Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2013, 04:20 PM   #1
coldconcepts
Just Got Here
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
iTrader: 0
Default prideful roar

I asked a friend of mine from the japanese ocg what i should side against fire fist for upcoming regional qualifiers. One of the cards he mentioned was Prideful Roar, and the reason he gave was that since it says is is activated "during damage calculation", that means that fire fist chainable traps and Forbidden Lance cannot protect their monsters from it, because it activates AFTER the damage step. I just want to clarify whether or not that this is true, and that it cannot have a Forbidden Lance, etc, chained to it.

short version - can you chain Forbidden Lance to Prideful Roar?
coldconcepts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:25 PM   #2
AntiTcb
Number XVI
 
AntiTcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 20
Posts: 2,623
iTrader: 0
Default

No, Forbidden Lance cannot be activated during Damage Calculation, or at any point further into the Damage Step.

Quote:
because it activates AFTER the damage step
Damage Calculation is in the Damage Step.
__________________
DN Name: AntiTcb (Head Administrator)
RC-1 and PC-1 certified Judge
Premier (YCS/WCQ) events judged: 4
The Organization (Number XVI)
Quote:
Originally Posted by yugi0h View Post
There are no stupid questions, there are just stupid people asking a simple question for an obvious answer.
AntiTcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:51 PM   #3
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

Start of the Damage Step
Before Damage Calculation
During Damage Calculation
After Damage Calculation
The special timing for Flip Effects and others
End of the Damage Step

LEARN.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:33 PM   #4
cosmetiago
Pojo Veteran
 
cosmetiago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,111
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkullBuster View Post
Start of the Damage Step
Before Damage Calculation
During Damage Calculation
After Damage Calculation
The special timing for Flip Effects and others
End of the Damage Step

LEARN.
You forgot the "flipping monster face-up" as sub-step 2.
cosmetiago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:42 PM   #5
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

That's included within "before Damage Calculation".
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:51 PM   #6
The Chief
Pojo Veteran
 
The Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,672
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmetiago View Post
You forgot the "flipping monster face-up" as sub-step 2.
That sub-step is superfluous.
__________________
Dueling Network Junior Administrator

Head Judge of Pink Bunny Games LLC

YCS Chicago 2012 Floor Judge

Evo Game Regional 2012 Floor Judge

Misty Mountain Regional 2012 Floor Judge

Lindenhurst Regional 2012 Floor Lead


Future Evo Game Regional 2013 Floor Judge
The Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:58 PM   #7
cosmetiago
Pojo Veteran
 
cosmetiago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,111
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Chief View Post
That sub-step is superfluous.
Not really, depending on the situation, for example a face-down monster with continuous effects.
cosmetiago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 10:12 PM   #8
PsychicKid
Final Orgpu XIV
 
PsychicKid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 11,313
iTrader: 4 (100%)
Default

They are not called substeps, much less numbered.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinTewart View Post
Also note that since the card uses the "if... you can" construction, it's impossible to miss the timing
YGOrganization - Complex TCG Rulings and Articles, OCG Spoilers, and More
PsychicKid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.