Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2013, 04:24 AM   #1
Ghazrilla
Registered User
 
Ghazrilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Age: 24
Posts: 154
iTrader: 0
Default Battlin' Boxer Glassjaw Ruling

I still can't fully wrap my head around this, as it doesn't make full sense to me.

My opponent summons Battlin' Boxer Glassjaw, specials sparrer, then overlays for Lavalval Chain. This is his first turn, so there are no monsters in his grave at all. He detaches glassjaw, then dumps a switchhitter, and claims that glassjaw then starts a new chain, does not miss timing or anything for his activation, and can add that switchhitter to his hand in the new chain. I reiterate that there were no monsters in the grave prior to glassjaw being sent.

I can somewhat understand how glassjaw starts a new chain, and I was initially okay with that. What I don't get is how glassjaw could have gotten his effect as when he was initially sent, there were no other monsters in the grave, thus his requirement was not met from the beginning.

Can someone explain this in more detail? Not saying he's wrong, but I have no idea where he's getting that he can perform this maneuver.
Ghazrilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 04:45 AM   #2
kinhcan1002
Ruling Addiction
 
kinhcan1002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ho Chi Minh City, VN
Age: 21
Posts: 1,495
iTrader: 0
Default

In this case, Glassjaw was detached as a cost to activate Lavalval Chain's effect, so its effect can't be activated.
__________________
It's not right but it's OK...
kinhcan1002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 04:47 AM   #3
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

Glassjaw can't activate if it was detached as a cost.

*sent via Opera Mini on an ancient Nokia phone using poor netz*
*Haiyan not strong enough to get rid of me*
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.

Last edited by SkullBuster : 11-15-2013 at 04:51 AM.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 05:10 AM   #4
Jossein
Halfway Hollow
 
Jossein's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Majula
Age: 17
Posts: 3,038
iTrader: 0
Default

If Glassjaw had been sent from the deck though, it would have been perfectly legal.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by n1ghtmare90 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWamts View Post
BUT BRIO GOES NEG AND GOYO CAN PLUS!1!!!ELEVEN!!
If you let Goyo go +11 then you're bad./joke
Jossein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 05:12 AM   #5
joedude20
Learning the Ropes
 
joedude20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 19
iTrader: 0
Default

If he was smart he would have detached sparrer, sent a glassjaw from the deck and added sparrer back to his hand.

Glassjaws effect wont activate as a cost
joedude20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 07:16 AM   #6
david0925
Pojo Veteran
 
david0925's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8,459
iTrader: 19 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghazrilla View Post
I still can't fully wrap my head around this, as it doesn't make full sense to me.

My opponent summons Battlin' Boxer Glassjaw, specials sparrer, then overlays for Lavalval Chain. This is his first turn, so there are no monsters in his grave at all. He detaches glassjaw, then dumps a switchhitter, and claims that glassjaw then starts a new chain, does not miss timing or anything for his activation, and can add that switchhitter to his hand in the new chain. I reiterate that there were no monsters in the grave prior to glassjaw being sent.

I can somewhat understand how glassjaw starts a new chain, and I was initially okay with that. What I don't get is how glassjaw could have gotten his effect as when he was initially sent, there were no other monsters in the grave, thus his requirement was not met from the beginning.

Can someone explain this in more detail? Not saying he's wrong, but I have no idea where he's getting that he can perform this maneuver.
The correct answer has been reiterated above, so I won't repeat that

However, let us ASSUME that Glassjaw works even sent as a cost and does not miss timing (both of which are NOT the case, but let's assume that). It will begin a new chain, and you only declare targeting now, not then. Since there is a monster that can be grabbed, his play would be perfectly fine.
__________________
The OCG Metagame
Monster: Shock Master
Spell: Super Polymerization
Trap: Vanity's Emptiness
MVP FU: Heavy Storm

For Mikeapollo
david0925 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.