Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2013, 10:49 PM   #1
Grapha
Trishy Squishy
 
Grapha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,863
iTrader: 17 (95%)
Default Skill drain vs infestation pandemic

Skill drain is face up. I xyz summon Evilswarm Bahamut. I activate Infestation Pandemic, making Bahamut Unaffected by spell and trap effects.

Is Bahamut now allowed to activate and resolve his effect this turn? I would assume so since its unaffected, but my opponent is unconvinced.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaos Pancake View Post
Kisses Trishula good night. Wakes up Trish has gone and has taken my car... WTF.
Beautunaful Coelacanth - A New Take on Water
Trades
Grapha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 10:51 PM   #2
poemi
Let's にゃー!
 
poemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 6°10′41.90″S 106°37′54.80″E
Posts: 2,066
iTrader: 0
Default

yes, bahamut unaffected by Skill Drain as long as infestation pandemic in effect.
poemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 12:42 PM   #3
LadyKagome
Lusty Priestess
 
LadyKagome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coven of the Bloodsister
Age: 30
Posts: 21,705
iTrader: 37 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grapha View Post
Skill drain is face up. I xyz summon Evilswarm Bahamut. I activate Infestation Pandemic, making Bahamut Unaffected by spell and trap effects.

Is Bahamut now allowed to activate and resolve his effect this turn? I would assume so since its unaffected, but my opponent is unconvinced.
I don't see how he can think that, the card is pretty clear-cut. But then again my boyfriend has a friend who refuses to believe that "Skill Drain" won't negate Battle Fader's "End the Battle Phase" effect, claiming it's separate from the rest of it. He says that "Since it says "then", you Special Summon it, "then" end the Battle Phase, meaning it has to be summoned first, meaning that Skill Drain will negate it when it attempts to end said Battle Phase."
__________________


I am the mystery of darkness, in balance with chaos and harmony
LadyKagome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 03:55 PM   #4
Jossein
Halfway Hollow
 
Jossein's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Majula
Age: 17
Posts: 3,057
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyKagome View Post
I don't see how he can think that, the card is pretty clear-cut. But then again my boyfriend has a friend who refuses to believe that "Skill Drain" won't negate Battle Fader's "End the Battle Phase" effect, claiming it's separate from the rest of it. He says that "Since it says "then", you Special Summon it, "then" end the Battle Phase, meaning it has to be summoned first, meaning that Skill Drain will negate it when it attempts to end said Battle Phase."
Wut? It is the same effect, and an effect in the Middle of it's resolution can never be negated.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by n1ghtmare90 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWamts View Post
BUT BRIO GOES NEG AND GOYO CAN PLUS!1!!!ELEVEN!!
If you let Goyo go +11 then you're bad./joke
Jossein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 03:58 PM   #5
LadyKagome
Lusty Priestess
 
LadyKagome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coven of the Bloodsister
Age: 30
Posts: 21,705
iTrader: 37 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jossein View Post
Wut? It is the same effect, and an effect in the Middle of it's resolution can never be negated.
This is what I say. Then his usual response is "I looked it up." Or "This is how every judge at every YCS I've attended has ruled it, are you calling those judges stupid?".

*facepalm*
__________________


I am the mystery of darkness, in balance with chaos and harmony
LadyKagome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:04 PM   #6
Homer of Chaos
War.Greymon
 
Homer of Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 26
Posts: 19,666
iTrader: 171 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyKagome View Post
This is what I say. Then his usual response is "I looked it up." Or "This is how every judge at every YCS I've attended has ruled it, are you calling those judges stupid?".

*facepalm*
Just say "no I'm calling you stupid "
__________________

Self-Proclaimed Semi-Retired Champion Duelist
YGO H/W: Looking for DT Emeral, Odd-Eyes, Summoner's Art
Homer of Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:08 PM   #7
LadyKagome
Lusty Priestess
 
LadyKagome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coven of the Bloodsister
Age: 30
Posts: 21,705
iTrader: 37 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer of Chaos View Post
Just say "no I'm calling you stupid "
Someone did do that, it didn't go over very well. And the problem is, as much as it tears at the very fabric of my being to ignore the insults, he still serves a purpose.
__________________


I am the mystery of darkness, in balance with chaos and harmony
LadyKagome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:07 PM   #8
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,547
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyKagome View Post
Then his usual response is "I looked it up."
Then I'd call him a liar since there is an OCG ruling that explicitly tells you Skill Drain will not negate the effect of Battle Fader even if it is summoned:

Quote:
The effect of "Battle Fader" which Special Summons it and the effect which ends the Battle Phase are resolved as the same effect. The effect activates in the hand, so the effects of "Skill Drain" and "Shadow-Imprisoning Mirror" will not negate the effect even though "Battle Fader" is Special Summoned, so the effect which ends the Battle Phase will still be applied.
Make sure you are in the Japanese DB before clicking on this link.

http://www.db.yugioh-card.com/yugioh...eyword=&tag=-1
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
set that man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintenderek View Post
The only problem I've having with it is that I'm throwing money at the screen and it's not arriving any sooner.
Unities is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:26 PM   #9
LadyKagome
Lusty Priestess
 
LadyKagome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coven of the Bloodsister
Age: 30
Posts: 21,705
iTrader: 37 (100%)
Default

Oh, no, we've shown him. He simply responds with "That's their game, not ours.", then goes on to quote things like how Royal Oppression used to function in the OCG, and how Masked Beast Des Gardius cannot be re-summoned no matter what in the TCG, yet can be in the OCG, stuff like that.

So I usually just avoid playing with him, especially after the plasma-fueled battle over Elemental Hero Stratos vs. Starlight Road.
__________________


I am the mystery of darkness, in balance with chaos and harmony
LadyKagome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:29 PM   #10
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,547
iTrader: 0
Default

Wow... That is a first for me.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
set that man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintenderek View Post
The only problem I've having with it is that I'm throwing money at the screen and it's not arriving any sooner.
Unities is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:35 PM   #11
LadyKagome
Lusty Priestess
 
LadyKagome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coven of the Bloodsister
Age: 30
Posts: 21,705
iTrader: 37 (100%)
Default

We have some real characters around here, though most are simply newbies who haven't played much or for very long, but they are improving at a blistering rate of speed due to them actually wanting to learn, a couple are tards, but they're easy to beat with stuff like even Galaxy/Photons. It's just this one that burns everyone's nerves.

But as I said, he still serves a purpose, so I usually let his bluster go unchecked, as long as it's directed at me, anyway. First time he talks like that to one of the younger, he gets the boot.
__________________


I am the mystery of darkness, in balance with chaos and harmony
LadyKagome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 05:37 PM   #12
AntiTcb
Number XVI
 
AntiTcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 20
Posts: 2,694
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyKagome View Post
Oh, no, we've shown him. He simply responds with "That's their game, not ours.", then goes on to quote things like how Royal Oppression used to function in the OCG, and how Masked Beast Des Gardius cannot be re-summoned no matter what in the TCG, yet can be in the OCG, stuff like that.

So I usually just avoid playing with him, especially after the plasma-fueled battle over Elemental Hero Stratos vs. Starlight Road.
*points to quote in signature*
__________________
DN Name: AntiTcb (Head Administrator)
RC - 1, RC - 2, and PC - 1 certified Judge
Premier (YCS/WCQ) events judged: 6
The Organization (Number XVI)
Quote:
Originally Posted by yugi0h View Post
There are no stupid questions, there are just stupid people asking a simple question for an obvious answer.
AntiTcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:12 PM   #13
cosmetiago
Pojo Veteran
 
cosmetiago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,111
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyKagome View Post
I don't see how he can think that, the card is pretty clear-cut. But then again my boyfriend has a friend who refuses to believe that "Skill Drain" won't negate Battle Fader's "End the Battle Phase" effect, claiming it's separate from the rest of it. He says that "Since it says "then", you Special Summon it, "then" end the Battle Phase, meaning it has to be summoned first, meaning that Skill Drain will negate it when it attempts to end said Battle Phase."
Well, Continuous Trap Cards can't be applied during resolution of effects unless stated otherwise.
__________________
RC-1 Certified

Beginner Yugioh Test made by me:
https://testmoz.com/142828
cosmetiago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:38 PM   #14
Homer of Chaos
War.Greymon
 
Homer of Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 26
Posts: 19,666
iTrader: 171 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AntiTcb View Post
*points to quote in signature*
How Appropriate for Pojo
__________________

Self-Proclaimed Semi-Retired Champion Duelist
YGO H/W: Looking for DT Emeral, Odd-Eyes, Summoner's Art
Homer of Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 01:03 AM   #15
Jossein
Halfway Hollow
 
Jossein's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Majula
Age: 17
Posts: 3,057
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyKagome View Post
Oh, no, we've shown him. He simply responds with "That's their game, not ours.", then goes on to quote things like how Royal Oppression used to function in the OCG, and how Masked Beast Des Gardius cannot be re-summoned no matter what in the TCG, yet can be in the OCG, stuff like that.

So I usually just avoid playing with him, especially after the plasma-fueled battle over Elemental Hero Stratos vs. Starlight Road.
This guy is seriously stupid. Why don't you suggest everyone to boycot Dueling him until he learns how stuff works?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by n1ghtmare90 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWamts View Post
BUT BRIO GOES NEG AND GOYO CAN PLUS!1!!!ELEVEN!!
If you let Goyo go +11 then you're bad./joke
Jossein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 10:30 AM   #16
LadyKagome
Lusty Priestess
 
LadyKagome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coven of the Bloodsister
Age: 30
Posts: 21,705
iTrader: 37 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jossein View Post
This guy is seriously stupid. Why don't you suggest everyone to boycot Dueling him until he learns how stuff works?
Well, therein lies the problem, I can suggest, but not command, :3

He's also an idiot at trading, and after the way he's spoken to me, I just sit back and let him destroy his binder. I'm far from knowing every ruling about every card, I post here every now and then needing answers. Difference between me and him is I can admit it, whereas he thinks he's like Yu-Gi-Oh God or something.
__________________


I am the mystery of darkness, in balance with chaos and harmony
LadyKagome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:12 PM   #17
Jossein
Halfway Hollow
 
Jossein's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Majula
Age: 17
Posts: 3,057
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LadyKagome View Post
Well, therein lies the problem, I can suggest, but not command, :3

He's also an idiot at trading, and after the way he's spoken to me, I just sit back and let him destroy his binder. I'm far from knowing every ruling about every card, I post here every now and then needing answers. Difference between me and him is I can admit it, whereas he thinks he's like Yu-Gi-Oh God or something.
Oh dear God(pun intended)...
Why don't you make him come here on Pojo now and then, so Redshift can completely, utterly devastate him by proving him wrong on everything he thought he knew, so that he ends up giving away his binder and rocking back and forth in the far corner of the room?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by n1ghtmare90 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWamts View Post
BUT BRIO GOES NEG AND GOYO CAN PLUS!1!!!ELEVEN!!
If you let Goyo go +11 then you're bad./joke
Jossein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:31 PM   #18
WolfgangDS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 188
iTrader: 0
Default

LadyKagome: Point him to Ceasefire vs. Jinzo, or Graceful Charity vs. Exodia. Either one should work. The point is to show him that nothing can interrupt a Chain Link while it's resolving.

To convince him that it's all one effect, point him to Battle Fader vs. Torrential Tribute. The ruling on Fader is that Torrential can't be activated. If what he says is true, that would not be the case. Also, this is a TCG ruling.
__________________
Read ALL of the rulebook, people. The stuff on pages 38 through 41 is IMPORTANT.

Appropriate and Forced Requisition Rules Guide
WolfgangDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:11 PM   #19
LadyKagome
Lusty Priestess
 
LadyKagome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Coven of the Bloodsister
Age: 30
Posts: 21,705
iTrader: 37 (100%)
Default

I would, except I've already surrendered the fight, someone else can champion that battle.
__________________


I am the mystery of darkness, in balance with chaos and harmony
LadyKagome is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.