Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2012, 04:06 AM   #1
Grapha
Trishy Squishy
 
Grapha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,863
iTrader: 17 (95%)
Default Ryko vs fiendish chain vs torrential

My opponent flip summons ryko. I respond with Fiendish Chain. They respond torrential to ryko.

How is this supposed I play?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaos Pancake View Post
Kisses Trishula good night. Wakes up Trish has gone and has taken my car... WTF.
Beautunaful Coelacanth - A New Take on Water
Trades
Grapha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 04:14 AM   #2
Sick_Samurai_151
Pojo Veteran
 
Sick_Samurai_151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In A Gateway Of the Six
Posts: 1,946
iTrader: 5 (86%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grapha View Post
My opponent flip summons ryko. I respond with Fiendish Chain. They respond torrential to ryko.

How is this supposed I play?
Torrential resolves first, destroying Ryko.

Fiendish Chain, I believe would fizzle because it's target isn't there.

Rykos effect resolves last, and it destroys something.

I'm pretty sure that's how it works out, but someone feel free to correct my answer or my wording
Sick_Samurai_151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 04:29 AM   #3
ether erebus
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: california
Posts: 1,539
iTrader: 106 (100%)
Default

no, because chain negates rykos eff. ryko's eff must activate BEFORE it leaves the field, so it would not work. however, did your opponent attempt to use ryko's eff BEFORE you used chain? if so, then they aknowledge the summon, meaning they can no longer use torriental.
ether erebus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 04:32 AM   #4
Sick_Samurai_151
Pojo Veteran
 
Sick_Samurai_151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In A Gateway Of the Six
Posts: 1,946
iTrader: 5 (86%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ether erebus View Post
no, because chain negates rykos eff. ryko's eff must activate BEFORE it leaves the field, so it would not work. however, did your opponent attempt to use ryko's eff BEFORE you used chain? if so, then they aknowledge the summon, meaning they can no longer use torriental.
First of all, what do you mean by "did he use Rykos effect before Chain" lol?
Obviously he chained Fiendish Chain to Rykos TRIGGER effect.

I don't see how it would work any other way.

Also, im pretty sure you can Torrential at any point during a chain.
You don't have to use Torrential IMMEDIATELY after Ryko gets flipped.

Last edited by Sick_Samurai_151 : 06-22-2012 at 04:36 AM.
Sick_Samurai_151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 05:10 AM   #5
colorbrandon
Rapper + Artist
 
colorbrandon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 1,007
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ether erebus View Post
no, because chain negates rykos eff. ryko's eff must activate BEFORE it leaves the field, so it would not work. however, did your opponent attempt to use ryko's eff BEFORE you used chain? if so, then they aknowledge the summon, meaning they can no longer use torriental.
There is so much wrong with this.

Ryko's effect will still go off, after being destroyed by torrential.
__________________
Decks:
Gishki Turbo
colorbrandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 05:11 AM   #6
cardguy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 367
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ether erebus View Post
no, because chain negates rykos eff. ryko's eff must activate BEFORE it leaves the field, so it would not work. however, did your opponent attempt to use ryko's eff BEFORE you used chain? if so, then they aknowledge the summon, meaning they can no longer use torriental.
Torrential Tribute does not negate Summons and may be activated at any Chain Link in the Chain which responds to the successful Summon of Ryko, Lightsworn Hunter. Also, Ryko, Lightsworn Hunter's effect may activate and resolve while it is not on the field as long as it was flipped face-up successfully, such as when it is attacked by Ehren, Lightsworn Monk.

In the original scenario, the effect of Ryko, Lightsworn Hunter will resolve successfully. Fiendish Chain cannot negate the effect of a monster if the monster is not face-up.
__________________
A Simple Test
cardguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 05:58 AM   #7
Grapha
Trishy Squishy
 
Grapha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 2,863
iTrader: 17 (95%)
Default

The way it seems, Ryko would flip, I chain Fiendish Chain, and opponent responds to the flip summon with torrential as part of the chain. Torrential resolves first, destroying all monsters, and chain no longer has a target. End result: chain does nothing and Ryko still destroys AND mills. Is that correct?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaos Pancake View Post
Kisses Trishula good night. Wakes up Trish has gone and has taken my car... WTF.
Beautunaful Coelacanth - A New Take on Water
Trades
Grapha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 06:02 AM   #8
Sick_Samurai_151
Pojo Veteran
 
Sick_Samurai_151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In A Gateway Of the Six
Posts: 1,946
iTrader: 5 (86%)
Default

Yes, that is correct.
Sick_Samurai_151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 06:23 AM   #9
Rebirthflames
Black Boy
 
Rebirthflames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 877
iTrader: 5 (100%)
Default

but if the targetted card isnt on the field at resolution... it fizzles.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Gunslinger View Post
Hey ******. How big's your ****?
Rebirthflames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 06:55 AM   #10
AntiTcb
Number XVI
 
AntiTcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 20
Posts: 2,691
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebirthflames View Post
but if the targetted card isnt on the field at resolution... it fizzles.
Fizzles is not an Appropriate or correct term.

Fiendish Chain will resolve without effect and remain on the field meaninglessly.
__________________
DN Name: AntiTcb (Head Administrator)
RC - 1, RC - 2, and PC - 1 certified Judge
Premier (YCS/WCQ) events judged: 6
The Organization (Number XVI)
Quote:
Originally Posted by yugi0h View Post
There are no stupid questions, there are just stupid people asking a simple question for an obvious answer.
AntiTcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2012, 07:01 AM   #11
Homer of Chaos
War.Greymon
 
Homer of Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 26
Posts: 19,576
iTrader: 171 (100%)
Default

Just as an FYI, you would get the same outcome if you replaced Fiendish Chain with Effect Veiler
__________________

Self-Proclaimed Semi-Retired Champion Duelist
YGO H/W: Looking for DT Emeral, Odd-Eyes, Summoner's Art
Homer of Chaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 10:03 PM   #12
Sick_Samurai_151
Pojo Veteran
 
Sick_Samurai_151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In A Gateway Of the Six
Posts: 1,946
iTrader: 5 (86%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-Tcb View Post
Fizzles is not an Appropriate or correct term.

Fiendish Chain will resolve without effect and remain on the field meaninglessly.
The word "fizzle" is widely known, and used, even if it isn't exactly the "correct" term.

Just about everyone knows fizzle = resolve without effect, so I don't see why you had to state it...again.

It's funny, if I replaced the improper terminology with "resolve without effect", most people at my local would give me a LOLWUT look.

A similar thing would happen if everyone stopped using the term " Priority".
Who the hell wants to sit there talking about open / closed game states and whatnot?

I myself find it stupid that Konami insists that we stop using the term, when the mechanic is clearly still there, just under a new, longer and confusing name.
Sick_Samurai_151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2012, 12:30 AM   #13
M. Mouse
Learning the Ropes
 
M. Mouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grapha View Post
My opponent flip summons ryko. I respond with Fiendish Chain. They respond torrential to ryko.

How is this supposed I play?
CL1: Ryko
CL2: Fiendish Chain
CL3: Torrential

Resolve backwards.

Torrential nukes Ryko, thereby rendering Fiendish Chain's effect useless and having it destroyed in the process (since it selected Ryko when it was activated and Torrential destroys it), then Ryko's effect resolves, killing whatever card.
M. Mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.