Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2009, 06:20 PM   #1
gharada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: California
Posts: 313
iTrader: 14 (100%)
Default Trap card activation during battle phase

To my knowledge, some trap cards cannot be activated during the battle phase. For example, you cannot use Torrential Tribute or Bottomless Trap Hole to prevent a pyramid turtle summon. Would Compulsory work in this situation? Do other cards also fall under this category? If so, how can you tell?
gharada is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 06:24 PM   #2
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 28
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gharada View Post
To my knowledge, some trap cards cannot be activated during the battle phase. For example, you cannot use Torrential Tribute or Bottomless Trap Hole to prevent a pyramid turtle summon. Would Compulsory work in this situation? Do other cards also fall under this category? If so, how can you tell?
That's not right, Torrential Tribute and Bottomless Trap Hole CAN be activated in the Battle Phase, it's during the Damage Step that they cannot be activated, and the Damage Step is precisely where Pyramid Turtle activates it's effect.

If you wanna know more in detail about this, i suggest reading the sticky, more specifically the "Battle Phase Game Mechanics" section and the "Things that can be activated in the damage step" section.

BTW, Compulsory Evacuation Device can be activated in the Battle Phase, just like almost every trap, but it cannot be activated in the Damage Step because it doesn't fit the criteria.
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 06:41 PM   #3
gharada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: California
Posts: 313
iTrader: 14 (100%)
Default

So is pyramid turtles effect still resolved? Or is it still possible to chain Torrential, Bottomless, etc. to it?
gharada is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 07:04 PM   #4
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 28
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gharada View Post
So is pyramid turtles effect still resolved? Or is it still possible to chain Torrential, Bottomless, etc. to it?
Once again, Pyramid Turtle activates in the Damage Step, Torrential Tribute and Bottomless Trap Hole CANNOT be activated in the damage step.

Also, you don't chain TT or BTH to effects that special summon monsters, you RESPOND to them, this terminology is rather important, once again i suggest reading the sticky for further information.
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 07:23 PM   #5
gharada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: California
Posts: 313
iTrader: 14 (100%)
Default

Okay, so cards such as Solemn Judgment work because its a counter trap card and falls under the category of things that can be "played during the damage step" correct?
gharada is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 07:27 PM   #6
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 28
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
Default

Yes, that's right. Just note that Solemn Judgment cannot negate the special summon that comes as a result of the effect of Pyramid Turtle.
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 07:33 PM   #7
gharada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: California
Posts: 313
iTrader: 14 (100%)
Default

So if I were to prevent a pyramid turtle's summoning I would have to have a Rai-oh, something that will remove the pyramid turtle from play, etc. Correct?
gharada is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 07:39 PM   #8
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 28
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gharada View Post
So if I were to prevent a pyramid turtle's summoning I would have to have a Rai-oh, something that will remove the pyramid turtle from play, etc. Correct?
Rai-Oh cannot negate the summon that Pyramid Turtle will produce because it happens during the resolution of a chain, you will need a card that negates monster effects (like Divine Wrath or Herald of Orange Light), or a card that negates effects that produce summons (however, Royal Oppression cannot be activated in the damage step).

Curtis explains this here:
http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/c...t/1522166.aspx
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline  
Old 01-09-2009, 07:58 PM   #9
gharada
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: California
Posts: 313
iTrader: 14 (100%)
Default

Thanks for the help. I've been playing wrong for a while now... lol
gharada is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 04:31 PM   #10
thebeast007
Registered User
 
thebeast007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 133
iTrader: -1 (0%)
Default

so would you be able to activate Infernity Barrier to negate the flip effect of ryko when you attack it? or Machina Fortress when you destroy it?
thebeast007 is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 04:56 PM   #11
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 44,228
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Time of last post: 01-09-2009, 09:58 PM.

Play him off, keyboard cat...
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 68

RC-1 & PC-1 Certified, Konami Judge Program Member (judged 5 YCS events, 1 WCQ)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 04:59 PM   #12
xcrystalxservexx
rawr im a thing
 
xcrystalxservexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pensacola Florida. Gender: Male. Relationship_Status: Single Looking for you
Age: 24
Posts: 5,585
iTrader: 82 (100%)
Default

of course you can, as long as you can activate Infernity Barrier properly. both those cards are mandatory to activate (ryko activates to mill, fortress when destroyed by battle).

edit: this was responding to the post above the post above this (my) post.
__________________

Craft3ds. Well, you got'sta wait. Enjoy the logo though. Pretty forking awesome for a 3ds browser game huh.
xcrystalxservexx is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 05:58 AM   #13
Kenjiblade
Crimson Flame Mod
 
Kenjiblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Juneau, Alaska
Age: 28
Posts: 5,990
iTrader: 2 (100%)
Default

Yikes, what's with all the necroposting lately?

Just so we're clear: Necroposting is bad. If you have a question, it's generally best to start a new thread.

It's sometimes Appropriate to hijack a thread to ask your own question. This is usually within a few days or maybe a week or two after the last posts were made, not 21 months later.
__________________
Moderator, Pojo.com Forums
Alaskan | Eternal Gamer | Kuriboh Duelist
Kenjiblade is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.