Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2012, 01:20 AM   #1
TedTheMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 424
iTrader: -1 (0%)
Default Abyss Sphere vs Trap Stun

1 If you chain Trap Stun to opponent's Abyss Sphere being activated on opponent's turn, does Abyss Sphere not destroy itself during your end-phase?

2 If you chain Trap Stun to opponent's Abyss Sphere being activated on your turn main-phase, does Abyss Sphere not destroy itself during your end-phase?

3 If you activate Trap Stun after Abyss Sphere has already resolved and summoned a monster, does Abyss Sphere not destroy itself during your end-phase?

Is there a reason why Trap Stun prevents Abyss Sphere's destruction and why Royal Decree doesn't?
"Even if the effect of "Royal Decree" is being applied, during the opponent's next End Phase, "Abyss-sphere" is destroyed.[5]" http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Card_Rulings:Abyss-sphere
TedTheMan is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 01:48 AM   #2
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,521
iTrader: 0
Default

Abyss Sphere's destruction is not an effect similar to Swords of Revealing lights destruction. Nothing will prevent it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
set that man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintenderek View Post
The only problem I've having with it is that I'm throwing money at the screen and it's not arriving any sooner.
Unities is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 02:09 AM   #3
aiwotorimodose
( ‾▿‾)
 
aiwotorimodose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: few decades in the future
Posts: 815
iTrader: 0
Default

just yesterday cardguy said it's negateable in TCG
http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1094045
__________________
aiwotorimodose is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 02:40 AM   #4
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,521
iTrader: 0
Default

Interesting. So in the TCG both Royal Decree and Trap Stun will negate it, cool. More differences between the CG's to remember. >.<
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
set that man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintenderek View Post
The only problem I've having with it is that I'm throwing money at the screen and it's not arriving any sooner.
Unities is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 10:38 AM   #5
TedTheMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 424
iTrader: -1 (0%)
Default

So we are to disregard the official OCG ruling until Konami says otherwise?

Just to clarify? Does Trap Stun have to be in effect during the turn of destruction or just as long as it negates the effect on activation?
TedTheMan is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 10:52 AM   #6
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,521
iTrader: 0
Default

1 Yep
2 it doesn't matter
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
set that man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintenderek View Post
The only problem I've having with it is that I'm throwing money at the screen and it's not arriving any sooner.
Unities is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 11:29 AM   #7
Penguin_Glyph
Registered User
 
Penguin_Glyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Age: 25
Posts: 298
iTrader: 7 (100%)
Default

I brought this up in single card discussion last week because the ruling is official since the Seattle YCS.

http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1093701

However I'm not sure what will happen if you activate it during their turn if they activate Abyss sphere during their turn. I'm not sure it's really an issue though, because any good atlantean player would activate it during your turn.
__________________

Current Decks:
Elspeth, Knight Errant Token Spam
Penguin_Glyph is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 11:42 AM   #8
aiwotorimodose
( ‾▿‾)
 
aiwotorimodose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: few decades in the future
Posts: 815
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Penguin_Glyph View Post
However I'm not sure what will happen if you activate it during their turn if they activate Abyss sphere during their turn. I'm not sure it's really an issue though, because any good atlantean player would activate it during your turn.
doesn't matter, as long as the activation isn't negated (stun & decree negates effect) the destruction will try to apply on opponent's EP.
__________________
aiwotorimodose is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 02:05 PM   #9
TedTheMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 424
iTrader: -1 (0%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unities View Post
1 Yep
2 it doesn't matter
So Trap Stun can negate the effect when activated on opponent's turn then on my turn Abyss Sphere still won't destroy itself?

Additional Comment:

Quote:
Originally Posted by aiwotorimodose View Post
doesn't matter, as long as the activation isn't negated (stun & decree negates effect) the destruction will try to apply on opponent's EP.
It's being ruled that if Trap Stun is in effect during the turn of destruction that it negates Abyss Sphere's destruction, even if it successfully activated and resolved.

Last edited by TedTheMan : 11-26-2012 at 02:05 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
TedTheMan is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 02:50 PM   #10
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,521
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TedTheMan View Post
So Trap Stun can negate the effect when activated on opponent's turn then on my turn Abyss Sphere still won't destroy itself?
Obviously it will destroy itself. Trap Stun's effect only lasts 1 turn...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
set that man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintenderek View Post
The only problem I've having with it is that I'm throwing money at the screen and it's not arriving any sooner.
Unities is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 08:16 PM   #11
Penguin_Glyph
Registered User
 
Penguin_Glyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Age: 25
Posts: 298
iTrader: 7 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unities View Post
Obviously it will destroy itself. Trap Stun's effect only lasts 1 turn...
Unities, please don't go on Q&A forums if you don't know the rulings. The YCS head judge ruled that it stays on field FOREVER, if you Trap Stun it. It does forget to destroy itself and from that point onward the Merlantean player can't activate magic cards until it leaves the field. So they can't MST it. If you go to my link earlier I have a reference to the ruling.

In short, everyone side Trap Stun.
__________________

Current Decks:
Elspeth, Knight Errant Token Spam
Penguin_Glyph is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 08:37 PM   #12
bioober
Pojo Veteran
 
bioober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,753
iTrader: 5 (86%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Penguin_Glyph View Post
Unities, please don't go on Q&A forums if you don't know the rulings. The YCS head judge ruled that it stays on field FOREVER, if you Trap Stun it. It does forget to destroy itself and from that point onward the Merlantean player can't activate magic cards until it leaves the field. So they can't MST it. If you go to my link earlier I have a reference to the ruling.

In short, everyone side Trap Stun.
What? Why would it prevent itself from destroying itself if you Trap Stun it on the previous turn?
__________________
bioober is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 08:45 PM   #13
Penguin_Glyph
Registered User
 
Penguin_Glyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Age: 25
Posts: 298
iTrader: 7 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bioober View Post
What? Why would it prevent itself from destroying itself if you Trap Stun it on the previous turn?
You mean if the merlantian player activated it on their turn? I suppose you might be right, I'm not sure why the merlantian player would play abyss sphere on their turn nor why you'd activate Trap Stun on their turn. The ruling overall is a bit beyond me. Honestly I don't know that for sure
__________________

Current Decks:
Elspeth, Knight Errant Token Spam
Penguin_Glyph is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 08:48 PM   #14
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,909
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bioober View Post
What? Why would it prevent itself from destroying itself if you Trap Stun it on the previous turn?
Sphere only has one window to destroy itself: The opponent's next End Phase. If Trap Stun is active at that time, it will never destroy itself again.
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 08:49 PM   #15
Penguin_Glyph
Registered User
 
Penguin_Glyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Age: 25
Posts: 298
iTrader: 7 (100%)
Default

If you negate the effect of your opponents abyss sphere with Trap Stun on your turn, it will stay on the field permanently. The ruling in controversial.
__________________

Current Decks:
Elspeth, Knight Errant Token Spam
Penguin_Glyph is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 09:52 PM   #16
bioober
Pojo Veteran
 
bioober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,753
iTrader: 5 (86%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ness00 View Post
Sphere only has one window to destroy itself: The opponent's next End Phase. If Trap Stun is active at that time, it will never destroy itself again.
Yes, that is what Unities originally meant, but Penguin_Glyph disagreed.
__________________
bioober is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 10:42 PM   #17
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,909
iTrader: 0
Default

I don't really see how Unities meant to say that, but if he disagrees, he's free to reply.
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 11:01 PM   #18
bioober
Pojo Veteran
 
bioober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,753
iTrader: 5 (86%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ness00 View Post
I don't really see how Unities meant to say that, but if he disagrees, he's free to reply.
Well to put it all together, I was disagreeing with Penguin_Glyph disagreeing with Unities disagreeing with TedTheMan's original post.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TedTheMan View Post
So Trap Stun can negate the effect when activated on opponent's turn then on my turn Abyss Sphere still won't destroy itself?
So final conclusion is that if and only if Abyss Sphere is negated while trying to apply its self destruction effect, it will remain face-up on the field never to destroy itself again.
__________________
bioober is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 11:24 PM   #19
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,521
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ness00 View Post
I don't really see how Unities meant to say that, but if he disagrees, he's free to reply.
I misread the question. I thought it was his Trap Stun activating in response to the opponent's Sphere during the opponent's turn.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
set that man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintenderek View Post
The only problem I've having with it is that I'm throwing money at the screen and it's not arriving any sooner.
Unities is offline  
Old 11-27-2012, 12:54 AM   #20
TedTheMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 424
iTrader: -1 (0%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ness00 View Post
Sphere only has one window to destroy itself: The opponent's next End Phase. If Trap Stun is active at that time, it will never destroy itself again.
Would you apply this ruling to Royal Decree too even though the Wikia has a Royal Decree ruling for it?
TedTheMan is offline  
Old 11-27-2012, 01:02 AM   #21
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,521
iTrader: 0
Default

Yes because TCG and OCG are different games. We have many rulings that are different and will not be found on the Wikia.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
set that man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintenderek View Post
The only problem I've having with it is that I'm throwing money at the screen and it's not arriving any sooner.
Unities is offline  
Old 11-27-2012, 02:47 AM   #22
TedTheMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 424
iTrader: -1 (0%)
Default

Anyone know a good way for a judge to show source for this TCG only ruling? Is it discussed on Judge forum or Judge facebook group???
TedTheMan is offline  
Old 11-27-2012, 03:18 AM   #23
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,521
iTrader: 0
Default

Jadges don't need sources. Their word at a sanctioned event is law even if it breaks any and all the rulings you know.

Edit:
The biggest problem with rulings updates now a days is that Konami really ever issues them to the public anymore. So you'll be hard press to find any recording of the new updates (This ruling for example) or lack of (cards triggering while in non public knowledge area).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
set that man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintenderek View Post
The only problem I've having with it is that I'm throwing money at the screen and it's not arriving any sooner.

Last edited by Unities : 11-27-2012 at 03:22 AM.
Unities is offline  
Old 11-27-2012, 03:23 AM   #24
david0925
Pojo Veteran
 
david0925's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 9,319
iTrader: 21 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unities View Post
Yes because TCG and OCG are different games. We have many rulings that are different and will not be found on the Wikia.
I really wish one of these stupid discrepancies happen at Worlds.
__________________
-Attempting- to quit Pojo outside of trading to prevent further brain damage. If you want to talk to me, please PM. Thanks

Well this is quite ironic

Trade Thread
david0925 is online now  
Old 11-27-2012, 08:25 AM   #25
Penguin_Glyph
Registered User
 
Penguin_Glyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Canada
Age: 25
Posts: 298
iTrader: 7 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unities View Post
I misread the question. I thought it was his Trap Stun activating in response to the opponent's Sphere during the opponent's turn.
Sorry, with a ruling like this one, some of what we're saying is rather vague and can be confused if not properly specified as to who's turn it is, and who's using what card. I meant no harm.
__________________

Current Decks:
Elspeth, Knight Errant Token Spam
Penguin_Glyph is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.