Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2012, 04:00 PM   #1
Matchless
Registered User
 
Matchless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Somewhere in the vicinity of Betelgeuse
Posts: 199
iTrader: 0
Matchless is on a distinguished road
Default Prohibition vs Wind-Up Rabbit

I need help with a ruling question. The two cards it involves are Prohibition and Wind-Up Rabbit. Here’s the situation, during main phase 2 of Player 2’s turn Player 1 removes Wind-Up Rabbit from play with his effect. Player 2 Activates Prohibition and calls out Wind-up Rabbit. So here’s the question finally, Will Wind-Up Rabbit return to the field on my opponents next turn or because of Prohibition will Wind-up Rabbit be forced to stay banished?
__________________
Youtube Channel
DECKLIST
DN: Matchless | Dev-Pro: Matchless
Matchless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 04:14 PM   #2
faku24
Pojo Veteran
 
faku24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 584
iTrader: 0
faku24 is on a distinguished road
Default

I would say it returns to the opponent's field but cannot attack or change its battle position ( or activate his eff )

I cant find a rulling thou
faku24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 04:15 PM   #3
Inconceivable
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,204
iTrader: 0
Inconceivable is on a distinguished road
Default

Wind-Up Rabbit will return to the field on your opponent's next turn, but your opponent cannot do anything with the Rabbit. This includes attack, switch its battle position, xyz material, fusion material, Synchro Material, tribute (release), and any ways it can be used. It can, however, be a target for attack for your monster.
__________________
Top 64 YCS Long Beach 2012 with Malefic Skill Drain
Inconceivable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 04:29 PM   #4
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,735
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inconceivable View Post
Wind-Up Rabbit will return to the field on your opponent's next turn, but your opponent cannot do anything with the Rabbit. This includes attack, switch its battle position, xyz material, fusion material, Synchro Material, tribute (release), and any ways it can be used. It can, however, be a target for attack for your monster.
You can Tribute it.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 04:59 PM   #5
Inconceivable
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,204
iTrader: 0
Inconceivable is on a distinguished road
Default

But the Prohibition says "Cards with that name and their effects cannot be used." Tributing it seems to be using it.

What does it mean by "cannot be used" though? Man... the card needs a wording update.
__________________
Top 64 YCS Long Beach 2012 with Malefic Skill Drain
Inconceivable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 05:01 PM   #6
The Chief
Pojo Veteran
 
The Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,816
iTrader: 0
The Chief is on a distinguished road
Default

"Used" has a unique definition under the designer of the cards, just like"target" is a unique definition. Learn Yu-Gi-Oh terminology. Yes, your perception of the word may be different but that's irrelevant. "Use" has a definition in this game, you can do a, b, c, d, etc but you can'd to x,y,z etc. It's a pain I know.
__________________
Dueling Network Junior Administrator: Unorthodoxical-Princ


I AM BACK KODOMO-TACHI
The Chief is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 05:08 PM   #7
faku24
Pojo Veteran
 
faku24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 584
iTrader: 0
faku24 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inconceivable View Post
Man... the card needs a wording update.
This is well explained here
faku24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:30 PM   #8
Inconceivable
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,204
iTrader: 0
Inconceivable is on a distinguished road
Default

When I meant wording update, I meant on the card itself so people don't have to go online to read the ton of things on that link.
__________________
Top 64 YCS Long Beach 2012 with Malefic Skill Drain
Inconceivable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:58 PM   #9
phoenixrawr
Was here all along
 
phoenixrawr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,580
iTrader: 0
phoenixrawr is on a distinguished road
Default

"You cannot activate or apply the card's effects, if it's a spell card or trap card you can't set it, if it's a monster you can't summon it or set it except with another card's effect (but fusion monsters still can't be fusion summoned with Polymerization and ritual monsters still can't be ritual summoned with ritual spells), you can't use the monster in a Fusion, Synchro or Xyz summon, you can't change the monster's battle position or attack with it..."

Yeah. "Cannot be used" is probably a better bet for the card.

They're looking to update the rulebook as I recall, this is probably something they'll include in it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enkuresis View Post
I looked it up and nothing says I can't.
This is Yu-Gi-Oh, not Air Bud.
phoenixrawr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:21 AM   #10
Matchless
Registered User
 
Matchless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Somewhere in the vicinity of Betelgeuse
Posts: 199
iTrader: 0
Matchless is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenixrawr View Post
"You cannot activate or apply the card's effects, if it's a spell card or trap card you can't set it, if it's a monster you can't summon it or set it except with another card's effect (but fusion monsters still can't be fusion summoned with Polymerization and ritual monsters still can't be ritual summoned with ritual spells), you can't use the monster in a Fusion, Synchro or Xyz summon, you can't change the monster's battle position or attack with it..."

Yeah. "Cannot be used" is probably a better bet for the card.

They're looking to update the rulebook as I recall, this is probably something they'll include in it.
So.....The card wouldn't come back it would stay banished? Or as they have stated above the card would come back you just can't activate effects or attack?
__________________
Youtube Channel
DECKLIST
DN: Matchless | Dev-Pro: Matchless
Matchless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 07:33 AM   #11
SkullBuster
Flaming Anime Artist
 
SkullBuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Performing 775-hit juggle combos in the Endless Frontier..
Posts: 19,540
iTrader: 1 (100%)
SkullBuster is on a distinguished road
Default

It should still return, since this is part of an effect that was already activated (and has resolved) even before Prohibition was played.

But yeah, Prohibited Rabbit can't be used for nearly anything worthwhile except for taking a hit.
__________________
"The server is too busy at the moment. Please try again later."
I stopped counting. POOJ is broken.

Day 11 Ruins in the Forest is way better than
whatever the fxkk that 16.5 crap is.

Yu-Gi-Oh Philippines National Judge
Pojo's Esteemed Q&A Fudge


Never doubt.
SkullBuster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 10:24 AM   #12
faku24
Pojo Veteran
 
faku24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 584
iTrader: 0
faku24 is on a distinguished road
Default

You can still tribute it for Hunter's eff
faku24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.