field to destroy 2 cards.

Additional Comment:

Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHN three16 View Post
If u used priority with BRD the effect goes off and bottomless will fissle n be destroyed. Similar situation with gysarus if u use priority gysarus will choose up to two cards to be destroyed even if booked.
Priority with Trigger effects? Cards fizzling in Yugioh? BTH's effect resolving without effect?

On what kind of twisted world have i arrived now?

1.- Trigger effects have nothing to do with priority.
2.- Old issue, but fizzle is not a proper term, "resolve without effect" is the correct term.
3.- BTH will destroy and remove BRF from play.
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978

Last edited by perzeus : 09-09-2009 at 10:06 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
perzeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 10:07 PM   #5
Etna iCe
Ave Imperator
 
Etna iCe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: National Secret Deck: Something janky, I'm sure...
Posts: 4,581
iTrader: 85 (99%)
Etna iCe is on a distinguished road
Default

lalalala ignore this

Last edited by Etna iCe : 09-09-2009 at 10:14 PM.
Etna iCe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 10:10 PM   #6
seanwdragon
Registered User
 
seanwdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Orlando, Fl
Age: 31
Posts: 235
iTrader: 0
seanwdragon is on a distinguished road
Default

they all get to work in these listed situations
seanwdragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 10:11 PM   #7
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 29
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
perzeus is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Etna iCe View Post
Umm... I'm pretty sure Gyzarus is like Mobius or Celestia, where if you chain book the opponent can select at least 1 card if they use the effect but they won't get to kill a second one.
That's incorrect, why would it work like that? That would break at least 3 rules in the game (chaining, resolution and targetting).

With Mobius, Celestia, Gyzarus and any other monster you activate the effect, choose your targets and your opponent then can chain something to the effect, when the effect resolves you will destroy the selected cards.
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009, 10:14 PM   #8
Etna iCe
Ave Imperator
 
Etna iCe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: National Secret Deck: Something janky, I'm sure...
Posts: 4,581
iTrader: 85 (99%)
Etna iCe is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by perzeus View Post
That's incorrect, why would it work like that? That would break at least 3 rules in the game (chaining, resolution and targetting).

With Mobius, Celestia, Gyzarus and any other monster you activate the effect, choose your targets and your opponent then can chain something to the effect, when the effect resolves you will destroy the selected cards.
You're right dunno what I was thinking.
Etna iCe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.