Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2012, 04:00 PM   #1
vansonbee
Registered User
 
vansonbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 346
iTrader: 0
vansonbee is on a distinguished road
Default Mermail Abyssmegalo negated by Judgement

When Mermail Abyssmegalo discard those 2 water monsters that destroys a set and a face-up. If I negate mermail abyssmegalo water effect, will those 2 go off still?
__________________
vansonbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:07 PM   #2
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,646
iTrader: 0
Unities is on a distinguished road
Default

Of course, negating an effect is not the same as negating an activation. Even if you negated the activation, it still trigger the discarded cards just like how you cannot activate a 2nd Rescue Rabbit.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
set that man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintenderek View Post
The only problem I've having with it is that I'm throwing money at the screen and it's not arriving any sooner.
Unities is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 04:37 PM   #3
Homer of Chaos
War.Greymon
 
Homer of Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 26
Posts: 19,972
iTrader: 171 (100%)
Homer of Chaos will become famous soon enough
Default

You can't Solemn Judgment Mermail Abyssmegalo anyways.
__________________

Self-Proclaimed Semi-Retired Champion Duelist
YGO H/W: Looking for DT Emeral, Odd-Eyes, Summoner's Art
Homer's Middleman Services
Homer of Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 06:44 PM   #4
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
SkullBuster is on a distinguished road
Default

Solemn Judgment does not negate Monster Effects.

Try Solemn Warning.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:17 PM   #5
Amplexius
Junior Member
 
Amplexius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Split, Croatia
Age: 19
Posts: 38
iTrader: 0
Amplexius is on a distinguished road
Default

Why cant u Solemn on Abyssmegalo?
Amplexius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:34 PM   #6
Icebound
Gravekeeper
 
Icebound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,894
iTrader: 38 (100%)
Icebound is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amplexius View Post
Why cant u Solemn on Abyssmegalo?
Because you can't negate a summon happening in resolution. For example, you cannot negate an opponent's monster summoned by Monster Reborn. You must negate Monster Reborn itself. Since Abyssmegalo's summon is through the resolution of its effect, it cannot be judgmented.

Thunder King Rai-Oh, Black Horn of Heaven, and Evolzar Laggia behave similarly.
__________________
~~~Trades~~~

Last edited by Icebound : 11-14-2012 at 11:37 PM.
Icebound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 11:52 PM   #7
Shinhwa
カオス・ドラゴンの女王
 
Shinhwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada, Ontario Deck: Chaos Dragons
Posts: 12,367
iTrader: 0
Shinhwa is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amplexius View Post
Why cant u Solemn on Abyssmegalo?
If you read the card carefully, then you will know why (Know PSCT!). But to say it simply, its summoning is an ignition effect. It's not an inherent summon. That's why it works with Atlanteans.

Solemn Judgment, Thunder King Rai-Oh, Black Horn of Heaven, Evolzar Laggia can't negate summons of monsters like Gorz, Tragoedia, Chaos Hunter, Battle Fader, because their effects that special summon itself is a trigger effect. Solemn Judgment doesn't negate "effects".

Same case with Abyssmegalo, except this one is an ignition effect instead of Trigger effect.

So in case someone summons Abyssmegalo via its effect, he/she must reveal the card first and declaring that he/she is activating Abyssmegalo's effect to special summon itself by discarding 2 WATER monsters as cost.

so in this case, Abyssmegalo can be negated by Solemn Warning, Evolzar Dolkka, Divine Wrath, Infernity Barrier, and Herald.
Shinhwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:21 PM   #8
rbx270j
Registered User
 
rbx270j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 141
iTrader: 1 (100%)
rbx270j is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fudo Yusei View Post
If you read the card carefully, then you will know why (Know PSCT!). But to say it simply, its summoning is an ignition effect. It's not an inherent summon. That's why it works with Atlanteans.

Solemn Judgment, Thunder King Rai-Oh, Black Horn of Heaven, Evolzar Laggia can't negate summons of monsters like Gorz, Tragoedia, Chaos Hunter, Battle Fader, because their effects that special summon itself is a trigger effect. Solemn Judgment doesn't negate "effects".

Same case with Abyssmegalo, except this one is an ignition effect instead of Trigger effect.

So in case someone summons Abyssmegalo via its effect, he/she must reveal the card first and declaring that he/she is activating Abyssmegalo's effect to special summon itself by discarding 2 WATER monsters as cost.

so in this case, Abyssmegalo can be negated by Solemn Warning, Evolzar Dolkka, Divine Wrath, Infernity Barrier, and Herald.

Does this mean that you can use Debunk on Abyssmegalo?
rbx270j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 12:22 PM   #9
Shinhwa
カオス・ドラゴンの女王
 
Shinhwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada, Ontario Deck: Chaos Dragons
Posts: 12,367
iTrader: 0
Shinhwa is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbx270j View Post
Does this mean that you can use Debunk on Abyssmegalo?
That is correct, as Mermail Abyssmegalo activates in the hand.
Shinhwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 02:50 PM   #10
TheGeneral69
TIGER UPPERCUT
 
TheGeneral69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,754
iTrader: 25 (100%)
TheGeneral69 is on a distinguished road
Default

When you reveal Abyssmegalo and discard 2 Marksman, do both Marksman's effects go off to destroy before Abyssmegalo is summoned? Or do you reveal, discard the two, summon Abyssmegalo, then Marksman's effects go off?

Thanks!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by yomanation View Post
Heavy coming back ain't realistic.

Also, Heavy + 2 MST? Yeah, right, son.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BellAtSCG View Post
this deck extra expensive, thats mad bags of herb, **** that
Shonen Jump - where 4-6 weeks really means 4-6 years
TheGeneral69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 03:03 PM   #11
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,951
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift will become famous soon enoughRedshift will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGeneral69 View Post
When you reveal Abyssmegalo and discard 2 Marksman, do both Marksman's effects go off to destroy before Abyssmegalo is summoned? Or do you reveal, discard the two, summon Abyssmegalo, then Marksman's effects go off?

Thanks!
"Mermail Abyssmegalo"'s first effect has its own chain, which activates and resolves separately before its second effect, as well as the Atlanteans' effects, form a chain together. There is no way that a Trigger Effect can ever chain to an Ignition Effect.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:08 PM   #12
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
SkullBuster is on a distinguished road
Default

Nice highjack by the way.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:32 AM   #13
Coldsteel
Pojo Veteran
 
Coldsteel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 557
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Coldsteel is on a distinguished road
Default

Solemn Warning (and similar eff) DOES and WILL negate the effect of the Atlanteans used to activate the effect of abyssmegalo. Since Warning and Dolkka Negate and Destroy cards on ACTIVATION.
So pretty much Warning is a -3 for you....
Coldsteel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 07:35 AM   #14
bioober
Pojo Veteran
 
bioober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,856
iTrader: 5 (86%)
bioober is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coldsteel View Post
Solemn Warning (and similar eff) DOES and WILL negate the effect of the Atlanteans used to activate the effect of abyssmegalo. Since Warning and Dolkka Negate and Destroy cards on ACTIVATION.
So pretty much Warning is a -3 for you....
What? As of now I don't believe there is an Atlantean that special summons upon being sent to the graveyard.
And I don't see the connection you're trying to make of the emphasis on "Destroy cards on ACTIVATION"
__________________
bioober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 07:55 AM   #15
Shinhwa
カオス・ドラゴンの女王
 
Shinhwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada, Ontario Deck: Chaos Dragons
Posts: 12,367
iTrader: 0
Shinhwa is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coldsteel View Post
Solemn Warning (and similar eff) DOES and WILL negate the effect of the Atlanteans used to activate the effect of abyssmegalo. Since Warning and Dolkka Negate and Destroy cards on ACTIVATION.
So pretty much Warning is a -3 for you....
*sends you to read the rulebook on chains*
Shinhwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 12:20 PM   #16
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,951
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift will become famous soon enoughRedshift will become famous soon enough
Default

If "Solemn Warning" or "Evolzar Dolkka" negate the activation of a WATER monster's effect, such as "Mermail Abyssmegalo", the effects of any Atlantean monsters used to pay the cost will still activate.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.