Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2008, 01:51 AM   #1
Registered User
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 28
Posts: 407
iTrader: 0
Default Lyla, Lightsworn Sorceress

Can you switch Lyla, Lightsworn Sorceress from attack to defense mode when she is normal summon then activate her effect?

You can change this card from face-up Attack Position to face-up Defense Position and destroy 1 Spell or Trap Card your opponent controls. If you activate this effect, this card's battle position cannot be changed until the end of your next turn, except with a card effect. During each of your End Phases, send the top 3 cards of your Deck to the Graveyard.
YU3090221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 02:01 AM   #2
Iroh+Pony = Irohny
Masterdramon's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kapolei, HI
Age: 23
Posts: 6,544
iTrader: 0

Changing Lyla, Lightsworn Sorceress to Defense Position is an Ignition effect, which you can activate at any point during your own Main Phase 1 or 2, just as long as Lyla is in Attack Position. So under normal circumstances, yes, you could activate Lyla's effect immediately after it is Normal Summoned.

Hope this helps!

EDIT: All your beatings are belong to us!
Originally Posted by Paul Wellstone
Politics is not about power.
Politics is not about money.
Politics is not about winning for the sake of winning.
Politics is about the improvement of people's lives.
Originally Posted by Barack Obama
There is not a liberal America and a conservative America —
There is the United States of America.
* My 5D's FanFiction: My Dark King

* TV Tropes Page: Fanfic/MyDarkKing
Masterdramon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 02:01 AM   #3
lobbot's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tookyoo Bay 1221 (be smart, it's a code)
Posts: 7,966
iTrader: 2 (100%)

switching her it's an effect, so you can do it in the same turn she was summoned to the field.

EDIT: I don't have a baby monk seal to pet... but I do have jasmine tea...
"There's no such thing as a stupid question. There's, plain and simple, stupid people asking questions."
Pigs didn't start the Swine Flu!
lobbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 02:02 AM   #4
Porygon's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mexicali
Age: 28
Posts: 711
iTrader: 0

Yes, you can

Next time use the Search Feature because this has been already answered


EDIT: Sloooooooooooooow
Porygon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 07:33 AM   #5
Machine King
Power of Machina
Machine King's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,373
iTrader: 25 (100%)

So you can switch her to Defense after you have attacked with her?
Originally Posted by Techno 01
wow, the Japanese should listen to him more often before making machine support cards
Machine King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 07:56 AM   #6
Pojo Veteran
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: fl
Age: 53
Posts: 983
iTrader: 0

interesting - cant manually change battle position after attacking or turn summoned ... but activating an effect after either is ok - so since her effect is a twofold one that changes her position and destroys a s/t it should not be a problem - should be similar to stuff like des lacooda, swarm of scarabs/locusts and so on... you can activate effect after summoning or attacking...
cuzwbd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 10:04 AM   #7
ness00's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,909
iTrader: 0

Originally Posted by Machine King View Post
So you can switch her to Defense after you have attacked with her?
There's no problem in doing so.
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.