Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-2013, 10:03 PM   #1
Joenen
Endless Sorcerer
 
Joenen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Golden Land
Age: 22
Posts: 27,491
iTrader: 0
Default Spellbook of Power V. Forbidden Lance

Just a question, if Lance is chained to the activation of Spellbook of Power, will I still get to add a spellbook to my hand if the monster destroys an opponent's card in battle?
__________________


Creator of The Spellcaster Discussion Thread
/ 3DS Friend Code: 3952-7046-2869 / The YuGiOrganization (Number XVII)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Evangel
Read the OP. It Saves Lives.
Joenen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:10 PM   #2
Homer of Chaos
Punish And Enslave
 
Homer of Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Age: 26
Posts: 19,193
iTrader: 165 (100%)
Default

I don't believe so
__________________

Self-Proclaimed Semi-Retired Champion Duelist
YGO H/W: Looking for Shaddolls
Homer of Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:20 PM   #3
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,460
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

From this article and the card's text, increasing the ATK of the monster and applying the second effect are not dependent on one another.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 86
Redshift's Ruling Quiz 3

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified (not CPR though)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 12:49 AM   #4
RabbitUp
Team Yuyeah
 
RabbitUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Calibrating..
Posts: 6,643
iTrader: 0
Default

An OCG ruling says no:

Quote:
If a Spellcaster-Type monster affected by "Forbidden Lance" is targeted by "Spellbook of Power", neither effect of "Spellbook of Power" is applied.
__________________
DN Username: RabbitUp
(Trap monster support)
RabbitUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 01:44 AM   #5
Joenen
Endless Sorcerer
 
Joenen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The Golden Land
Age: 22
Posts: 27,491
iTrader: 0
Default

Hmm, so it looks to be a difference between the TCG and OCG perhaps? Or maybe its simply that Power pre-dates that tcg article and could be errata'd later...

Or perhaps there's mini-guts rulings? I mean they essentially have the same text, so say a monster was targeted by mini0guts, and Forbidden Lance is chained, while the attack isn't reduced to zero, would the opponent still receive damage equal to the original attack when that monster is destroyed?
__________________


Creator of The Spellcaster Discussion Thread
/ 3DS Friend Code: 3952-7046-2869 / The YuGiOrganization (Number XVII)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Evangel
Read the OP. It Saves Lives.
Joenen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 02:39 AM   #6
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,358
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joenen View Post
Hmm, so it looks to be a difference between the TCG and OCG perhaps?
Just because they are not dependant on each other doesn't mean that the 2nd effect can affect monsters that are unaffected by the effect of spell cards.

Independance just means that they don't care if about each other. If for example, Reverse Trap was used and the monster lost ATK instead of gaining, the 2nd lingering effect of Power will still be placed onto the monster.

Edit:
The same would apply to mini-guts. If a monster is unaffected by Spell cards, it is unaffected by both effects.

Independance for Mini-Guts means that you can use it against 0 atk monsters like those summoned by Hieratic Dragons.

Additional Comment:

An example of a Dependent 2nd effect that relies on the ATK change going through would be Alchemy Circle.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
set that man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintenderek View Post
The only problem I've having with it is that I'm throwing money at the screen and it's not arriving any sooner.

Last edited by Unities : 01-08-2013 at 02:39 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Unities is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 07:08 PM   #7
3.E3.E
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10,456
iTrader: 55 (97%)
Default

I clicked hoping maybe to touch on the wisdom vs lance question.

Would the monster lose 800 attack, or no?
3.E3.E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 07:09 PM   #8
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,460
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.E3.E View Post
I clicked hoping maybe to touch on the wisdom vs lance question.

Would the monster lose 800 attack, or no?
Which one resolved first?
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 86
Redshift's Ruling Quiz 3

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified (not CPR though)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 07:11 PM   #9
3.E3.E
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10,456
iTrader: 55 (97%)
Default

So wisdom cl1, lance cl2 would cause the 800 loss.

Wisdom cl2, lance cl1 would cause the attack to remain?
3.E3.E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 07:13 PM   #10
DragonXDoom
Magic Misuser
 
DragonXDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,595
iTrader: 0
Default

Correct .
__________________
I happen to be RC-1 certified.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corpse View Post
DragonXDoom is correct in all accounts.
My current deck: Looking for a new one.
DragonXDoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 07:13 PM   #11
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,460
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Of course. That's the point of making it unaffected by other Spell Cards.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 86
Redshift's Ruling Quiz 3

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified (not CPR though)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 07:14 PM   #12
3.E3.E
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10,456
iTrader: 55 (97%)
Default

Thanks. Wouldn't be the same without the ooze of sarcasm dripping from the vowels.

Love you Redshift. :3
3.E3.E is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.