Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2012, 07:03 PM   #1
DraycoCold
Omnipotent
 
DraycoCold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Topeka KS
Posts: 802
iTrader: 19 (100%)
DraycoCold is on a distinguished road
Default Soul Drain vs Dark Worlds

Okay. So. All the threads I've read on this really haven't directly answered my question. So, I'll just ask straight forward. Does it stop Dark Worlds? Normally, I'd find this to be a completely stupid question. The only thing that is throwing me off about the card, is the '(that start a Chain).' at the end of the card description. I almost feel ashamed for not quite understanding it. But, meh. Might as well ask, instead of just.. Not really knowing. o-o
__________________
Quote:
I used to be a duelist like you, but then I took a card game to the motorcycle
DraycoCold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:05 PM   #2
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,735
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is on a distinguished road
Default

It prevents them from activating when they are discarded, yes.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:06 PM   #3
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,924
iTrader: 0
ness00 is on a distinguished road
Default

It stops effects that activate in the Graveyard, meaning, that start a chain. Most of the effects of Dark World Monsters fall into that category. Special Summoning Grapha does not.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:06 PM   #4
aiwotorimodose
( ‾▿‾)
 
aiwotorimodose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: few decades in the future
Posts: 815
iTrader: 0
aiwotorimodose is on a distinguished road
Default

it would prevent dark world monster effect that would activate on the grave from activating.
to know what stuff activate you need to look a bit on that PSCT thing

._.
__________________
aiwotorimodose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:06 PM   #5
phoenixrawr
Was here all along
 
phoenixrawr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,580
iTrader: 0
phoenixrawr is on a distinguished road
Default

The Dark World monsters' effects related to discarding them all start a chain, so Soul Drain will stop them from activating.

For a monster card, any time you see a colon (":") or a semicolon (";") in an effect you know it will start a chain.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enkuresis View Post
I looked it up and nothing says I can't.
This is Yu-Gi-Oh, not Air Bud.
phoenixrawr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:07 PM   #6
DraycoCold
Omnipotent
 
DraycoCold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Topeka KS
Posts: 802
iTrader: 19 (100%)
DraycoCold is on a distinguished road
Default

Going to have to look more into the 'Start a chain' thing. Thank you both very much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixrawr View Post
The Dark World monsters' effects related to discarding them all start a chain, so Soul Drain will stop them from activating.

For a monster card, any time you see a colon (":") or a semicolon (";") in an effect you know it will start a chain.
Now THAT Answers it completely. Normally rulings aren't a problem with me. That one last sentence on the card just threw me off a bit. Thank you!
__________________
Quote:
I used to be a duelist like you, but then I took a card game to the motorcycle

Last edited by DraycoCold : 12-06-2012 at 07:09 PM.
DraycoCold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:09 PM   #7
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,735
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DraycoCold View Post
Going to have to look more into the 'Start a chain' thing. Thank you both very much.
Like most basic rules, this is all explained in the rulebook (page 39 through 41).
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 07:11 PM   #8
DraycoCold
Omnipotent
 
DraycoCold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Topeka KS
Posts: 802
iTrader: 19 (100%)
DraycoCold is on a distinguished road
Default

PS...CT Thing?

Additional Comment:

Wouldn't think to refer to the book. This is really probably the.. First ruling problem I've had in months. And, a bit of a stupid one on my part. xD I suppose I was just over thinking it a bit. I'm sure I have a recent rule book laying around though, somewhere. Or I could just look up the book.
__________________
Quote:
I used to be a duelist like you, but then I took a card game to the motorcycle

Last edited by DraycoCold : 12-06-2012 at 07:13 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
DraycoCold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 09:25 PM   #9
Homer of Chaos
War.Greymon
 
Homer of Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 26
Posts: 19,767
iTrader: 171 (100%)
Homer of Chaos is on a distinguished road
Default

PSCT = Problem Solving Card Text

There are articles Konami has published it (as well as a sticky in this forum) about it.
__________________

Self-Proclaimed Semi-Retired Champion Duelist
YGO H/W: Looking for DT Emeral, Odd-Eyes, Summoner's Art
Homer's Middleman Services
Homer of Chaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.