Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2013, 11:53 PM   #1
chesster423
Registered User
 
chesster423's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 399
iTrader: 0
Default Infestation Terminus vs Evilswarm Thunderbird

Quote:
Infestation Terminus
Target 1 "lswarm" monster you control and 2 cards your opponent controls; banish the first target, and if you do, Return the second targets to the hand.
Quote:
Evilswarm Thunderbird
During either player's turn, when a card or effect is activated (except during the Damage Step): You can banish this card you control. During your next Standby Phase, Return this card banished by this effect to the field, and if you do, it gains 300 ATK. You can only use the effect of "Evilswarm Thunderbird" once per turn.
Me and my cousin is having a duel in DN.
Opponent's field:
Monster: Evilswarm Thunderbird
Backrow: Infestation Terminus

Me:

1. I Special Summon Cyber Dragon, and normal Summon TKRO
2. He activated Infestation Terminus, he targets his Evilswarm Thunderbird and my Cyber Dragon and TKRO.
3. He chains Evilswarm Thunderbird effect to banish itself via its effect.

Question:
Can Evilswarm Thunderbird chain to evade itself from banishing effect of Infestation Terminus?
My cousin insisted that he can chain Evilswarm Thunderbird to prevent it from banishing while two of my monsters will Return in hand, and his Evilswarm Thunderbird can Return during the stand by phase.

Same as:
Quote:
Infestation Infection
Once per turn: You can shuffle 1 "lswarm" monster from your hand or face-up on your field into the Deck; add 1 "lswarm" monster from your Deck to your hand.
He activated Infestation Infection returning Evilswarm Thunderbird to hand, and then chained it to prevent it from returning and then he adds 1 "lswarm" monster from his deck.

His primary argument is that, Infestation Terminus/Infestation Infection is not a COST, it is part of the effect so he can chain Evilswarm Thunderbird any time he wants.

Is Evilswarm Thunderbird that powerful?
chesster423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 11:58 PM   #2
steelers78
5 Year Veteran
 
steelers78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: cadyville,New York
Age: 22
Posts: 3,130
iTrader: 10 (87%)
Default

Yes he can. It's the same effect as Wind-Up Rabbit.
__________________
member of Team Chaos Theory
115th NY in final ude rating
Trade thread
http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1147582
steelers78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 11:58 PM   #3
Dragynking1
Kotori Vet
 
Dragynking1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Seattle
Age: 19
Posts: 12,025
iTrader: 74 (100%)
Default

Note the "and if you do" in Terminus' text. This means that if the first part does not happen (in this case, the banishing of Thunderbird by Terminus, not by Thunderbird itself), then anything afterward does not happen either.
He can chain it if he wants, but nothing will happen.

With Infection, the returning to the Deck is a cost as the semicolon following the initial text denotes.
__________________
DN/DevPro: Dragynking1 CFA: Kotori
Pokemon X/Y Friend Code: 2793-0769-2579

||YGO Trades (Updated 3/19)||
Dragynking1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:02 AM   #4
steelers78
5 Year Veteran
 
steelers78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: cadyville,New York
Age: 22
Posts: 3,130
iTrader: 10 (87%)
Default

Infestation infection is not a cost.

Additional Comment:

At least not the way it's worded. Since it says you "can".
__________________
member of Team Chaos Theory
115th NY in final ude rating
Trade thread
http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1147582

Last edited by steelers78 : 03-02-2013 at 12:02 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
steelers78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:04 AM   #5
Dragynking1
Kotori Vet
 
Dragynking1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Seattle
Age: 19
Posts: 12,025
iTrader: 74 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelers78 View Post
Infestation infection is not a cost.

Additional Comment:

At least not the way it's worded. Since it says you "can".
That's basically saying you can activate it and not use the effect right away. It's still a cost if you do decide to use the effect.
__________________
DN/DevPro: Dragynking1 CFA: Kotori
Pokemon X/Y Friend Code: 2793-0769-2579

||YGO Trades (Updated 3/19)||
Dragynking1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:08 AM   #6
steelers78
5 Year Veteran
 
steelers78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: cadyville,New York
Age: 22
Posts: 3,130
iTrader: 10 (87%)
Default

It's not a cost when you activate it. That's what I thought he was asking. But yeah. That would be stupid if you could get a free evilswarm from the deck at no cost....
__________________
member of Team Chaos Theory
115th NY in final ude rating
Trade thread
http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1147582
steelers78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:37 AM   #7
chesster423
Registered User
 
chesster423's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 399
iTrader: 0
Default

To make it clear about Infestation Terminus vs Evilswarm Thunderbird, he can chain Evilswarm Thunderbird but nothing will happen to 2 of my monster will not Return in hand?

Thanks for the response.
chesster423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 12:39 AM   #8
Dragynking1
Kotori Vet
 
Dragynking1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Seattle
Age: 19
Posts: 12,025
iTrader: 74 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chesster423 View Post
To make it clear about Infestation Terminus vs Evilswarm Thunderbird, he can chain Evilswarm Thunderbird but nothing will happen to 2 of my monster will not Return in hand?

Thanks for the response.
Correct .
__________________
DN/DevPro: Dragynking1 CFA: Kotori
Pokemon X/Y Friend Code: 2793-0769-2579

||YGO Trades (Updated 3/19)||
Dragynking1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 03:20 PM   #9
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4,577
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragynking1 View Post
That's basically saying you can activate it and not use the effect right away.
This is not true. If you activate Thunderbird, you must banish it at resolution.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
set that man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintenderek View Post
The only problem I've having with it is that I'm throwing money at the screen and it's not arriving any sooner.
Unities is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 03:27 PM   #10
Dragynking1
Kotori Vet
 
Dragynking1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Seattle
Age: 19
Posts: 12,025
iTrader: 74 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unities View Post
This is not true. If you activate Thunderbird, you must banish it at resolution.
I was talking about Infection there.
__________________
DN/DevPro: Dragynking1 CFA: Kotori
Pokemon X/Y Friend Code: 2793-0769-2579

||YGO Trades (Updated 3/19)||
Dragynking1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.