Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh Newbie Forum
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2006, 12:24 AM   #1
Spiderman097
Pojo Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Age: 29
Posts: 1
iTrader: 0
Spiderman097 is on a distinguished road
Default Can you activate trap cards whenever you want?

If the trap card is legal to play, and has been set for 1 turn, can you play it at any time? Or, do you actually have to chain it to something. IE. if you could play it during any time you could start a "chain" by playing waboku. Or, IE. you would have to wait til your opponent summons a monster, sets, etc.


And, can you chain to your opponent going into their end phase? I always thought that their end phase, and your draw phase were always the exact same thing.
Spiderman097 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 02:36 AM   #2
Masterdramon
Iroh+Pony = Irohny
 
Masterdramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kapolei, HI
Age: 23
Posts: 6,552
iTrader: 0
Masterdramon is on a distinguished road
Default

First of all, the End Phase of the Turn Player and the Draw Phase of the opponent are completely separate and different. One comes right after the other.

Anyways, if your Trap has been set for at least 1 turn, during your own turn, you can activate it at any time you want, except that most can not be activated in the Damage Step of the Battle Phase.

During your opponent's turn, your opponent has what is called priority, which allows them to activate effects before you do. If they activate any effect with Spell Speed, you may chain to that effect with your Trap, provided the timing is correct (i.e. you can not activate Mirror Force during a Main Phase, obviously). This is because priority has passed back to you. After activating your effect, priority passes back to your opponent, and so on, and so forth, until both players have passed on utilizing priority in the current chain.

If your opponent performs an action without Spell Speed (such as a Summon, an attack, or the entering of a Phase), they retain priority to activate 1 effect. If they activate an effect in response to their own action, or if they pass priority, you can activate your Trap.

Also of note: whenever your opponent ends a Phase, priority passes to you to activate an effect if you wish.

So, in other words, you need to respond to something in order to activate a Trap (or Quickplay Spell or Multi-Trigger Monster Effect, for that matter) on your opponent's turn, but as you can respond to Summons, sets, activations, entering Phases, and ending Phases, entering/ending Steps of the Battle Phase, and entering/ending Sub-Steps of the Damage Step of the Batttle Phase), this is rather easy to do. So, if you've got an already-set Waboku, you're almost always going to be able to activate it.

Hope all that info helps!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Wellstone
Politics is not about power.
Politics is not about money.
Politics is not about winning for the sake of winning.
Politics is about the improvement of people's lives.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barack Obama
There is not a liberal America and a conservative America —
There is the United States of America.
* My 5D's FanFiction: My Dark King

* TV Tropes Page: Fanfic/MyDarkKing
Masterdramon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 06:48 AM   #3
Landstar 01
ランドスター01/ 安德鲁
 
Landstar 01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: England
Age: 24
Posts: 10,864
iTrader: 131 (97%)
Landstar 01 is on a distinguished road
Default

You can activate a trap whenever you want, but if you are chaining the trap to an action, then you must be careful of the spell speeds of the cards. Some cards can only have certain other cards chained to them. For example, because of its spell speed, nothign can be chained to a counter trap card, other than another counter trap card.
__________________
Co-Leader of Team E-Force!



Creds:
Qualified for UK Nats '09 (Won a regional with Little City!)

Yu-Gi-Oh! Trade Thread
Magic: The Gathering Trade Thread
Landstar 01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 10:28 AM   #4
Jiggy-Ninja
Hello, Nurse!
 
Jiggy-Ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 24
Posts: 6,072
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Jiggy-Ninja is on a distinguished road
Default

Anyways, if your Trap has been set for at least 1 turn, during your own turn, you can activate it at any time you want, except that most can not be activated in the Damage Step of the Battle Phase.

I'll specify. Only two kinds of cards can be activated during either player's damage step. Counter Traps and S/Ts that alter a monster's stats, like Rush Recklessly. Nothing else. If you Attack the opponent, enter the Damage Step, and they activate Reinforcements to boost their monsters ATK above yours, you cannot chain Royal Decree to negate the card. You can chain Somen Judgement because it is a Counter Trap.
Jiggy-Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 11:20 AM   #5
Arranf
The Cyber Dragon Vet
 
Arranf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK, England
Posts: 4,195
iTrader: 39 (100%)
Arranf is on a distinguished road
Default

uhh what about shadow spell (using cards like taht comes from ntr)
__________________
Co-Op Reviews.com
Relevant, quality reviews and features with a specialist interest in co-operative gaming.
Arranf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 11:40 AM   #6
Serene Rain
. . . .
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: In a state of contemplation
Age: 27
Posts: 3,217
iTrader: 0
Serene Rain is on a distinguished road
Default

A Phase (or Step within in Phase) does not end until both players pass on the opportunity to activate appropriate cards. (As mentioned in the excellent description by Masterdramon.)

An additional note from the Judge List:
Unless an effect specifically says to activate it before you Draw, such as "Hino-Kagu-Tsuchi", Drawing a card is the first thing you must do during your turn.


Concerning the Damage Step:
Cards that can be activated:
Spell Speed 3 Cards: Counter Traps.
Spell Speed 2 Cards (Quick-Play Spells, Traps, and Multi-Trigger Effect Monsters) that modify ATK or DEF values
Spell Speed 2 Multi-Trigger Effects that negate the activation and the effect of such cards.
Cards that specifically state that they can be activated in the Damage Step.
Cards that are exceptions to these general principles: Attack and Recieve, Chthonian Blast, Desrook Archfiend, Null and Void, and Numinous Healer (and, possibly, Michizure at a future date).
Serene Rain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 11:58 AM   #7
Jiggy-Ninja
Hello, Nurse!
 
Jiggy-Ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Age: 24
Posts: 6,072
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Jiggy-Ninja is on a distinguished road
Default

Also concerning the Damage step, if Pyramid Turtle dies in battle and pulls a zombie with more than 1500 ATK, you CANNOT Bottomless Trap Hole it. Even though its activatiopn requirement was met, Pyramid Turtle's effect occurs in the Damage Step, and BTH can't activate in the Damage Step.
Jiggy-Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 03:31 PM   #8
Masterdramon
Iroh+Pony = Irohny
 
Masterdramon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kapolei, HI
Age: 23
Posts: 6,552
iTrader: 0
Masterdramon is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterSniper999
Anyways, if your Trap has been set for at least 1 turn, during your own turn, you can activate it at any time you want, except that most can not be activated in the Damage Step of the Battle Phase.

I'll specify. Only two kinds of cards can be activated during either player's damage step. Counter Traps and S/Ts that alter a monster's stats, like Rush Recklessly. Nothing else. If you Attack the opponent, enter the Damage Step, and they activate Reinforcements to boost their monsters ATK above yours, you cannot chain Royal Decree to negate the card. You can chain Somen Judgement because it is a Counter Trap.
Close, but not exactly. The following types of cards can be activated during the Damage Step:

1. Spell Speed 3 Counter Traps (such as Magic Jammer, Solemn Judgement, Divine Wrath, Seven Tools of the Bandit, etc).

2. Spell Speed 2 cards that specifically modify ATK and/or DEF (Rush Recklessly, Limiter Removal, Reinforcements, Micro Ray).

3. Cards that specifically say that they activate in the Damage Step or that have a trigger, such as Damage Calculation or a Monster being destroyed as a result of battle, that occurs only in the Damage Step (Injection Fairy Lily, Kuriboh, Hero Signal, Inferno Tempest).

4. Multi-Trigger Monster Effects that negate the activation and effect of other cards (Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV8, Sorceror of Dark Magic, Herald of the Green Light, Herald of the Purple Light).

5. The following exceptions: Attack and Recieve, Chthonian Blast, Desrook Archfiend, Michizure, Null and Void, and Numinous Healer.

EDIT: Whoops, didn't see that you posted the full list there, Serene Rain. Also, thanks for the compliment.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Wellstone
Politics is not about power.
Politics is not about money.
Politics is not about winning for the sake of winning.
Politics is about the improvement of people's lives.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barack Obama
There is not a liberal America and a conservative America —
There is the United States of America.
* My 5D's FanFiction: My Dark King

* TV Tropes Page: Fanfic/MyDarkKing
Masterdramon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 09:51 PM   #9
Lifeburner
Lvl 10 Firelord
 
Lifeburner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Indonesia
Age: 26
Posts: 570
iTrader: 0
Lifeburner is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderman097
If the trap card is legal to play, and has been set for 1 turn, can you play it at any time?
Mostly, sice there are card swith activation condition and cards which can only be activated at certain times.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderman097
I always thought that their end phase, and your draw phase were always the exact same thing.
Nope, first their end phase and after it ends, then your draw phase begins.
__________________



"Everything that has a beginning has an end"

Morpheus


Obelisk Blue

hello, cat
Lifeburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.