Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-2013, 09:30 PM   #1
Gatorade92
Pojo Veteran
 
Gatorade92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,065
iTrader: 15 (100%)
Default Kagetokage

Say I have a Green Gadget, and kage in hand.

I normal summon Green Gadget - Do I then activate green gadgets search effect and go in my deck? Or do I summon kage right after green's normal summon; then search in my deck?

Also regarding timing:

What if my opponent effect veilers my Green Gadget? What would happen then?


I just want to know the proper steps in summoning Kagetokage when you have summon ignition effects, like the gadgets.
Gatorade92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 09:34 PM   #2
cosmetiago
Pojo Veteran
 
cosmetiago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,111
iTrader: 0
Default

You must declare the 2 effect activations (Gadget and Kagetokage) at the same time and then you order their effects in the order you want. Your opponent cannot use Veiler before you activate Kagetokage effect. If you ask the opponent for a response before activating Kagetokage effect you missed the chance to activate Kage's effect. Also Gadget's effects aren't ignition, they're trigger (same as Kage).
__________________
RC-1 Certified

Beginner Yugioh Test made by me:
https://testmoz.com/142828
cosmetiago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2013, 09:36 PM   #3
RabbitUp
Team Yuyeah
 
RabbitUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Inside the box
Age: 22
Posts: 5,194
iTrader: 0
Default

Both are optional Trigger effects. Unless either player has a mandatory Trigger effect that is activated at that time, then Green Gadget and Kagetokage start a chain as Chain Link 1 and 2 and you can choose the order. The chain resolves backwards.

Your opponent cannot activate Effect Veiler until after your 2 Trigger effects have been placed on the chain.
__________________
DN Username: RabbitUp
RabbitUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:18 PM   #4
Lolwutomgbbq
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 291
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmetiago View Post
If you ask the opponent for a response before activating Kagetokage effect you missed the chance to activate Kage's effect.
Well, the opponent might want to activate solemn warning/judgment, and that certainly must be done before declaring kagetokage's effect.
Lolwutomgbbq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 06:24 PM   #5
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

That's why the turn player should ask for a response for Summon negation and Summon response separately.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 09:34 PM   #6
Gatorade92
Pojo Veteran
 
Gatorade92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,065
iTrader: 15 (100%)
Default

So basically you have to go:

"Summon Green Gadget, Chain, Link 2, summon Kagetokage, eff Green, search." Is this the proper way to summon the monsters if you want to miss Effect Veiler?
Gatorade92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 09:40 PM   #7
Homer of Chaos
Punish And Enslave
 
Homer of Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Age: 26
Posts: 17,656
iTrader: 156 (100%)
Default

You can still Veiler the Gadget. It'll be CL3 after Kagetokage.
__________________

Self-Proclaimed Champion Duelist
Yu-Gi-Oh! H/W List
Homer of Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 09:43 PM   #8
Gatorade92
Pojo Veteran
 
Gatorade92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,065
iTrader: 15 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer of Chaos View Post
You can still Veiler the Gadget. It'll be CL3 after Kagetokage.
So the only time my opponent would be able to veiler this play is after kage's summoning, right before my green search?
Gatorade92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 09:46 PM   #9
Homer of Chaos
Punish And Enslave
 
Homer of Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Age: 26
Posts: 17,656
iTrader: 156 (100%)
Default

Well you would resolve the chain backwards

Veiler negates Green Gadget
Kagetokage SS itself
Green Gadget is negated so it won't do anything.
__________________

Self-Proclaimed Champion Duelist
Yu-Gi-Oh! H/W List
Homer of Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 09:55 PM   #10
RabbitUp
Team Yuyeah
 
RabbitUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Inside the box
Age: 22
Posts: 5,194
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gatorade92 View Post
So the only time my opponent would be able to veiler this play is after kage's summoning, right before my green search?
You Summon the Gadget, the Summon is successful, so both players can respond to the Summon now.

You respond with Green Gadget's effect at Chain Link 1 and Kagetokage's effect in Chain Link 2. Now, since there are no other Trigger effects that can be activated and you were the last player that placed a Trigger effect on the Chain, your opponent can activate a card or effect of theirs first, so they can activate Effect Veiler at CL3.

So:
CL1: Green Gadget
CL2: Kagetokage
CL3: Effect Veiler

Resolving the chain backwards, Veiler negates Green Gadget's effect, Kage is Summoned, then Green Gadget resolves without effect. Since the last thing was the resolution of Green Gadget, neither player can activate a card or effect as a response to Kagetokage's Summon (e.g. Bottomless Trap Hole, Torrential Tribute).

You can also reverse the order of your Trigger Effects, in which case the only difference is that Kagetokage's Summon can be responded to.
__________________
DN Username: RabbitUp
RabbitUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 10:05 PM   #11
Gatorade92
Pojo Veteran
 
Gatorade92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,065
iTrader: 15 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RabbitUp View Post


You Summon the Gadget, the Summon is successful, so both players can respond to the Summon now.

You respond with Green Gadget's effect at Chain Link 1 and Kagetokage's effect in Chain Link 2. Now, since there are no other Trigger effects that can be activated and you were the last player that placed a Trigger effect on the Chain, your opponent can activate a card or effect of theirs first, so they can activate Effect Veiler at CL3.

So:
CL1: Green Gadget
CL2: Kagetokage
CL3: Effect Veiler

Resolving the chain backwards, Veiler negates Green Gadget's effect, Kage is Summoned, then Green Gadget resolves without effect. Since the last thing was the resolution of Green Gadget, neither player can activate a card or effect as a response to Kagetokage's Summon (e.g. Bottomless Trap Hole, Torrential Tribute).

You can also reverse the order of your Trigger Effects, in which case the only difference is that Kagetokage's Summon can be responded to.
So your opponent can't play veiler until after kage is summoned? Or can they play veiler after you summon green?
Gatorade92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 10:12 PM   #12
RabbitUp
Team Yuyeah
 
RabbitUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Inside the box
Age: 22
Posts: 5,194
iTrader: 0
Default

We're talking about effect activations here. When a card or effect is activated, you only pay the cost and choose targets, you don't resolve any effects. You're forming a chain, placing effects on it and after both players pass on activating more effects, you start resolving the chain backwards.

Also, you completely ignored this part of my post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by RabbitUp View Post
CL1: Green Gadget
CL2: Kagetokage
CL3: Effect Veiler

Resolving the chain backwards, Veiler negates Green Gadget's effect, Kage is Summoned, then Green Gadget resolves without effect.
__________________
DN Username: RabbitUp
RabbitUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 04:52 AM   #13
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

This shouldn't be hard. Veiler is NOT an activation negator, so it could be placed at any Link on the Chain. It was never said Gadget+Lizard could prevent a Veiler from activating.

What is more important is how you activate Kagetokage, because you seemed to not know how it is done properly.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 09:43 PM   #14
Gatorade92
Pojo Veteran
 
Gatorade92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,065
iTrader: 15 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RabbitUp View Post
We're talking about effect activations here. When a card or effect is activated, you only pay the cost and choose targets, you don't resolve any effects. You're forming a chain, placing effects on it and after both players pass on activating more effects, you start resolving the chain backwards.

Also, you completely ignored this part of my post:

I definitely did read that but I am still not understanding thanks though.
Gatorade92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 09:58 PM   #15
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

I think we're also having problems because you might be confused on how Chains are actually formed.

Sent you a PM since you asked for an explanation.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.