Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2012, 02:59 PM   #1
Jack-Wyler
Registered User
 
Jack-Wyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Age: 30
Posts: 357
iTrader: 0
Default The Grand Spellbook Tower vs MST

If i chain MST to this card Standby Phase effect, will the summoning part of the card miss the timing or not?
Jack-Wyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:22 PM   #2
MATT001
Pojo Veteran
 
MATT001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: England
Posts: 2,932
iTrader: 0
Default

Yes. It was destroyed at Chain Link 2.
__________________
A cracking read.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LittLeD View Post
Thank you for saving the thread MATT, I was ready to tear my eye balls out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
I'm pretty sure that 2500 + 500 is 3000, not 2500, but I don't have a calculator on me to make sure.
MATT001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:45 PM   #3
Jack-Wyler
Registered User
 
Jack-Wyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Age: 30
Posts: 357
iTrader: 0
Default

Yeah, but i was wondering since a field spell not on the field at resolution see its effect not applied.
Jack-Wyler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:53 PM   #4
MATT001
Pojo Veteran
 
MATT001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: England
Posts: 2,932
iTrader: 0
Default

The effect is not applied, true, but the effect still resolves (albeit emptily). The Chain Link is only removed if the activation itself is negated.
__________________
A cracking read.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LittLeD View Post
Thank you for saving the thread MATT, I was ready to tear my eye balls out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
I'm pretty sure that 2500 + 500 is 3000, not 2500, but I don't have a calculator on me to make sure.
MATT001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:54 PM   #5
phoenixrawr
Was here all along
 
phoenixrawr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,580
iTrader: 0
Default

The first effect will not resolve because, as you noted, field spells need to remain face-up to resolve their effects. Your opponent will not place a Spellbook on the bottom of their deck or draw a card. Its chain link is still present though because MST did not negate the activation of Spelltower. The second effect will miss the timing for the reason Matt stated.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enkuresis View Post
I looked it up and nothing says I can't.
This is Yu-Gi-Oh, not Air Bud.
phoenixrawr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:31 PM   #6
Homer of Chaos
War.Greymon
 
Homer of Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 26
Posts: 19,624
iTrader: 171 (100%)
Default

I love how this card helps itself miss the timing
__________________

Self-Proclaimed Semi-Retired Champion Duelist
YGO H/W: Looking for DT Emeral, Odd-Eyes, Summoner's Art
Homer of Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.