Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2007, 01:15 PM   #1
Drift_King
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 197
iTrader: 6 (88%)
Default Gladiator Beasts VS Magic cylinder/Negate Attack

Hi, I have searched all over the internet for rulings on Gladiator Beasts and I really need to know if gladiator beasts get the effect to swap out if their attack is negated by a card like magic cylinder or enemy controller is used on them. Any help is greatly appreciated, thank you.
Drift_King is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 05:16 PM   #2
VitoBlade
UMustKillTheBatman
 
VitoBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: North Carolina, US
Posts: 5,200
iTrader: 71 (99%)
Default

If the attack was negated wouldn't it count it as never happening?
__________________

Trades


Quote:
Originally Posted by derka_derka View Post
I'll see you two at the single digit tables while I pull out my binoculars to try to find these other guys.
VitoBlade is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 01:26 AM   #3
Andy
Get Your Game On!!!
 
Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK - England - Grimsby
Age: 28
Posts: 2,378
iTrader: 13 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FAQ's
The effect of "Magic Cylinder" negates the attack of one attacking monster, but that monster is still considered to have attacked and may not attack again or have its Battle Position manually changed.
Even though the attack got negated, the monster still attacked.

Same with Negate Attack.

Even if your monster gets switched to defence with Enemy Controller, it is still considered to have attacked.

So in all the above cases you would be able to return the Gladiator Beast monster to your deck in order to special summon one with a different name.
__________________
UDI - Rules Knowledge - Yu-gi-oh!: Level 2
UDI - Player Management: Level 2

UK Nationals Judge - 2006 - 2007 - 2008 - 2009
UK Pharaoh/Fortune Tour Final Judge - 2006 - 2007 - 2008(HJ)
UK Gen Con Judge - 2007
World Championship Judge - 2008

Copies of the Yugioh FAQ's
Andy is offline  
Old 01-08-2013, 08:54 PM   #4
bobm40
Just Got Here
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
iTrader: 0
Default Ruling

The answer above me is false as far as i can see according to the ruling on the Wikia where it states:

If a "Gladiator Beast" monster attacks and its attack is stopped with a card effect ("Gravity Bind", "Spellbinding Circle", "Enemy Controller", etc.) or is negated during the Battle Step, the "Gladiator Beast" monster cannot activate its effect at the end of the Battle Phase.

http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Ru...ladiator_Beast
bobm40 is offline  
Old 01-08-2013, 08:55 PM   #5
AntiTcb
Number XVI
 
AntiTcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 20
Posts: 2,643
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
Even though the attack got negated, the monster still attacked.

Same with Negate Attack.

Even if your monster gets switched to defence with Enemy Controller, it is still considered to have attacked.

So in all the above cases you would be able to Return the Gladiator Beast monster to your deck in order to special summon one with a different name.
No. The Gladiator Beast monsters need to make it to Damage Calculation.
__________________
DN Name: AntiTcb (Head Administrator)
RC - 1, RC - 2, and PC - 1 certified Judge
Premier (YCS/WCQ) events judged: 6
The Organization (Number XVI)
Quote:
Originally Posted by yugi0h View Post
There are no stupid questions, there are just stupid people asking a simple question for an obvious answer.
AntiTcb is offline  
Old 01-08-2013, 09:06 PM   #6
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

Would have expected better from a Level 2 something, but meh.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline  
Old 01-08-2013, 09:12 PM   #7
cosmetiago
Pojo Veteran
 
cosmetiago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,111
iTrader: 0
Default

Negating an attack means that you didnt attack but you tried to, which means no attack was successfully done. It's like negating a summon, the summon didn't happen anyway, but still counts as a "trying" to summon. So no effects are applied.
cosmetiago is offline  
Old 01-08-2013, 09:17 PM   #8
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

AntiTcb worded it best. Let's leave it at that.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline  
Old 01-08-2013, 09:34 PM   #9
MasterFox72
#BestiTo3
 
MasterFox72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: United States!! Deck: Gladiator Beasts
Posts: 6,517
iTrader: 0
Default

6 year necro lol.
MasterFox72 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.