Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2008, 10:02 PM   #1
VShadowsinX
Registered User
 
VShadowsinX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 97
iTrader: 0
Default Stardust Dragon vs Counter Traps

can stardust dragon respond to a counter trap such as solemn judgement that is targetting another monster, or does it follow the whole "only counter traps and respond to counter traps" rule?
__________________
VShadowsinX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 10:10 PM   #2
BladesOfArtemis
NEGATE!
 
BladesOfArtemis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Queens, NY
Age: 31
Posts: 1,398
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

This answer has been given several times in the past, the search feature is your friend.... Stardust is a quick effect (Speed Speed 2 effect), Counter Traps are (Spell Speed 3). A Spell Speed 3 effect can ONLY be chained to by another chain spell 3.
__________________

Yu-Gi-Oh Judge since 2004

Visit my youtube channel for silly duels along with serious ones with my friends and my Counter Fairy builds at: http://www.youtube.com/user/thebladesofartemis
New Duel Videos from Dueling Network are up!
BladesOfArtemis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 10:11 PM   #3
chickensandwichK
Pojo Veteran
 
chickensandwichK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 912
iTrader: 0
Default

Stardust Dragon cannot respond to Counter Traps since you can't chain a Spell Speed 2 Effect to a Spell Speed 3 Effect. Also, usually counter traps don't target. Solemn doesn't target. Only Counter Traps can respond to Counter Traps, but if there were to be another card or effect made that was Spell Speed 3, it would be able to respond to Counter Traps, but as of right now, only Counter Traps are spell speed 3.
chickensandwichK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 10:11 PM   #4
VShadowsinX
Registered User
 
VShadowsinX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 97
iTrader: 0
Default

srry bout that xD

the search feature on this particular forum confuses the heck out of me xP
__________________
VShadowsinX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 10:22 PM   #5
lobbot
O.G.T.
 
lobbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tookyoo Bay 1221 (be smart, it's a code)
Posts: 7,966
iTrader: 2 (100%)
Default

Quote:
the search feature on this particular forum confuses the heck out of me xP
Click the advanced search option instead. That way, you can reduce the search to the Q&A only, or even to a specific judge if you prefer. That way you'll only receive back specific results for your search.
__________________
Quote:
"There's no such thing as a stupid question. There's, plain and simple, stupid people asking questions."
Pigs didn't start the Swine Flu!
lobbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 10:29 PM   #6
Fever
Dark World Master
 
Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dark World
Posts: 21,240
iTrader: 4 (100%)
Default

Tributing "Stardust Dragon" is a cost to activate its effect.

"Stardust Dragon's" first effect can be activated during the Damage Step.

"Stardust Dragon's" effects do not target.

"Stardust Dragon's" first effect can still be chained if it is the only card that will be destroyed by the activated effect.

"Stardust Dragon's" effect can be chained to the effect of a Continuous Spell or Trap Card, like "Blaze Cannon" or "Skull Lair".

"Stardust Dragon's" first effect cannot be chained to an effect that may or may not destroy card(s) on the field, like "Barrel Dragon" or "Snipe Hunter".

If "Crush Card Virus" is activated and there is a face-up monster on the field that will be destroyed, "Stardust Dragon's" effect can be chained.

If "Royal Oppression's" effect is activated to negate the Special Summon of a monster, like "Cyber Dragon" or "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus", "Stardust Dragon's" effect cannot be chained because the monster being Special Summoned is not considered to be "on the field" until its Summon is successful.

"Stardust Dragon's" second effect can only be chained to an effect that will destroy card(s) on the field. For example, if "Night Assailant" second effect is activated when it is discarded, "Stardust Dragon's" effect cannot be chained because this effect does not destroy card(s) on the field.

If "Stardust Dragon" is removed from play when its first effect is activated (by “Banisher of the Light,” etc.), or it is removed from the Graveyard after its first effect is activated, it cannot be Special Summoned with its effect during the End Phase.

If you Special Summon "Stardust Dragon" during the End Phase and your opponent activates "Torrential Tribute," you can chain "Stardust Dragon's" first effect to negate "Torrential Tribute". If you do, you can Special Summon "Stardust Dragon" again during the same End Phase.

If your opponent controls your "Stardust Dragon" and they use its effect, during the End Phase you will Special Summon it from your Graveyard.

If "Stardust Dragon" is attacking or being attacked and its effect is used in the Damage Step before damage calculation, damage calculation does not occur.

If your Defense Position "Stardust Dragon" is attacked by "Red Dragon Archfiend" and it is destroyed by battle, you cannot chain "Stardust Dragon's" effect to "Red Dragon Archfiend's" effect that destroys your Defense Position monsters.


These are all of the official rulings for Stardust Dragon. Which can be found here.


http://entertainment.upperdeck.com/y...first=S&last=T
Fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 10:33 PM   #7
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

Thanks for posting the obvious?
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 10:36 PM   #8
lobbot
O.G.T.
 
lobbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tookyoo Bay 1221 (be smart, it's a code)
Posts: 7,966
iTrader: 2 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by XsuicidebyaccidentX: These are all of the official rulings for Stardust Dragon. Which can be found here.
That would be great, except they are not even related to the OP question. The official rulings does not even mentions anything about chaining a spell speed 3 effect 'cause you are supposed to know that after reading the manual.

Quote:
Originally posted by Skull: Thanks for posting the obvious?
I was going to be a little more sarcastic, but your answer is equally good.
__________________
Quote:
"There's no such thing as a stupid question. There's, plain and simple, stupid people asking questions."
Pigs didn't start the Swine Flu!
lobbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 10:42 PM   #9
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

Why are people looking to bring down Counter Traps with non-Counter Traps anyway? >_>

Wishfully hoping for some absurd ruling that ain't never gonna exist?
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 11:07 PM   #10
Fever
Dark World Master
 
Fever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dark World
Posts: 21,240
iTrader: 4 (100%)
Default

Okay for one you guys don't need to be so stuck up. I am just trying to help in any way I can. Any other questions about Stardust Dragon can be answered by reading those rulings, so I know my post benefited someone somehow. Be mature, there is no need to be rude.
Fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 11:12 PM   #11
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

It's already on a well-known rulings site. So posting it in such a random thread is really pointless.

And which of those explicitly explained Stardust VS Solemn? Pointless...

Be mature? Look who's spamming with a wall of text?

I personally am giving you a bad rap so you'd learn and never do anything pointless here again.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.

Last edited by SkullBuster : 12-07-2008 at 11:16 PM.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 11:22 PM   #12
lobbot
O.G.T.
 
lobbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tookyoo Bay 1221 (be smart, it's a code)
Posts: 7,966
iTrader: 2 (100%)
Default

XsuicidebyaccidentX, any contribution is welcome. However, note the way you posted it, in fact it's a bit confusing.

It has been clarified already that you can't chain Stardust to Speed 3 effects or cards. Then you pop up all the official rulings to prove what? The fact that the FAQ's does not cover that situation? If someone comes to this thread looking for an answer, it may misunderstood you are trying to prove the opposite, since it is not mentioned in the FAQ's.

Apologies if we were a bit rude about that.
__________________
Quote:
"There's no such thing as a stupid question. There's, plain and simple, stupid people asking questions."
Pigs didn't start the Swine Flu!
lobbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 12:38 AM   #13
TeslaMouse
I <3 my kanojyo :)
 
TeslaMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 70,818
iTrader: 773 (100%)
Default

not to sound obvious or disrespectful but counter trap cards are named that for a reason :/
__________________
Quote:
http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1192903

Looking for Cash and high ends. Now accepting money orders! Also want a Lightsworn ruler deck
Pokémon x friend code: 4613 7604 1572

SV: 4086
TeslaMouse is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.