Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh Archives
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2004, 09:10 AM   #1
commondeck
Registered User
 
commondeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: H-Town
Age: 29
Posts: 345
iTrader: 0
Default Creature Swap vs. Spirit Reaper

I have heard so many different things about creature swapping a spirit reaper.

Some say I CAN'T do it because I automatically destroyed my spirit reaper due to spirit's effect, and since I have no monsters on my side of the field (if I only have spirit reaper on my side), I can't use creature swap.

Others say I CAN do it because it doesn't target an effect... the player does. But isn't that the same thing with change of hearting a spirit reaper?... spirit will be destroyed if I use change of heart on it. The player chooses its target.. not the card.

Still others say that I CAN use it BUT my opponent will get nothing (spirit is automatically destroyed if I target it).

WHICH ONE IS IT!!!! :mad: .... very fustrated... plz help with good explanation... thx.
commondeck is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 09:30 AM   #2
Kris Planer
Futurama>Family Guy
 
Kris Planer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 2,110
iTrader: 21 (100%)
Default

creature swap would work normally, because it dosent target.
__________________
My wii friend code - 8714 6536 1076 1932 and my consoles nickname is Kris' Wii
Kris Planer is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 09:42 AM   #3
commondeck
Registered User
 
commondeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: H-Town
Age: 29
Posts: 345
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Planer
creature swap would work normally, because it dosent target.
what do you mean doesn't target? Creature Swap is the same thing as change of heart. Change of heart doesn't target.. the player does. If I use change of heart on spirit reaper doesn't it get destroyed?

plz elaborate more.... convinve me cuz I am sooo confused...
commondeck is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 10:25 AM   #4
Kris Planer
Futurama>Family Guy
 
Kris Planer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 2,110
iTrader: 21 (100%)
Default

creature swap dosent target because it affeccts more than one monster.
__________________
My wii friend code - 8714 6536 1076 1932 and my consoles nickname is Kris' Wii
Kris Planer is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 11:13 AM   #5
ditoman1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Monterrey, N.L. Mexico
Posts: 89
iTrader: 0
Default

Spirit Reaper will be destroyed

"When this card is specifically designated as a target of the effect of a Magic, Trap, or Effect Monster Card, this card is immediately destroyed"

using CHoH or CS will use the effect over Spirit Reaper, therefore destroyed!!!
ditoman1 is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 11:27 AM   #6
commondeck
Registered User
 
commondeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: H-Town
Age: 29
Posts: 345
iTrader: 0
Default sigh...

I knew it... conflicting views about this situation. I wish a judge would settle this once and for all.

1. Is spirit reaper destroyed?

2. Do I still get a monster?

H - E - L - P !!
commondeck is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 11:56 AM   #7
OutstandingDogMarron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Gatos Calif Posts: -1
Age: 49
Posts: 196
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by commondeck
I knew it... conflicting views about this situation. I wish a judge would settle this once and for all.

1. Is spirit reaper destroyed?

2. Do I still get a monster?

H - E - L - P !!
Creature swap does not target. You do not declare the cards to be swapped when the card is activated. They are chosen by the players when the card resolves. Spirit Reaper will not be destroyed.

An example of a card that targets two monsters is Book of Life. That targets a zombie in the owner's graveyard and any monster in the opponent's graveyard. These cards are picked at activation time.

The Dog

(UDE Level 1 Judge)
OutstandingDogMarron is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 12:11 PM   #8
Kris Planer
Futurama>Family Guy
 
Kris Planer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 2,110
iTrader: 21 (100%)
Default

exactly what the dog said. and dito, just because a card affects something, that dosent mean it targets it, which is why this topic was made in the 1st place.
__________________
My wii friend code - 8714 6536 1076 1932 and my consoles nickname is Kris' Wii
Kris Planer is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 12:19 PM   #9
commondeck
Registered User
 
commondeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: H-Town
Age: 29
Posts: 345
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OutstandingDogMarron
Creature swap does not target. You do not declare the cards to be swapped when the card is activated. They are chosen by the players when the card resolves.
The Dog

(UDE Level 1 Judge)

Great elaboration by the way... others don't explain their views as good as you did.

Isn't this the same situation as change of heart? I thought change of heart would destroy spirit reaper. Please explain.. thx.
commondeck is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 12:22 PM   #10
Kris Planer
Futurama>Family Guy
 
Kris Planer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 2,110
iTrader: 21 (100%)
Default

change of heart does destroy it because it designats spirit reaper as a target. creature swap dosent specifiy spirit reaper as a target, so it dosent destory him.
__________________
My wii friend code - 8714 6536 1076 1932 and my consoles nickname is Kris' Wii
Kris Planer is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 12:24 PM   #11
OutstandingDogMarron
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Los Gatos Calif Posts: -1
Age: 49
Posts: 196
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by commondeck
Great elaboration by the way... others don't explain their views as good as you did.

Isn't this the same situation as change of heart? I thought change of heart would destroy spirit reaper. Please explain.. thx.
Change of Heart targets the card when it is activated. If, for example, your opponent chains Ring of Destruction to your CoH and targets the same card, CoH will fail to resolve - you will not get a chance to pick another target.

Since it targets this way then CoH destroys SR.

Fissure is an example of another non-targetting card. If your opponent has two monsters face up and they chain RoD to your Fissure to destroy their lower ATK monster, Fissure will still destroy the other one when it resolves. It did not target the lower ATK monster, the monster to be destroyed gets selected when Fissure resolves.

I hope this helps.

The Dog
OutstandingDogMarron is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 02:00 PM   #12
codewarrior
Registered User
 
codewarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Age: 49
Posts: 194
iTrader: 0
Default SR vs CoH

It's my understanding that if you use CoH on a face up reaper; it dies. However, if you CoH a face down reaper, it would not be destroyed. This is because when CoH resolves, the card is still f/d. Flipping it to ATK mode is a seperate event.

In regards to the creature swap issue, it's always legal as CS is a non-targeting effect, like others have said.
codewarrior is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 03:28 PM   #13
[J/F Gr0nd1n]
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Quebec
Age: 36
Posts: 536
iTrader: 0
Default right

i'm a judge too and i confirm: you can use creature swap on spirit reaper.

hope it will end the discussion.
__________________


My WC08 Friend Code: 4124-3877-2962
[J/F Gr0nd1n] is offline  
 


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.