Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2008, 09:30 PM   #1
Meat Cupcake
It's Just A Ride
 
Meat Cupcake's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nowheresville
Posts: 3,144
iTrader: 124 (100%)
Default Destroy Vs. Tribute

Okay, so I know DMOC gets removed even if it's tributed for something right? But I could have sworn I heard somewhere that there's a difference between something being "destroyed" and something being "tributed".

In other words, could I tribute a Beast monster for Enemy Controller's second effect and special summon Green Baboon off it? Or would that not count?

Also, can I Torrential Tribute off Apprentice Magician's special summon effect? Or does that count as "setting" a monster. I just wasn't sure, since it does actually say "special summon" even though it's technically "set".

Anywho, thanks in advanced and sorry if those questions sounded odd.
Meat Cupcake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 09:33 PM   #2
lobbot
O.G.T.
 
lobbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tookyoo Bay 1221 (be smart, it's a code)
Posts: 7,966
iTrader: 2 (100%)
Default

Tribute and destroy are two completly different things.

A monster is destroyed only when battles another monster, or you are using a card effect which says "destroy".

You can tribute whatever you want for Enemy control, but that won't combo with baboon, since no monster has been destroyed.

As long as a card "summons", you can activate torrential tribute.
__________________
Quote:
"There's no such thing as a stupid question. There's, plain and simple, stupid people asking questions."
Pigs didn't start the Swine Flu!
lobbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 05:58 PM   #3
Masterdramon
Iroh+Pony = Irohny
 
Masterdramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kapolei, HI
Age: 23
Posts: 6,540
iTrader: 0
Default

Sorry for the small-time ressurection, but a few more things should be added:

1. You're mssing an important part of DMoC's text. The last sentence is as follows:

Quote:
If this face-up card is destroyed or removed from the field, it is removed from play.
"Tributing" does not "destroy" anything, but it does remove Monsters from the field. This is why Tributing a face-up DMoC will remove it from play.

2. Apprentice Magician activates during the Damage Step, when Torrential Tribute and other such cards cannot be activated.

Hope this helps!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Wellstone
Politics is not about power.
Politics is not about money.
Politics is not about winning for the sake of winning.
Politics is about the improvement of people's lives.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barack Obama
There is not a liberal America and a conservative America —
There is the United States of America.
* My 5D's FanFiction: My Dark King

* TV Tropes Page: Fanfic/MyDarkKing
Masterdramon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 06:01 PM   #4
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 29
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
Default

it would also be a good idea to mention that the text masterdramon provided is a little inaccurate, it should be
Quote:
If this face-up card is removed from the field, it is removed from play.
i's been quite a while since we were told that there was an "unofficial official errata" in the old judge's list, so DMoC is not removed from play when destroyed in the hand or deck
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 06:06 PM   #5
Masterdramon
Iroh+Pony = Irohny
 
Masterdramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kapolei, HI
Age: 23
Posts: 6,540
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by perzeus View Post
it would also be a good idea to mention that the text masterdramon provided is a little inaccurate, it should be
i's been quite a while since we were told that there was an "unofficial official errata" in the old judge's list, so DMoC is not removed from play when destroyed in the hand or deck
True, but the two texts achieve basically the same thing (since DMoC is not "face-up" in the hand or Deck).

The problem is that the old Judge's List post with the various unofficial-official texts would be gone by now, and so the text I posted is the most recent one that I could find.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Wellstone
Politics is not about power.
Politics is not about money.
Politics is not about winning for the sake of winning.
Politics is about the improvement of people's lives.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barack Obama
There is not a liberal America and a conservative America —
There is the United States of America.
* My 5D's FanFiction: My Dark King

* TV Tropes Page: Fanfic/MyDarkKing
Masterdramon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2008, 06:54 PM   #6
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 29
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterdramon View Post
True, but the two texts achieve basically the same thing (since DMoC is not "face-up" in the hand or Deck).

The problem is that the old Judge's List post with the various unofficial-official texts would be gone by now, and so the text I posted is the most recent one that I could find.
ah, i missed the face-up when i read your post (bit ironic that i used it in my post )

yes, that's indeed the latest text and is correct, altough redundant
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.