Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Pokémon > Pokémon TCG Deck Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-16-2012, 11:48 PM   #1
redavhtrad
Pojo Veteran

redavhtrad is on a distinguished road
Default registeel ex/cobalion metal control deck

alright, so here's the deck i've been working on for my locals (we have no format restrictions other than post-fossil) and i don't think i'll competitively play pokemon above the local level, so i'm not worried about my deck being up to date with the format

that being said, i would like some advice on what to do to make this deck more competitive, as i'm still relatively new to the game...i'll go ahead and give you guys my decklist

pokemon - 29
4 - skarmory (undaunted)
2 - registeel ex (dragons exalted)
3 - cobalion (noble victories)
2-2 claydol (promo league)
3-3-2 flygon (rising rivals)
3-3-2 kinklang (B&W base set)

trainers - 17
2 - potion
4 - bebe's search
4 - level ball
2 - eviolite
1 - luxury ball
4 - max potion

energy - 14
4 - DCE
4 - special metal energy
6 - metal energy

so, now on to the mechanics of the deck...

skarmory is the ideal first play of the deck, with a registeel or cobalion on the bench. skarmory will energy ramp the registeel/cobalion for attacking @ 80+ damage as early as the 2nd turn

skarmory can search out special metal energies, so it will boost the defensive abilities of whichever beatstick you come out with first

cobalion will wreak havok with its iron breaker ability, and evolite and special metal energy will stack to create a nearly impenetrable wall (especially after registeel boosts itself with protect charge)

now on to support pokemon

flygon is in there because its a good all around pokemon (imo) its ability gives all my pokemon a retreat cost of 0, it can swing for 80-100 (depending on how many evolved pokemon i have out at the time) and it can deal with stadiums if need be