Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2009, 12:03 AM   #1
AstralTravller
Registered User
 
AstralTravller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Davis, CA.
Posts: 80
iTrader: 0
AstralTravller is on a distinguished road
Default Flip effect monster destroyed by a card effect?

Quick question: will a face-down flip effect monster be flipped face-up when destroyed by a card effect (i.e. Granmarg, Zaborg, torrential tribute, ryko, etc.)? Will the flip effect activate?

Last edited by AstralTravller : 05-16-2009 at 12:23 AM.
AstralTravller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 12:05 AM   #2
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 25
Posts: 36,995
iTrader: 0
ness00 has a spectacular aura aboutness00 has a spectacular aura aboutness00 has a spectacular aura about
Default

In most cases, the effect will simply destroy the monster while it is still face-down.

Also, note that Offerings can't destroy face-down monsters.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 12:05 AM   #3
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,836
iTrader: 115 (100%)
SCtheOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

If the monster is not flipped, it's effect will not activate. None of the cards you listed will trigger flip effects.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 04:26 AM   #4
Fluffanator7777
SUPREME VICTORY!!!
 
Fluffanator7777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Deflection Trajectory
Age: 27
Posts: 21,359
iTrader: 70 (99%)
Fluffanator7777 is on a distinguished road
Default

No. They aren't forced to flip face-up.
__________________


Admin for the Ministry of Evil's Heroclix Division
Fluffanator7777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 04:59 AM   #5
Nomad_Skies
Feathered Valiant
 
Nomad_Skies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Canadian West Format: Format? I have no format. I am a Renegade, lost in the net.
Age: 27
Posts: 6,794
iTrader: 0
Nomad_Skies is on a distinguished road
Default

I'd like to expand on what the other are saying, because I used to question this myself.

When a monster with a flip effect, lets say Mask Of Darkness exists face-down on the field... It needs to be "flipped face-up" before leaving the field in order to have its flip effect activated.

This means that when Mask Of Darkness is destroyed, removed, sent, returned, or otherwise moved off the field while existing face-down... That monster is not considered to be "flipped face-up" unless a card such as Acid Trap Hole specifically says that it is. Your examples of Granmarg, Zaborg, Torrential Tribute, & Ryko do not tell you to flip the monsters face-up, so they are not "flipped face-up".

If you're thinking this doesn't make any sense because your graveyard is always face-up, and that your monster such as Mask Of Darkness must be flipped in order to go there... Refer to my sentence about being flipped "before" leaving the field. If we wanna get even more exact, the word "flipped" is a technical term for Yugioh that shouldn't be confused with what happens to cards when they are visibly placed in the graveyard or "removed from game" location.

Again, I know this has already been answered by three credible people... But I just wanted to include the explanation that helped me understand what being "flipped" meant.
__________________
~ Stay true to your nomad skies...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ojama16 View Post
Welcome to Pojo.com Forums. Please leave all morals, common sense, and the knowledge of a search button at the door.
Nomad_Skies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.