Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Pokémon > Pokémon Ask Our Masters - TCG Rules & Collecting Q's only
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2008, 07:04 PM   #1
amisheskimoninja
Pojo Veteran
 
amisheskimoninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kansas City or Rolla, MO
Age: 27
Posts: 632
iTrader: 26 (100%)
Default Mulligan pokemon

If you draw a basic pokemon when you draw a card from your opponents mulligan, can you put it on your bench immediately? If so, can you make it your active?
__________________
"When I grow up I wanna be an Amish Eskimo Ninja" -Matt Cloud

My poke trade list
amisheskimoninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 08:47 PM   #2
MonsterOfTheLake
Registered User
 
MonsterOfTheLake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lake
Posts: 187
iTrader: 0
Default

Yes. No. 10 chars.
__________________
MonsterOfTheLake's Lake
MonsterOfTheLake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 03:25 PM   #3
Taylor45
Registered User
 
Taylor45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: EDH, CA
Age: 23
Posts: 387
iTrader: 15 (94%)
Default

I'm not sure what Monster of the Lake is saying so I'll clarify..

No. You cannot put down another basic if you draw it on an opponent's mulligan. You have to wait until it is your turn. The only basics you can set in play during game setup are the ones you drew in your first 7.
__________________
My Pokemon Trading Thread
Taylor45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 06:15 PM   #4
PokePop
Moderator
 
PokePop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Age: 51
Posts: 3,912
iTrader: 3 (100%)
Default

No, Monster was correct.
You can play it down to the bench during set up.
You can't change your active.
__________________
Official Pokemon TCG Rulings
Pokemon TCG Rules Team Member

The PokeGym
PokePop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 06:23 PM   #5
Taylor45
Registered User
 
Taylor45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: EDH, CA
Age: 23
Posts: 387
iTrader: 15 (94%)
Default

But you've already laid down your prize cards after sending out your Pokemon, ending your Setup Phase. Then Mulligan cards are drawn I thought..
__________________
My Pokemon Trading Thread
Taylor45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2008, 09:18 PM   #6
PokePop
Moderator
 
PokePop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Age: 51
Posts: 3,912
iTrader: 3 (100%)
Default

I was going to point you to the place in the rule book where this is covered, but it actually doesn't say there one way or the other!


Luckily, this was covered in the Compendium:

Quote:
Q. Before starting the game, Player-A has a Basic Pokémon but Player-B does not. On Player-A's draw 1 card for mulligan, say they draw a better choice for starting Pokémon; are they allowed to switch it out with the one they chose to be their 1st active before the mulligan? And if they choose to switch, must it stay on the field and not allowed to be put back into hand?
A. Player A continues his or her setup and can choose to draw an extra card after setting aside his or her Prize cards. Once placed, the active cannot be changed during setup, but a mulligan card can be placed onto the bench. (May 5, 2005 PUI Rules Team; Feb 9, 2006 PUI Rules Team)
__________________
Official Pokemon TCG Rulings
Pokemon TCG Rules Team Member

The PokeGym
PokePop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement

Pikachu Anatomy


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.