Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh Archives
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2005, 10:24 AM   #1
bagogrits
Junior Member
 
bagogrits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Age: 39
Posts: 25
iTrader: 0
bagogrits is on a distinguished road
Default Deck Devastation Virus... Conflicting Rulings

Tribute 1 DARK monster with an ATK of 2000 points or more on your side of the field. Check all monsters on your opponent's side of the field, your opponent's hand, and all cards he/she draws during your opponent's next 3 turns, and destroy all monsters with an ATK of 1500 or less.

Hey all...

I have a question about Deck Devastation Virus. Pojo's CotD seems split on it, Coin Flip seems to think the Dextruction part only happens when it's activated, not for the next '3 draws'... Tranorix and Snapper and Paladin seem to think it kills those draws, too...

Coin Flip actually even seems to be saying both things??:

The effect of killing any monster with over 1500 ATK on field or in hand at the time and any such cards drawn over the next three turns is also nice.

then...

This doesn't affect monsters summoned after Virus' effect goes off.
After activation, you look at what they draw and that's it.


ExMinion:

Let's look at the effect -- any monsters on the field at the time that are 1500 or less die; anything in their hand that's 1500 or less dies; anything they draw for the next 3 turns that's 1500 or less dies.

Tranorix:

Afterward, you get to look at your opponent’s hand. You get to look at all the monsters on your opponent’s field. AND you get to see every card your opponent draws for the next several turns. Any and all monsters with 1500 or less ATK will die



...so I'm going to assume CoinFlip is just in the wrong here (or that I'm just misinterptreting his post?). It kills the 3 drawn cards, too... right?
__________________
when your sig is bigger than your post, that's just sad.
bagogrits is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 10:32 AM   #2
TAGraves
Contemporary Gent
 
TAGraves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NYC
Age: 22
Posts: 4,668
iTrader: 17 (100%)
TAGraves is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bagogrits
Tribute 1 DARK monster with an ATK of 2000 points or more on your side of the field. Check all monsters on your opponent's side of the field, your opponent's hand, and all cards he/she draws during your opponent's next 3 turns, and destroy all monsters with an ATK of 1500 or less.

Hey all...

I have a question about Deck Devastation Virus. Pojo's CotD seems split on it, Coin Flip seems to think the Dextruction part only happens when it's activated, not for the next '3 draws'... Tranorix and Snapper and Paladin seem to think it kills those draws, too...

Coin Flip actually even seems to be saying both things??:

The effect of killing any monster with over 1500 ATK on field or in hand at the time and any such cards drawn over the next three turns is also nice.

then...

This doesn't affect monsters summoned after Virus' effect goes off.
After activation, you look at what they draw and that's it.


ExMinion:

Let's look at the effect -- any monsters on the field at the time that are 1500 or less die; anything in their hand that's 1500 or less dies; anything they draw for the next 3 turns that's 1500 or less dies.

Tranorix:

Afterward, you get to look at your opponent’s hand. You get to look at all the monsters on your opponent’s field. AND you get to see every card your opponent draws for the next several turns. Any and all monsters with 1500 or less ATK will die



...so I'm going to assume CoinFlip is just in the wrong here (or that I'm just misinterptreting his post?). It kills the 3 drawn cards, too... right?
ExMinion is correct here. LT is too.
Quote:

This doesn't affect monsters summoned after Virus' effect goes off.
After activation, you look at what they draw and that's it.
Monsters summoned after the effect are not destroyed. The cards drawn are the only ones that will be affected after the initial resolving.
In fact, all three of them are correct. CF just worded it weirdly.
TAGraves is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 01:15 PM   #3
INSANITY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Age: 29
Posts: 158
iTrader: 0
INSANITY is on a distinguished road
Default

so at activation of DDV, if my opponent have sinister serpent, he will return to his hand on his next turn, the same as night assailant will be able to return a flip effect monster with 1500 atk point or less without being destroyed?
INSANITY is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 01:21 PM   #4
airknight_parshath
Banned User
 
airknight_parshath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: On the planet Char, battling the Zerg and Terran forces alongide my Protoss bretheren...
Age: 24
Posts: 716
iTrader: 0
airknight_parshath is on a distinguished road
Default

Official rulings here:

If "Night Assailant" in your hand is destroyed by the effect of "Deck Devastation Virus", its effect will activate.


Monsters with "?" for ATK are treated as having an ATK of zero for this effect, while they are in the hand or face-down.


If "Deck Devastation Virus" is active and you activate "Graceful Charity", first draw 3 cards, then discard 2 cards for the effect of "Graceful Charity", then, if any of the monsters you drew with "Graceful Charity" are still in your hand and they have ATK 1500 or less, they are destroyed. Similarly, if you activate "Good Goblin Housekeeping", return the 1 card to the bottom of your deck, and then destroy any monsters in your hand with ATK 1500 or less.


The turn that "Deck Devastation Virus" is activated counts as the first turn. If you activate "Deck Devastation Virus" during your own turn, the "first turn" lasts until the end of your opponent's next turn.


If you Summon "Fusilier Dragon, the Dual-Mode Beast" without Tribute, then flip it face-down, you can use it to activate "Deck Devastation Virus".


You also check face-down monsters on the field for "Deck Devastation Virus". If "Maju Garzett" is face-down on the field, its ATK is treated as zero so it will be destroyed.


You only check the cards on the field and in the hand when "Deck Devastation Virus" is resolved. Only cards drawn are checked until the end of the third End Phase.


If you return "Sinister Serpent" to your hand after "Deck Devastation Virus" has resolved, it will NOT be destroyed, because it was not drawn.


If you activate "Premature Burial" to Speical Summon "D.D. Warrior Lady" from your Graveyard during the turns after "Deck Devastation Virus" has resolved, it will not be destroyed.


If you use "Change of Heart" to take control of your opponent's "Magicial Scientist" during the turns after "Deck Devastation Virus" has resolved, it will not be destroyed. If you then use its effect to Special Summon "Thousand-Eyes Restrict", it will also not be destroyed.


If you have the four limbs of Exodia in your hand when your opponent activates "Deck Devastation Virus" they will be destroyed. You can use two "Backup Soldier" to return them to your hand and they will not be destroyed (they were not drawn). If on your next turn you then draw "Exodia the Forbidden One" you will win the game before "Exodia the Forbidden One" is destroyed by the effect of "Deck Devastation Virus".
airknight_parshath is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 11:30 PM   #5
bagogrits
Junior Member
 
bagogrits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Age: 39
Posts: 25
iTrader: 0
bagogrits is on a distinguished road
Default

This doesn't affect monsters summoned after Virus' effect goes off.
After activation, you look at what they draw and that's it.



ahhh! i was missing one word... the "summoned"... i kept reading it and seeing ... "doesn't affect monsters drawn" for some reason....

well, duh! it wouldn't affect monsters SUMMONED after the effect happens, but any cards drawn during the next three turns that have an attack of 1500 or less are destroyed...

one more quick question that i just thought of... ANY cards DRAWN AT ALL during the next three tuerns are affected, right?

if i pop off a Virus, then hit them with a morphing jar on their following 2nd turn, the 5 cards they draw are affected as well, right?

wow. this card is mean....
__________________
when your sig is bigger than your post, that's just sad.

Last edited by bagogrits : 06-18-2005 at 11:42 PM.
bagogrits is offline  
Old 06-19-2005, 12:04 AM   #6
wingzrow
Pojo Veteran
 
wingzrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,937
iTrader: 2 (100%)
wingzrow is on a distinguished road
Default

You should see it against burn. I played it twice because of mask of darkness and i was eventually fliped off. lol
wingzrow is offline  
 


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.