Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2013, 11:25 AM   #1
Knightmare77
Registered User
 
Knightmare77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 130
iTrader: 0
Knightmare77 is on a distinguished road
Default Abysspike and Marksman question

Question 1:


Player 1: Inzektor Centi equiped by a hornet
Player 2: Set abyss sphere

Player 1 activates Inzektor Hornet eff targeting Abyss sphere
Player 2 chains abyss sphere special summoning a linde

Chain Resolves hornet destroying abyss sphere


Now.. would Centipede effect chain to linde´s?
Can Centipede effect make abysspike lose timing?



Question 2:


Player 1 Discarded Infantry and Marskman to special summon Megalo
Player 2 Has a Light pulsar and no other cards

Player 1 order the chain: Marskman 1, Infantry 2, Megalo 3 and targeted Pulsar with Infantry.

Does Marksman effect has to active or resolve even if Player 1 doesnt control any set cards? Can it make Light pulsar miss timing?
Knightmare77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:36 AM   #2
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,877
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift will become famous soon enough
Default

1. In a new chain, Centipede is CL1 and Abysslinde is CL2. If Abysslinde Special Summons Abysspike, it misses timing.

2. Marksman is mandatory, so Lightpulsar will miss timing here if Infantry is CL2.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:39 AM   #3
poemi
Let's にゃー!
 
poemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 6°10′41.90″S 106°37′54.80″E
Posts: 2,069
iTrader: 0
poemi is on a distinguished road
Default

yes, centipede and linde creates segoc (CL1 centipede, CL2 linde). if centipede effect is activated and resolved it would make abysspike that summoned by linde effect miss timing.

yes, marksman will still activate and resolve without effect. that would make pulsar miss timing.

edit: I need more finger
poemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:40 AM   #4
The Chief
Pojo Veteran
 
The Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: 0
The Chief is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Knightmare77 View Post
Question 1:


Player 1: Inzektor Centi equiped by a hornet
Player 2: Set abyss sphere

Player 1 activates Inzektor Hornet eff targeting Abyss sphere
Player 2 chains abyss sphere special summoning a linde

Chain Resolves hornet destroying abyss sphere


Now.. would Centipede effect chain to linde´s?
Can Centipede effect make abysspike lose timing?



Question 2:


Player 1 Discarded Infantry and Marskman to special summon Megalo
Player 2 Has a Light pulsar and no other cards

Player 1 order the chain: Marskman 1, Infantry 2, Megalo 3 and targeted Pulsar with Infantry.

Does Marksman effect has to active or resolve even if Player 1 doesnt control any set cards? Can it make Light pulsar miss timing?

Question 1:

SEGOC. If player 1 chooses to activate the effect of "Inzektor Centipede", and player 2 also chooses to activate the effect of "Mermail Abysslinde", the chain would be as follows:

1."Inzektor Centipede"

2."Mermail Abysslinde"

Because of this, even if "Mermail Abysslinde" special summoned "Mermail Abysspike" it would miss timing.

Question 2:

Even though "Atlantean Marksman" is a mandatory effect, it cannot activate, insofar as there aren't any legal targets. Therefore, "Atlantean Heavy Infantry" would be chain link 1. If there had been a set card, because the former is mandatory, you would have to target that set card, and therefore "Lightpulsar Dragon" would miss the timing.
__________________
Dueling Network Junior Administrator: Unorthodoxical-Princ


I AM BACK KODOMO-TACHI
The Chief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:06 PM   #5
cosmetiago
Pojo Veteran
 
cosmetiago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,111
iTrader: 0
cosmetiago is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Chief View Post
Question 1:

SEGOC. If player 1 chooses to activate the effect of "Inzektor Centipede", and player 2 also chooses to activate the effect of "Mermail Abysslinde", the chain would be as follows:

1."Inzektor Centipede"

2."Mermail Abysslinde"

Because of this, even if "Mermail Abysslinde" special summoned "Mermail Abysspike" it would miss timing.

Question 2:

Even though "Atlantean Marksman" is a mandatory effect, it cannot activate, insofar as there aren't any legal targets. Therefore, "Atlantean Heavy Infantry" would be chain link 1. If there had been a set card, because the former is mandatory, you would have to target that set card, and therefore "Lightpulsar Dragon" would miss the timing.
Even if the opponent does not control any Set cards, this effect activates and starts a chain.[2]

http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Ru...ntean_Marksman

So Lightpulsar will miss timing with that chain formed.
cosmetiago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:15 PM   #6
The Chief
Pojo Veteran
 
The Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: 0
The Chief is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmetiago View Post
Even if the opponent does not control any Set cards, this effect activates and starts a chain.[2]

http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Ru...ntean_Marksman

So Lightpulsar will miss timing with that chain formed.
That's an OCG ruling. In the TCG, if there aren't any valid targets the mandatory effect will not activate.


Had to do some digging. Oh..I'm embarassed Q_Q. Back in the old days...

http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread...g#post24158750


http://www.pojo.biz/board/showpost.p...&postcount=161
__________________
Dueling Network Junior Administrator: Unorthodoxical-Princ


I AM BACK KODOMO-TACHI

Last edited by The Chief : 01-26-2013 at 12:20 PM.
The Chief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:41 PM   #7
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,877
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Chief View Post
That's an OCG ruling. In the TCG, if there aren't any valid targets the mandatory effect will not activate.


Had to do some digging. Oh..I'm embarassed Q_Q. Back in the old days...

http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread...g#post24158750


http://www.pojo.biz/board/showpost.p...&postcount=161
Do you have anything official?
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:59 PM   #8
The Chief
Pojo Veteran
 
The Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: 0
The Chief is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
Do you have anything official?
No .

The most valid thing is the email ruling and extrapolation from PSCT articles. I still abide by that, and to support this I just use PSCT logic.

During this article:

Anything that explains CONDITIONS to activate a card, or limits WHEN or HOW OFTEN you can activate a card, will be written in green and called ‘green text’. Green text limits when you can do things.


Anything that happens WHEN YOU ACTIVATE a card will be written in red and called ‘red text’. This includes things like costs and targeting.


Anything that happens when you resolve a card will be written in blue and called ‘blue text’. This is what happens when the card effect actually happens.

Notice how it is under the "when you activate" section. So, essentially, if there is no valid target, the highlighted red is not even applicable, so there is no such thing as "when you activate".

But ye.
__________________
Dueling Network Junior Administrator: Unorthodoxical-Princ


I AM BACK KODOMO-TACHI
The Chief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 01:05 PM   #9
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,877
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift will become famous soon enough
Default

YCSs don't like to follow email rulings, which is why I keep telling you guys not to focus on them.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 01:16 PM   #10
The Chief
Pojo Veteran
 
The Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: 0
The Chief is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
YCSs don't like to follow email rulings, which is why I keep telling you guys not to focus on them.
Yeah but this one accords with PSCT. Hm, maybe they will.

Heh, unfortunately now it's the only thing we have, and PSCT ;_;
__________________
Dueling Network Junior Administrator: Unorthodoxical-Princ


I AM BACK KODOMO-TACHI

Last edited by The Chief : 01-26-2013 at 01:19 PM.
The Chief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 01:35 PM   #11
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,877
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Chief View Post
Yeah but this one accords with PSCT. Hm, maybe they will.

Heh, unfortunately now it's the only thing we have, and PSCT ;_;
There are plenty of official rulings, and previously official rulings on this, as well as everything in the OCG.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Previously-Official Ruling
When "Light and Darkness Dragon" is destroyed and sent to your Graveyard while you have no monsters in your Graveyard that you can Special Summon, the effect of "Light and Darkness Dragon" will not Special Summon a monster but it will still destroy every card you control.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Official Ruling
The effect to Special Summon "Stardust Dragon" targets the "Stardust Dragon". It activates even if there is no "Stardust Dragon" in the Graveyard.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 01:40 PM   #12
The Chief
Pojo Veteran
 
The Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: 0
The Chief is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
There are plenty of official rulings, and previously official rulings on this, as well as everything in the OCG.
Wait what card is the second ruling from?

P.S. joke: And finding something for my side could take ages, do you know how many cards target? Q_Q lol.
__________________
Dueling Network Junior Administrator: Unorthodoxical-Princ


I AM BACK KODOMO-TACHI
The Chief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 01:42 PM   #13
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,877
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift will become famous soon enough
Default

That would be "Majestic Star Dragon".
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 03:05 PM   #14
The Chief
Pojo Veteran
 
The Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,833
iTrader: 0
The Chief is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
That would be "Majestic Star Dragon".
Ok, thanks. Well I'll go with that from now on until something new pops up.
__________________
Dueling Network Junior Administrator: Unorthodoxical-Princ


I AM BACK KODOMO-TACHI
The Chief is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.