Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2012, 09:15 PM   #1
KingdomheartsXIII
Hero to Zero
 
KingdomheartsXIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5,184
iTrader: 73 (96%)
Default XYZ Summoning with Monsters equipped with Equip Spells/Cards.

Let's say I have an Evocator Chevalier equipped with a Gemini Booster. If I XYZ Summon using this monster as an XYZ material, does the Equip Card get destroyed? Or just get sent to the Graveyard?
__________________


NEW - Pokemon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire Trailer!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBIN8V5CPvo


Trade Thread:
http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1182813

Last edited by KingdomheartsXIII : 08-14-2012 at 09:19 PM.
KingdomheartsXIII is online now  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:16 PM   #2
cosmetiago
Pojo Veteran
 
cosmetiago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,111
iTrader: 0
Default

It is sent to the Graveyard.
cosmetiago is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:18 PM   #3
phoenixrawr
Was here all along
 
phoenixrawr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,580
iTrader: 0
Default

Equip Spell Cards that lose their targets are destroyed by game mechanics.

Page 23 of the rulebook:
If the equipped monster is destroyed, flipped facedown, or removed from the field, its Equip Cards are destroyed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enkuresis View Post
I looked it up and nothing says I can't.
This is Yu-Gi-Oh, not Air Bud.
phoenixrawr is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:21 PM   #4
KingdomheartsXIII
Hero to Zero
 
KingdomheartsXIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5,184
iTrader: 73 (96%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixrawr View Post
Page 23 of the rulebook:
If the equipped monster is destroyed, flipped facedown, or removed from the field, its Equip Cards are destroyed.
None of those apply to Overlaying.
__________________


NEW - Pokemon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire Trailer!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBIN8V5CPvo


Trade Thread:
http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1182813
KingdomheartsXIII is online now  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:22 PM   #5
cosmetiago
Pojo Veteran
 
cosmetiago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,111
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixrawr View Post
Equip Spell Cards that lose their targets are destroyed by game mechanics.

Page 23 of the rulebook:
If the equipped monster is destroyed, flipped facedown, or removed from the field, its Equip Cards are destroyed.
Only one problem. An XYZ Material doesn't get destroyed, flipped or even been removed.
cosmetiago is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:22 PM   #6
phoenixrawr
Was here all along
 
phoenixrawr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,580
iTrader: 0
Default

An overlayed monster is removed from the field.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enkuresis View Post
I looked it up and nothing says I can't.
This is Yu-Gi-Oh, not Air Bud.
phoenixrawr is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:23 PM   #7
KingdomheartsXIII
Hero to Zero
 
KingdomheartsXIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5,184
iTrader: 73 (96%)
Default

If Elemental Hero Absolute Zero is used as an XYZ Material, it wouldn't get its effect.
__________________


NEW - Pokemon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire Trailer!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBIN8V5CPvo


Trade Thread:
http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1182813
KingdomheartsXIII is online now  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:25 PM   #8
phoenixrawr
Was here all along
 
phoenixrawr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,580
iTrader: 0
Default

That's because the rulebook specifically forbids trigger effects of the form "If/When this card leaves the field:" from activating. It doesn't mean the monster didn't leave the field, it just means its effect won't activate.

We have this lovely ruling concerning Gladiator Beast Darius (see here) that shows he is treated as leaving the field when returning to the deck, and one for being used in an Xyz Summon as well.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enkuresis View Post
I looked it up and nothing says I can't.
This is Yu-Gi-Oh, not Air Bud.
phoenixrawr is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:36 PM   #9
cosmetiago
Pojo Veteran
 
cosmetiago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,111
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixrawr View Post
That's because the rulebook specifically forbids trigger effects of the form "If/When this card leaves the field:" from activating. It doesn't mean the monster didn't leave the field, it just means its effect won't activate.

We have this lovely ruling concerning Gladiator Beast Darius (see here) that shows he is treated as leaving the field when returning to the deck, and one for being used in an Xyz Summon as well.
Yeah you're right, I forgot about that only effects can't be activated to it.
cosmetiago is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:42 PM   #10
Neonian
im cute & popular
 
Neonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7,051
iTrader: 4 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingdomheartsXIII View Post
If Elemental Hero Absolute Zero is used as an XYZ Material, it wouldn't get its effect.
And that suddenly means it didn't leave the field?
__________________
Number 10 @ YGOrganization.com
Neonian is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:46 PM   #11
Homer of Chaos
Punish And Enslave
 
Homer of Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Age: 26
Posts: 19,220
iTrader: 165 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neonian View Post
And that suddenly means it didn't leave the field?
Leaving the field effects don't trigger if the monster is used as XYZ material or returned to the deck.
__________________

Self-Proclaimed Semi-Retired Champion Duelist
YGO H/W: Looking for Shaddolls
Homer of Chaos is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:49 PM   #12
KingdomheartsXIII
Hero to Zero
 
KingdomheartsXIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5,184
iTrader: 73 (96%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neonian View Post
And that suddenly means it didn't leave the field?
I don't know. I'm sort of here wondering the same thing. Phoenix clarified it, for the both of us.

Additional Comment:

Oh, thanks btw Phoenix.
__________________


NEW - Pokemon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire Trailer!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBIN8V5CPvo


Trade Thread:
http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1182813

Last edited by KingdomheartsXIII : 08-14-2012 at 09:49 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
KingdomheartsXIII is online now  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:50 PM   #13
Homer of Chaos
Punish And Enslave
 
Homer of Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Age: 26
Posts: 19,220
iTrader: 165 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingdomheartsXIII View Post
I don't know. I'm sort of here wondering the same thing. Phoenix clarified it, for the both of us.
"When this card leaves the field: do X" effect is basically short for "when this card on the field is banished or sent the the grave, hand, or extra deck: do X"
__________________

Self-Proclaimed Semi-Retired Champion Duelist
YGO H/W: Looking for Shaddolls

Last edited by Homer of Chaos : 08-14-2012 at 09:54 PM.
Homer of Chaos is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:51 PM   #14
KingdomheartsXIII
Hero to Zero
 
KingdomheartsXIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5,184
iTrader: 73 (96%)
Default

Alrighty, thanks
__________________


NEW - Pokemon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire Trailer!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBIN8V5CPvo


Trade Thread:
http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1182813
KingdomheartsXIII is online now  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:54 PM   #15
bioober
Pojo Veteran
 
bioober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,744
iTrader: 5 (86%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixrawr View Post
That's because the rulebook specifically forbids trigger effects of the form "If/When this card leaves the field:" from activating. It doesn't mean the monster didn't leave the field, it just means its effect won't activate.

We have this lovely ruling concerning Gladiator Beast Darius (see here) that shows he is treated as leaving the field when returning to the deck, and one for being used in an Xyz Summon as well.
So does that mean Plaguespreader Zombie is banished when overlayed?
__________________
bioober is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:54 PM   #16
cosmetiago
Pojo Veteran
 
cosmetiago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,111
iTrader: 0
Default

Quoting from the Rulebook:
"When a monster on the field is shuffled into the Main Deck, or becomes
an Xyz Material, it is no longer a card on the field, however its effects
that activate when it “leaves the field” will not activate."
cosmetiago is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:56 PM   #17
Homer of Chaos
Punish And Enslave
 
Homer of Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Age: 26
Posts: 19,220
iTrader: 165 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bioober View Post
So does that mean Plaguespreader Zombie is banished when overlayed?
I'd be a material by the time it could banish itself and will be sent to the graveyard when detached.
__________________

Self-Proclaimed Semi-Retired Champion Duelist
YGO H/W: Looking for Shaddolls
Homer of Chaos is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 10:00 PM   #18
phoenixrawr
Was here all along
 
phoenixrawr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,580
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bioober View Post
So does that mean Plaguespreader Zombie is banished when overlayed?
No it doesn't. A monster that does something to itself upon leaving the field won't apply its effect when used as an Xyz Material.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enkuresis View Post
I looked it up and nothing says I can't.
This is Yu-Gi-Oh, not Air Bud.
phoenixrawr is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 10:00 PM   #19
KingdomheartsXIII
Hero to Zero
 
KingdomheartsXIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5,184
iTrader: 73 (96%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bioober View Post
So does that mean Plaguespreader Zombie is banished when overlayed?
It's sent to the Graveyard. The same situation applies for Quillbolt Hedgehog.
__________________


NEW - Pokemon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire Trailer!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBIN8V5CPvo


Trade Thread:
http://www.pojo.biz/board/showthread.php?t=1182813
KingdomheartsXIII is online now  
Old 08-14-2012, 10:00 PM   #20
eXe DoctorWhooves
Registered User
 
eXe DoctorWhooves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 132
iTrader: 0
Default

A equip spell card must be continuously targeting somthing, so to the MO...i mean grave with it.

Also pretty much any time somthing says, "Then will be removed when it leaves the field" does not apply when it is xyz'd. Examples are birdman, plague, qubolt, welll..you get the point.
eXe DoctorWhooves is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 10:13 PM   #21
bioober
Pojo Veteran
 
bioober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,744
iTrader: 5 (86%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixrawr View Post
No it doesn't. A monster that does something to itself upon leaving the field won't apply its effect when used as an Xyz Material.
Then why don't you skip the battle phase if Grandsoil the Elemental Lord is used as an xyz material?
__________________
bioober is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 10:24 PM   #22
cosmetiago
Pojo Veteran
 
cosmetiago's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,111
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bioober View Post
Then why don't you skip the battle phase if Grandsoil the Elemental Lord is used as an xyz material?
Any own effect that activates "when/if (this card) is removed from the field" don't apply to becoming an xyz material. It's not that difficult to understand.
cosmetiago is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 10:25 PM   #23
bioober
Pojo Veteran
 
bioober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,744
iTrader: 5 (86%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmetiago View Post
Any own effect that activates "when/if (this card) is removed from the field" don't apply to becoming an xyz material. It's not that difficult to understand.
It doesn't activate, I understand what I'm saying.
__________________
bioober is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 10:28 PM   #24
poemi
Let's にゃー!
 
poemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 6°10′41.90″S 106°37′54.80″E
Posts: 2,057
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bioober View Post
Then why don't you skip the battle phase if Grandsoil the Elemental Lord is used as an xyz material?
sorry, I didn't catch it.
plague only banished if it was summoned by his own effect and stay as a monster (depends on the summon effect), how is that contradict with grandsoil?
poemi is offline  
Old 08-14-2012, 10:34 PM   #25
bioober
Pojo Veteran
 
bioober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,744
iTrader: 5 (86%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poemi View Post
sorry, I didn't catch it.
plague only banished if it was summoned by his own effect and stay as a monster (depends on the summon effect), how is that contradict with grandsoil?
Well, phoenixrawr claims that effects that apply on itself when used as an xyz material won't apply.
But Grandsoil the Elemental Lord doesn't apply anything on itself, yet you don't apply its effect when used as an xyz material.
In respect, phoenixrawr claims, Gladiator Beast Darius's effect is applied when used as in xyz material.

So to sum it up, phoenixrawr's claims are contradictory.
__________________
bioober is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.