Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2009, 12:43 PM   #1
`JoKeR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 179
iTrader: -1 (43%)
Default Skill Drain vs. Legendary Jujitsu Master

Quote:
Sub-step 6: Send to the Graveyard.
1. Send destroyed monsters to the Graveyard.
2. Activate effects that activate "at the end of the Damage Step" (Examples are "Legendary Jujitsu Master", "Getsu Fuhma", "Spear Dragon", and "Ryu Kokki"), as well as effects that activate when the monster is sent to the Graveyard (Examples are "Mystic Tomato" and "Sangan"). These effects form a chain and then resolve.
Since LJM activates after it is sent to the graveyard (while it is no longer face-up on the field), is it affected by Skill Drain?
`JoKeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 12:55 PM   #2
Wanboar
'less you got POWA
 
Wanboar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,860
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

no of course not
__________________
Came back to Pojo after 3 and a half years of inactivity and my average posts per day is still 1.5...
Wanboar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 12:57 PM   #3
`JoKeR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 179
iTrader: -1 (43%)
Default

So LJM will work?
`JoKeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 01:28 PM   #4
Karujin
Turkish Legend
 
Karujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Izmir, TR
Age: 22
Posts: 1,064
iTrader: 0
Default

----------------------

Last edited by Karujin : 08-15-2009 at 06:32 PM.
Karujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 01:29 PM   #5
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,781
iTrader: 114 (100%)
Default

it will if it is destroyed by battle.

Additional Comment:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sesshoumaru View Post
As long as Skill Drain is face up, it will negate ALL monster effects on the field. This includes Legendary Jujitsu Master. The reason is, his effect activates during the damage step, in Sub-Step 5. This means, you attack their face down Jujitsu Master, it get's flipped face up, damage is dealt (if any), then Jujitsu Master's effect activates, then Jujitsu Master goes to the grave if it had less defense than the attacking monster.

Since you have Skill Drain face up, Jujitsu Master's effect will be negated.
the damage step now has 7 substeps. jujitsu has always activated at the very end. (old substep 6)
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto

Last edited by SCtheOnly : 01-24-2009 at 01:29 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 01:30 PM   #6
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 29
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sesshoumaru View Post
As long as Skill Drain is face up, it will negate ALL monster effects on the field. This includes Legendary Jujitsu Master. The reason is, his effect activates during the damage step, in Sub-Step 5. This means, you attack their face down Jujitsu Master, it get's flipped face up, damage is dealt (if any), then Jujitsu Master's effect activates, then Jujitsu Master goes to the grave if it had less defense than the attacking monster.

Since you have Skill Drain face up, Jujitsu Master's effect will be negated.
Is not "all monster effects on the field" that will be negated, is "the effect of all face-up monsters on the field".

Also, if LJM is destroyed by battle, or leaves the field after battling but before it's effect resolves, it's effect won't be negated.
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 01:30 PM   #7
Karujin
Turkish Legend
 
Karujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Izmir, TR
Age: 22
Posts: 1,064
iTrader: 0
Default

I found the text I wrote up there in a forum. It seemed pretty convincing.

I didn't write that, don't tell me I am wrong. xD

I just found that somewhere. It really seems convincing idk..
Karujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 01:34 PM   #8
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 29
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
Default

Well, the Golden Rule of this forum, which you can find in the sticky, is not to answer unless you're 100% certain. You have to check your facts before posting, otherwise you can cause confusion.
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 01:34 PM   #9
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,781
iTrader: 114 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sesshoumaru View Post
I found the text I wrote up there in a forum. It seemed pretty convincing.

I didn't write that, don't tell me I am wrong. xD

I just found that somewhere. It really seems convincing idk..

finding it "somewhere" doesn't mean that it is right. There are alot of pretty convincing answers that are incorrect. And you should link to where you found the answer.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 01:49 PM   #10
Karujin
Turkish Legend
 
Karujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Izmir, TR
Age: 22
Posts: 1,064
iTrader: 0
Default

I don't remember saying it is right.

And there are a lot of people like you, who jump in when they see a wrong answer anyway. I was just giving an opinion. I had the same opinion, that is why I posted that answer in the first place. This is a forum am I mistaken? If no one can post answers before they are %100 sure, then there would be no arguments about any kind of question.
Karujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 01:55 PM   #11
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,781
iTrader: 114 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sesshoumaru View Post
As long as Skill Drain is face up, it will negate ALL monster effects on the field. This includes Legendary Jujitsu Master. The reason is, his effect activates during the damage step, in Sub-Step 5. This means, you attack their face down Jujitsu Master, it get's flipped face up, damage is dealt (if any), then Jujitsu Master's effect activates, then Jujitsu Master goes to the grave if it had less defense than the attacking monster.

Since you have Skill Drain face up, Jujitsu Master's effect will be negated.
1) I'm sorry, this doesn't seem to be opinion. You are posting this as if it were fact.

2) This is a forum, and like most forums there are rules to abide by. If you break the golden one, you will be corrected.

3) While I might not be anyone worth mentioning, Perzeus is a very important judge with alot of experience behind him. We aren't "jumping in" to make you feel bad. But if you post incorrect information here, it will be corrected asap.

4)Opinions are not rulings.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 03:08 PM   #12
Karujin
Turkish Legend
 
Karujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Izmir, TR
Age: 22
Posts: 1,064
iTrader: 0
Default

Yeah, If I felt bad, I probably wouldn't have the nerve to post another message. I only agree on the point where I should have posted a link, but I posted the message and had to take the trash out so I forgot about the link. I am not a fan of plagiarism just so you know.

If I had posted the link, everyone would know that this was not my opinion. So sorry about the "plagiarism".

Can you break the Jujitsu thing down?

The card flips, goes on to the damage step, Jujitsu destroyed (or not), and then effect activates? Am I wrong? How does Skill Drain stop it?
Karujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 03:34 PM   #13
lobbot
O.G.T.
 
lobbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tookyoo Bay 1221 (be smart, it's a code)
Posts: 7,966
iTrader: 2 (100%)
Default

Ignore this post. Was made while sleepwalking.
__________________
Quote:
"There's no such thing as a stupid question. There's, plain and simple, stupid people asking questions."
Pigs didn't start the Swine Flu!

Last edited by lobbot : 01-24-2009 at 10:00 PM.
lobbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 03:42 PM   #14
Karujin
Turkish Legend
 
Karujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Izmir, TR
Age: 22
Posts: 1,064
iTrader: 0
Default

----------------
__________________

Last edited by Karujin : 08-15-2009 at 06:33 PM.
Karujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 04:14 PM   #15
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,781
iTrader: 114 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lobbot View Post
The part you and Joker (the OP) are confusing, is JuJitsu Master is NOT a graveyard activated effect. He resolves "at the end of damage step". You don't need to send him to graveyard first to activate his effect. He is a Flip Effect monster. His effect was activated when you flipped him face up, and just will resolve later, while he is still on the field. He will be negated by Skill drain:

http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/C...ad/674223.aspx
Jujitsu is not a flip effect monster. It has been clarified by the damage step chart that we've been using that they activate in different substeps. Jujitsu doesn't activate when it's flipped up. It triggers when it battles an opponents' monster, and activates during the end of the damage of step. flip effects activate during substep 5 (one step before), while monster are considered destroyed, but also while they are still face up on the field. This is why they are negated by skill drain. Jujitsu activates during substep 6 when monsters are sent to the graveyard, recruiters do their searching, etc. that's the difference.

however,i'll post it to Curtis if there is really that much confusion.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 06:45 PM   #16
`JoKeR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 179
iTrader: -1 (43%)
Default

Quote:
Activate effects that activate "at the end of the Damage Step" (Examples are "Legendary Jujitsu Master"...
From this, I believe that we can assume that LJM activates during the final sub-step of the damage step, not when it is flipped face-up?

Additional Comment:

“Skill Drain” will not negate an Ignition Effect or Trigger Effect if the Effect Monster is not face-up on the field when the effect resolves.

Last edited by `JoKeR : 01-24-2009 at 06:45 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
`JoKeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 09:52 PM   #17
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,911
iTrader: 0
Default

Simply put, if Legendary Jujitsu Master is still face-up at sub-step 6 (for example, it wasn't destroyed in battle), Skill Drain will negate its effect.

If it was destroyed in battle, by a Card effect, or something else, then, it is no longer face-up on the Field (so, it is in the Graveyard, or Removed from Play) and thus, Skill Drain won't negate it.

Where is Jujitsu Master in your scenario? That question will give you the answer.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 04:31 AM   #18
Karujin
Turkish Legend
 
Karujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Izmir, TR
Age: 22
Posts: 1,064
iTrader: 0
Default

Ness clears up things, once again. Thanks man, I practically saw everything in your text.
__________________
Karujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 02:15 PM   #19
Masterdramon
Iroh+Pony = Irohny
 
Masterdramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kapolei, HI
Age: 23
Posts: 6,544
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ness00 View Post
Simply put, if Legendary Jujitsu Master is still face-up at sub-step 7 (for example, it wasn't destroyed in battle), Skill Drain will negate its effect.

If it was destroyed in battle, by a Card effect, or something else, then, it is no longer face-up on the Field (so, it is in the Graveyard, or Removed from Play) and thus, Skill Drain won't negate it.

Where is Jujitsu Master in your scenario? That question will give you the answer.
Fixed for the new Damage Step chart.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Wellstone
Politics is not about power.
Politics is not about money.
Politics is not about winning for the sake of winning.
Politics is about the improvement of people's lives.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barack Obama
There is not a liberal America and a conservative America —
There is the United States of America.
* My 5D's FanFiction: My Dark King

* TV Tropes Page: Fanfic/MyDarkKing
Masterdramon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.