Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh Archives
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2007, 11:40 PM   #1
ryu991
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 35
Posts: 7,511
iTrader: 3 (100%)
ryu991 is on a distinguished road
Default d.d. crow vs. dragons mirror

I know if you activate a card like miracle fusion and your opponent dd crows it essentially negates the card.

If you activate dragons mirror for fhd and your opponent dd crows one of your dragons (but you still have 5 left in your grave) does it still cancel the effect of the mirror?

Just a little confused on this, any help appreciated in advance.
ryu991 is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 11:45 PM   #2
gateguardian44
Mr. Saki
 
gateguardian44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Age: 27
Posts: 13,491
iTrader: 82 (100%)
gateguardian44 is on a distinguished road
Default

You don't select what you are going to fuse at activation of the card, you do at resolution, so if you have 6 dragons in the graveyard, you can remove one but they'll sill be able to use the other 5... Much like Polymerization...
__________________

David Tuan Bui
'07-'14 Nats Qualifier
7 Regional tops, 1 UD Day top, 1 YCS Day 2 (34th), 1 WCQ Day 2 & 2-time Yu-gi-oh Day Champion
RC-2 & PC-1
gateguardian44 is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 11:53 PM   #3
Masterdramon
Iroh+Pony = Irohny
 
Masterdramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kapolei, HI
Age: 23
Posts: 6,560
iTrader: 0
Masterdramon is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gateguardian44 View Post
You don't select what you are going to fuse at activation of the card, you do at resolution, so if you have 6 dragons in the graveyard, you can remove one but they'll sill be able to use the other 5... Much like Polymerization...
Methinks you need some sleep, gateguardian44...

Quote:
“Dragon’s Mirror” is a card that targets monsters, either on the field and/or in the Graveyard.
So you do in fact choose the Fusion Materials at activation. This means that, under most circumstances, D.D. Crow would indeed work here, forcing Mirror to resolve without effect.

However, while it does target the Fusion Materials, it does not target the Fusion Monster itself. So, if your opponent, say, played Miracle Fusion (which also targets), targeting Sparkman, Bubbleman, and Avian, and they removed Sparkman via D.D. Crow, then they could still Special Summon Mariner (rather than Tempest, as they first intended). However, if you were to remove the Avian or the Bubbleman, you would force the Miracle Fusion to resolve without effect.

EDIT: This is why my Marvel vs. Capcom 2 team has both Dr. Doom and Magneto on it...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Wellstone
Politics is not about power.
Politics is not about money.
Politics is not about winning for the sake of winning.
Politics is about the improvement of people's lives.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barack Obama
There is not a liberal America and a conservative America —
There is the United States of America.
* My 5D's FanFiction: My Dark King

* TV Tropes Page: Fanfic/MyDarkKing
Masterdramon is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 11:53 PM   #4
Trowa_B
Master of Magnetism
 
Trowa_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 27
Posts: 3,392
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Trowa_B is on a distinguished road
Default

Actually, David, that's wrong.

"Dragon's Mirror", "Miracle Fusion", and "Overload Fusion" (it seems like there should be another one that uses the Graveyard, but I can't remember) all target the Fusion Material Monsters (on the field or in the Graveyard).

If an effect such is "D.D. Crow" is chained to these cards and removes 1 of the targeted monsters from play, there are two possible outcomes:

1. There are not enough Fusion Material Monsters left for any known Fusion Monster in the TCG, so the Spell Card resolves without effect.

2. There ARE enough Fusion Material Monsters left for some Fusion Monster in the TCG (not necessarily the one originally intended), and the Spell Card resolves as normal and still Fusion Summons whatever it can.

Edit: Defeated, by that weakling Doom? Hmph. You win this round, Victor... but I shall take over the world first!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magneto
We are the future, Charles; not them.
Player Management: Level 2
Rules Knowledge - VS System: Level 1
Rules Knowledge - World of Warcraft: Level 2
Tournament Organizer: Level 1
Trowa_B is offline  
Old 03-24-2007, 11:55 PM   #5
gateguardian44
Mr. Saki
 
gateguardian44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Age: 27
Posts: 13,491
iTrader: 82 (100%)
gateguardian44 is on a distinguished road
Default

Son of a... That's it, I'm going to bed...

I was thinking again under polymeriation where you don't have to specify what you are fusing until resolution...
__________________

David Tuan Bui
'07-'14 Nats Qualifier
7 Regional tops, 1 UD Day top, 1 YCS Day 2 (34th), 1 WCQ Day 2 & 2-time Yu-gi-oh Day Champion
RC-2 & PC-1
gateguardian44 is offline  
Old 03-25-2007, 01:23 AM   #6
ryu991
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 35
Posts: 7,511
iTrader: 3 (100%)
ryu991 is on a distinguished road
Default

Interesting...

So you guys are saying...

1) I activate dragons mirror with 6 dargons in grave, my opponent uses dd crow to remove one of them, I still remove the other 5 and get fhd.

2) I have clayman, sparkman, and light hex sealed in my grave. I use miracle fusion to get shining pheonix (spark + hex). My opp dd crows the hex, I could then istead remove sparkman and clayman for thunder giant?

Just want to confirm what I read above...

thanks for all the help guys.
ryu991 is offline  
Old 03-25-2007, 01:29 AM   #7
CyberTractor
Polkadot Pantaloons
 
Join Date: May 2006
Age: 26
Posts: 944
iTrader: 0
CyberTractor is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, what you posted is correct. After DD Crow removes a monster, you can still summon a fusion monster if there are still the right materials in the graveyard (and field, should it be overload).
__________________
Zagar gave me a gold star for helping him.
CyberTractor is offline  
Old 03-25-2007, 02:09 AM   #8
Trowa_B
Master of Magnetism
 
Trowa_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 27
Posts: 3,392
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Trowa_B is on a distinguished road
Default

Um, no... that is NOT what we are saying, and neither of those scenarios is correct. Targeting is done at activation (before chaining is done), and you can never change your target(s).

1. You activate "Dragon's Mirror" and target 5 Dragon-Type monsters in your Graveyard. Your opponent chains with the effect of "D.D. Crow" and removes one of them from play. Since none of the remaining targets can forge a Fusion Monster, "Dragon's Mirror" resolves without effect.

2. You activate "Miracle Fusion" and target "Elemental Hero Sparkman" and "The Light - Hex-Saled Fusion". Your opponent chains with the effect of "D.D. Crow" and removes one of them from play. Since the remaining target cannot forge a Fusion Monster, "Miracle Fusion" resolves without effect.

For a correct example, refer to Masterdramon's post above. But I'll add on with two more:

1. You activate "Overload Fusion" and target 2 "Cyber Dragons" and 3 Machine-Type monsters in your Graveyard. Your opponent chains with the effect of "D.D. Crow" and removes one of the "Cyber Dragons" from play. Since the remaining targets (1 "Cyber Dragon" + 3 Machine-Type monsters) is still enough to forge a Fusion Monster, you will still Fusion Summon "Chimeratech Overdragon" with those Materials.

2. You activate "Miracle Fusion" and target "Elemental Hero Avian", "Elemental Hero Bubbleman", "Elemental Hero Clayman" and "The Light - Hex-Sealed Fusion" in your Graveyard. Your opponent chains with the effect of "D.D. Crow" and removes "Elemental Hero Clayman" from play. Since the remaining targets ("Elemental Hero Avian", "Elemental Hero Bubbleman", and "The Light - Hex-Sealed Fusion") are enough still enough to forge a Fusion Monster, you will still Fusion Summon "Elemental Hero Tempest" (even though you had intended to Fusion Summon "Elemental Hero Electrum").
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magneto
We are the future, Charles; not them.
Player Management: Level 2
Rules Knowledge - VS System: Level 1
Rules Knowledge - World of Warcraft: Level 2
Tournament Organizer: Level 1

Last edited by Trowa_B : 03-25-2007 at 02:12 AM.
Trowa_B is offline  
Old 03-25-2007, 02:17 AM   #9
Rakath
GamerChu King!
 
Rakath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Spying for the Village Hidden in the Clouds.
Age: 29
Posts: 7,410
iTrader: 10 (100%)
Rakath is on a distinguished road
Default

Also all targets have to be used, however if you choose to chain your own card to remove another Fusion material to tweak to a proper ammount to get something, that would make Dragon's Mirror legal.

You activate "Dragon's Mirror" and target Blue-Eyes White Dragon, Blue-Eyes White Dragon, Blue-Eyes White Dragon, Petit Dragon, and Blue-Eyes Shining Dragon.

Your opponent activates "D.D. Crow" and targets "Blue-Eyes Shining Dragon".

You cannot use "Dragon's Mirror" to bring out "Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon" UNLESS you activate an effect like "D.D. Crow" or "Transmigration Prophecy" to remove "Petit Dragon" from your realm of targets.

Same can be said for the 2nd working example Magneto over there gave if instead of removing "Elemental Hero Clayman" they choose "The Light - Hex-Sealed Fusion", you would need to remove "Elemental Hero Avian" from play so you could fuse "Elemental Hero Bubbleman" and "Elemental Hero Clayman" into "Elemental Hero Madballman" (or remove Clayman so Avian and BUbbleman become Mariner).
__________________

Brawl - "Goggle Pikachu", "Royal Ike", "Forest Marth", and "White Trainer" Mains
Goggle headed rulings junkie, pretty boy, and FFIX fan.
Rakath is offline  
Old 03-25-2007, 11:05 AM   #10
ryu991
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 35
Posts: 7,511
iTrader: 3 (100%)
ryu991 is on a distinguished road
Default

ahhh I got it now, thanks for clearing that up for me.
ryu991 is offline  
 


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.